We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing vacation ever”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Don't think I can say enough about this fabulous resort. The grounds were gorgeous and meticulously well kept. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Both restaurants had great food and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our family stayed this past Christmas and pre-booked the Christmas eve dinner, Thai cooking class and a spa treatment, of course. We only did one tour of the island arranged at the Tongsai. Lots of stairs if you stay near the top but the view is worth it and there are golf carts to take you to the restaurants or pool anytime.

Room Tip: Families with small children tended to stay closer to the main pool. If you like privacy, choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murgatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel over New Years Eve 2013-2014. The hotel is lovely, the food is great and the service is amazing. The staff are so nice and welcoming. We have 3 daughters (ages 6, 4 and 10 months). All of the staff were so helpful with our children and would even hold and entertain our 10 months old daughter while we had dinner. The New Years Eve gala was optional, which I think was good as most of the hotels required that you go. It was a great evening. The food was exceptional, there were 2 bands and a DJ with fireworks at midnight. The kids got entertainment in the kids club, which they had a great time.

My only fault was that the swimming pools were freezing. I did hear a few people say that the weather was colder than normal so maybe that was the reason. I cannot imagine this being a problem during the summer months.

The spa was amazing and so cheap.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikkia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the highlight of our honeymoon. The honeymoon suite (towards to end) we got was amazing. The deck of this room is not visible from any other place in the resort. We had outdoor bed, dining table, bath tub and chairs. Incredibly great. Worth going back!!

The beach is totally private. The food is great and the resort itself was very beautiful.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite on the end is best for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viks0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013.

The hotel and it's grounds are absolutely stunning. The main building is situated at the top of a cove and breakfast is taken up there overlooking the amazing grounds and sea. The place is built around nature, they have built around the trees so there are some growing through the dining room and beach bar.
The breakfast is amazing, freshly squeezed juices and your breakfast is cooked freshly for you eggs, bacon pancakes, waffles etc.
We stayed in the Beachfront suites on the ground floor. This was the cheapest option but we were so happy with the size and quality of the room. We were offered an upgrade to a sea view villa but it was a long way down to the pool and beach and it wasn't as big as the room we had so we declined, however we the asked about a tongsai villa which they gave us a great deal on for the rest of our stay, that was out of this world. There was always a treat waiting for you when you got back to your room like cakes sanwhich or macaroons.
The hotel isn't large so there was never a problem getting a sunned, staff gave you 2 towels each and always brought round iced water, cool cloths and fruit kebabs. The beach didn't have the softest sand but it was secluded so no hawkers etc. the sand at the beach at Chong Mon was beautiful and the sea very clam but it was busier and shared by numerous hotels.
The hotel was a short distance from Chong Mon we used to walk until we hired a moped locally. There are loads of great places to eat there and Cocktail King was a great place to have a late drink!! They even took us back to our hotel twice and wouldn't take any money !!!
We loved our stay here and would recommend to anyone else looking for a small special hotel on Koh Samui

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whodunnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We came here in Dec. to celebrate Xmas and our first year anniversary. Overall the experience with this resort has been excellent. Although located a bit far away from the busy areas, Tongsai Bay is a great choice if you are looking for a green, quiet and scenery vacation resort. The staffs here are super attentive and friendly. We booked a pool villa and the hotel was nice enough to provide us one with great privacy. Some of the villas are not as ideal given they are located near the walkways so people can see you if you are hanging around on your balcony. Our villa was superb and very spacious. The only minus is probably the outdated furnitures. If tiny details do bother u a lot, I think u will find the furnitures and decor are not quite 5-star. I loved the outside area. We had our own pool (sizable actually), outdoor bath, dining table and sun beds. It was very sweet for the hotel to provide free cookies and afternoon snacks on a daily basis. We got a bottle of free wine on our anniversary too :).
The half moon pool is peaceful. Parents with kids are advised to use the other main pool so the half moon pool is perfect for couples without small children. Food is decent at reasonable prices for a 5 star resort. The hotel does organizes special nights. They had a Thai buffet and a surf and turf night during out stay. I liked the fact that the hotel didn't make Xmas eve dinner compulsory. We didn't quite like the Xmas eve menu given I am allergic to seafood so we went to fisherman's village instead. Taxi is pricy to be honest so choose ur night outs carefully. It cost 200 baht one way to go to dining on the rocks. About 400 to get to chaweng and 500 to lamai. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to couples.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Moyashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Tongsaibay really have beautiful and breathtaking view. I recommend you have to stay up to 4nights, the resort is wide and big enough for you to explore. Yes! Excellent and truly is 5 stars service. Totally privacy, no matter which room you have booking. Because the room fees charge in resort are not cheap compare to others from koh samui, all guest are up to the standard. The choices from breakfast buffet r plenty, you should try the pancake & waffle, really really yummy...^^
Unfortunately, sand on beach really rough, I feel pain when I walked on it wz bare foot.
Location of resort a bit isolated, nothing around in walking distance (30minutes).
In room wifi was not strong and not easy to connect as well, may be I was stayed in beachfront room 101.

Overall, I m really like tongsaibay , I would come back again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary in Koh Samui staying at Tongsai Bat Cottage (June 2013). This hotel is just fabulous! Your welcomed with a refreshing cold drink and cold towel whilst checking in. We stayed in the seafront pool villa, which was amazing. This villa is really big. The staff are very friendly. The room is cleaned at your convenience, i.e. where you call them if your going out. Everyday fresh fruits were left in the fruit basket in the room. Also daily, late in the afternoon housekeeping would drop off a sweet goodie or a sandwich which was a great snack. The beach isn't as expected its not white sands but very small like stones which heat very quickly in the high temperatures, but the beachside assistants are on hand to provide cold mint fresh face towels and ice cold water which is needed in the heat. We never ate at the restaurants but had in room dining, the options were nice especially the desserts. The hotels gardens are well looked after. Overall we loved our stay at Tongsai Bay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rani_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,641 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,444 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $227 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing