We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury and relaxation for a perfect family holiday”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure luxury and relaxation for a perfect family holiday”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Tongsai Bay can be visited by both couples and families. The setting is beautiful - it is on a cove with a private beach and beautiful view across to Choeng Mon, the gardens are luscious, and the restaurants serve food of all types (much organic food from their own garden), all delicious. The hotel is run so smoothly - buggies to take you from your room to the lobby arrive within seconds, the rooms are really clean. We had the Viewpoint Family Cottage which was so spacious - two outside baths, a huge table, lots of loungers. We did lots of activities - learning Thai, Thai cookery course, vegetable and fruit carving. The children stayed in the pool all day, we took canoes to Choeng Mon, we went to Bo Phut Market at night. Never a dull moment. The staff were wonderful - so friendly and the service was so personal. All our children got lots of attention. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. We even got bitten a lot less than usual - perhaps because of the mosquito nets. Breakfast delicious - tailor made smoothies made in any way you wanted, same with the omelettes etc. We would love to come back next year if we can!

Room Tip: If you can get it, the viewpoint family cottage tucked away at the end of the resort is so secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    258
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
342
1,193
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was our ninth visit to the Tongsai Bay and certainly won't be our last! The place simply gets better with age! Thanks so much to Mark Harrison, Hotel Manager and the wonderful team for taking care of us over the past 9 years - making sure that everything is perfect from the minute we arrive to the moment we leave - nothing is ever too much trouble! Unlike some of the other 5-star resorts on the island Tongsai Bay not only delivers luxury but has real soul - that is largely down to the amazing staff who welcome us back every year like old friends. We are already looking forward to returning next year for our 10th visit!! Kevin and Richard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I've stayed in many 5* hotels across the world with business and leisure but I have to say the service in this hotel is by far the best i've ever stayed in. Every single member of staff that we came across genuinely loves what they do there and wants to provide you with the best possible service!

Breakfast - Amazing - the choice of food was excellent from a full english to thai breakfast, the variety was brilliant. The waffles were amazing! The smoothie lady... what a character! She was brilliant, had everyone smiling in the morning... well worth a visit.

Dinner - Great choice in the 3 different restaurants. We ate at the beach restaurant 3 nights, again, the service was fantastic, they remembered our names and always came to speak to us in the evening to ask about our stay and give recommendations of things to do.

Rooms - We stayed in room 318 a sea view cottage. The room was lovely with a great view over the ocean. The room maids were fantastic, leaving fresh fruit and biscuits in a jar in our room every day. Turn down service was at approx 8pm where more goodies were left for us. I know that many people have commented on the reviews about stairs to the cottages..I think our room was the furthest one away with lots of stairs. It took us about 10 mins each night to walk up them from the beach. Buggies are available when you call for them.

Location - perfect. On a private bay so the only people that have access are the hotel guests. There isn't much within walking distance from the hotel but the hotel does provide its own taxi's to the nearby attractions. The cost is also charged to your room so you don't need to worry about the cash. 400 bht to Chawang, 400 bht to the airport and 450 to The Cliff Restaurant.

Hotel - Plenty to do there, the gym is pretty average for those who wish to use. 1 main pool for families and then another infinity pool overlooking the ocean for adults only. Cold water and fruit brought to you daily which is complimentary. Water sports available to the hotel guests - free of change, we used this daily.
We also attended the movie night after dinner one evening. A nearly released film to watch on the beach under the stars, they even come round and give you popcorn.

Overall I can't rate this hotel enough, it was an amazing place to stay and I can't wait to come back, hopefully Xmas! I'd recommend a cottage as they are more private, spacious and have better rooms than the standard rooms. Thank you Tongsai for a great stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed in some of the best places in the world... but this has it all ...It really IS paradise with a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere and we keep coming back here for more. It's set in its own private bay and all the rooms have sea views ...some with their own pools and all set in lush tropical gardens. Meet Mark Harrison the great manager who really runs this place well and whose team of staff are second to none for their friendly and attentive service. Can't wait to go back and did I mention he food ? It's all wonderful !

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a grand villas .......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here on the second part of our honeymoon in Thailand. After a busy three days in Bangkok this was the ideal place to relax for a week. On arrival we were upgraded from the main building to a cottage suite. This was an unexpected but much appreciated surprise. The staff were very welcoming and escorted us to our room and showed us around. The views were stunning and we enjoyed them from our terrace with the complementary sparkling wine. The facilities in the room were excellent and kept with the traditional feel of the island. Rooms were serviced twice daily and water and ice topped up each time along with other little treats. Breakfast was amazing and provided a wide selection to choose from. We also enjoyed 2 barbeque buffets in the Po Lad Beach Bistro which had an excellent variety of food to sample both traditional Thai and Western. The half moon pool provided a great place to relax and enjoy the tranquillity of the surroundings whilst the main pool was located right beside the private beach with stunning views. The pool staff were constantly on hand to assist and kept our glasses topped up with iced water ... much appreciated in the 30 degree heat. Overall this hotel was perfect for our honeymoon and lived up to and exceeded all our expectations. Thank you to the staff and management for making our honeymoon an amazing one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
763 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

At the northern end of the island away from the hordes this lovely property consists of many 'cottages' and low level buildings. The pool is very large and the sea generally safe for swimming. They have two hobicats for free use. Breakfast is outstanding, a vast selection of excellent food both Thai and Western.
The hotel grounds are large and guests are transported by golf carts. We had room 207 which is very private and quiet with a lovely sea view. Our first room was too far from the pool and beach and the hotel changed our accommodation and were very helpful and even set a bottle of wine with their apology. Comfortable beds and good sheets. Staff are incredibly helpful and polite and service was five star. Two limitations. First the property looks a bit tired although very well maintained things are dated by modern hotel standards. Second the beach is like gravel and uncomfortable to walk on.

Room Tip: Room 207 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loggerheads
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our 11th stay at this unique resort, celebrating our 25th Anniversary. We are extremely discerning travellers and seek places which provide lush natural surroundings, peace, tranquility, luxury, friendliness and the opportunity to learn more about the tradition and cultural heritage of the country. These are all encapsulated in Tongsai Bay. The resort and the staff have a genuine passion to ensure that guests enjoy their stay. Nothing is too much and everything is provided with a smile. The grounds are equally cared for and the food is delicious, whether dining at Chef Chom's, Po Lad Bistro, Butler's Tapas.
Yes, there are changes since we first visited in 2000 but all changes are carefully considered and designed to enhance the guest experience.
If you are looking for a concrete jungle of identical rooms with the anonymous service from a hotel chain, this will change your attitude to holidaying in Thailand. We have travelled extensively throughout the world but nothing compares to the excellence of Tongsai Bay.
This year's highlights included - a champagne breakfast, served expertly by Krit; a private film screening on our balcony (a Hideaway Cottage exclusive); dinner on the terrace at Chef Chom's; swimming in the pools and sunbathing. We spent 5 nights in the luxury of Akorn Villa as well as 6 nights in our personal favourite, Hideaway Cottage. This was a special year for us and the owners, management and staff ensured that it would be a holiday par excellence. Depending on how long it takes the UK government to allow us to update from civil partnership to marriage we will be celebrating our honeymoon at Tongsai Bay in 2015. It is our 2nd Home and receives our highest commendation for accommodation, management, staff, hospitality, food, drink (Blue Tongsai cocktails are a must), spa treatments, room service and lush tropical surroundings.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank AJRobinG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#15 of 187 in Bophut
912 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing