We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #3 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an absolute pleasure of staying at The Tongsai Bay. We stayed in a Beachfront suite. The room is simple but functional having everything that you need spacious , well maintainanced and very clean. The view from balcony is spectacular. Staffs are incredibly friendly and helpful with their honest smile on their faces all the time. The food was great. Excellent in all respect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jidabhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved everything about Tongsai Bay.
The beachfront suite room was excellent. There is even ice in the ice bucket, never seen that before.
The staff were always smiling and friendly and helpful
The views were fantastic and the service was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel on our trip to Thailand, and we had an absolutely wonderful experience. I believe that the best thing about it is the fact that is has a private location, and that you can enjoy an amazing view over the island. Everything about our stay was highly comfortable and accommodating, and the service here is absolutely impeccable. The cottage that we booked was also beautifully decorated and clean, and it had a cozy vibe to it. I really have no bad words to say about this amazing place, and I hope I will have the opportunity to come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey_Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have to say that upon our arrival we were really quite disappointed especially with our accommodation. The accommodation (in our view) was probably 5 star 25 years ago but not now and not given the very high standards offered by other hotels we have stayed in. Room was gloomy, dated, had poor lighting and, as we discovered that night , a very noisy a/c unit. Bathroom or rather the shower could have done with a good clean too. I've never understood those reviewers who post photographs of 'faults' which they find but I actually found myself taking photographs on this occasion to do exactly that but won't post them for reasons which will hopefully become evident later in the review. We did advise the reception team and our rep of our disappointment and despite a promise to relocate us no alternative was offered so we decided to put it behind us and 'make do'. Having done so we quickly warmed to the Tongsai Bay and left at the end of our two weeks having had a great holiday. So what turned this one around ? Quite simply the staff who are absolutely wonderful. From reception to restaurant, the buggy boys to beach - staff everyone was so wonderfully cheery, happy and couldn't enough to please you. The food too is excellent. Beautifully prepared, presented and great tasting. Somehow the team here have found the right line between being too in your face to being on hand for your every need. They've also achieved a good balance by having buffet nights, cocktail receptions, occasional entertainment and Friday night film nights where you can watch a movie on the beach, under the stars all of which keep you within the hotel and a very relaxed attitude when you choose to go out to any one of the nearby towns and villages which you really should take advantage of if only for the incredible value and quality offered by local bars and restaurants.

So ignoring if you can the dated nature of the accommodation which we did, you should enjoy a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BigBill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel is the perfect spot for everyone looking for a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We decided to book a cottage here when we visited Koh Samui, Thailand because we have heard great things, and they were all absolutely true! We had an amazing view over the island from our cottage, and the facilities here are awesome. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable, the internet connection was perfect, and the service here is absolutely flawless. The location of this place is very private and exclusive, making your stay even more special. We really enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer, and we would love to come back as many times as possible!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perry_sherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed 5D/4N ex HK, 2 adults + a 10mth old baby, very smooth passage into and out of Koh Samui - great efficient airport run by Bangkok Air.

Upgraded from a Beachfront suite to a Double cottage suite - a so called two level suite which is really a few steps connecting the lounge room to the bedroom/bathroom areas. Not a 'WOW' accomodation by any means, but a comfy bed, + most creature comforts catered to. An electric mosquito scent burner provided - bring mozzie spray also for walking outside after 4pm.

Golf cart buggies to take you everywhere around the resort - as long as we had our kid in a gorilla grip these were safe.

It's been said here before - hospitality and service are key reasons why you would choose this hotel over others. Very impressed by how hard working the staff are here - you will see the same restaurant staff running around at 7am and also working the night shift in the restaurant.

-A large portable travel cot provided, no baby bottle steriliser but they can sterilise and prepare baby bottles + an ample of supply of highchairs at their restaurants
-The staff loved to try to interact and play with our kid (as in other parts of the island)
-The breakfast soup noodles at the the buffet are outstanding. Very good 'western' grill on offer also (eggs/sausages/pancake grill) + a very good selection of fresh fruits & juices at the buffet
-Thursday night Thai buffet with a good spread of Thailand's greatest hits & grilled seafood
-Main pool is large, lots of stoney ledges to accidently hurt yourself on though. Didn't try the 1/2 moon pool for adults
-Their in-house Spa was OK - without being great. There are definetly be other spas to choose (eg Tamarind springs/Let's Relax) on the island
-Tongsai Bay also offers an in-house taxi service (small cars - 4WD). 400 Baht one-way will get you to most tourist destinations

Would recommend that you visit the market @ Fisherman's village in Bophut if you stay on a Friday. One of the highlights of the trip

A very enjoyable stay and would recommend for parents of young children/couples - also saw lots of young couples/newlyweds/emptynesters so clearly something for everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading the reviews prior to booking the Tongsai Bay, we expected heaven.......and we were not disappointed!!
Upon arrival Mark, the hotel manager, checked us in, and ensured that owing to my heart condition, the cottage was acceptable to our needs. Which is was, just perfect.
All restaurant staff were aware that I needed a salt-reduced diet, and accommodated this requirement with ease and a smile,.
The cottage itself, overlooking the pool, and the beach, was superb, with the 'signature' bath on the large balcony, along with sun loungers being a great touch. Although I have to mention that the bathroom was somewhat 'gloomy' with the eco-friendly lights not being particularly bright. Yes that's the only fault we could find!
All three restaurants were fantastic, and the few reviewers complaining about the food, must be used to Michelin starred quality, or maybe just never satisfied.
Both pools were great, our favourite was the quieter half moon pool, but seriously could not find a fault with either, with pool towels readily available, and iced water at hand.
The Tongsai Bay, is a fantastic resort to just chill and relax, away form the more garish and noisy 'entertainment' available elsewhere.
A huge thankyou to Mark, and all the staff for making our stay a memorable one!!!
Oh, and Mark.....we've won it five times!!!!! :-)

Room Tip: I really don't think you could choose a poor one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazzaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,686 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
838 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $261 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing