We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,132)
Filter reviews
2,132 results
Traveler rating
1,756
283
62
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
283
62
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cottage suite half moon po lad private beach grand villa chef choms seafront cottage prana spa our honeymoon beach bistro the cottages outdoor bath koh samui fresh fruit golf buggies thai restaurant split level
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 2,132 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed here 2 nights as a luxury treat in a seafront cottage suite.
The suite was absolutely beautiful, gorgoeus views & so peaceful.
The level of service is sheer luxury with a high ratio of staff to guests.
Breakfast was the best we experianced on our travels in Thailand.
The spa area is also beautiful & we enjoyed our traetments here- however the prices are what you would expect in a hotel.
The grounds are lovely to walk through. Probably best described as landscaped jungle. They are full of birds, squirrils & lizards.
Included is use of sailing boat & kayaks.During our stay the bay was very sheltered so kayaking was easy but sailing sadly not possible.
The only disadvantge to here is you are unable to leave the hotel except by taxi. The hotel runs its own taxi service the prices of which are clearly displayed. It works well & the drivers were always punctual which is a relief at the end of a night in a strange town.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evening, which looked lovely, but was somewhat more than we wanted to pay.
The local town has several restaurants, all of a similar standard. We especially enjoyed the Garland Song. Frustratingly it is hard to find many of these places on trip advisor since they are filed under Bophut.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is the ideal break for special occasions. We went for 10 nights for our honeymoon and couldn't fault the place one bit. The standards are very high, the staff are excellent and very accommodating. We were fortunate enough that we got an upgrade foc and without even asking!! They gave us the most beautiful seaview villa with vast space, it was truelly out of this world the view we had. This made our honeymoon even more special. All restaurants have fantastic freshly prepared food and not too spicy either. We had a private dinner on our own terrace, which includes your own chef and butler, truly amazing experience, we would say this is definitely worth doing. Its the little things that make the place so special, free unlimited drinking water stocked up daily, with tea/coffee and fresh milk. Housekeeping come round every day with homemade biscuits, sometimes sandwiches and also fruit all complimentary. The breakfast is very good with lots of choice, cereals, breads, pastries (best homemade jams, especially the orange marmalade!) Freshly cooked breakfast station, including pancakes, waffles, french toast. Smoothies and fruit. The place is a lovely hideway set on a slight hillside, very tranquil and peaceful. They have golf buggies for those who get tired which the staff will happily drive for you back to your villa if need be. We didn't this once as liked the little bit of walkinhg after our huge breakfast!! Its only a few steps anyeay so not that steep. We have been Thailand before (Bangkok and Phuket) but this time fancied Ko Samui and will definitely be returning again one day!! Overall amazing hotel and island, fantastic honeymoon experience at Tongsai. 10 out of 10 :-)

Room tip: We initally booked a pool villa but got upgraded to one with a fantastic seaview. For that truly amazing experience that you never want to forget book a pool villa, pricy but worth it!! We never went to the communial pool or beach area once.........why would you when you wake up to heaven on your own terrace which is secluded and private!!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammyc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tongsai Bay for the last section of our Thailand Honeymoon. Having already stayed in two stunning hotels during our honeymoon we were unsure whether this one would live up to our expectations, but it certainly did. We stayed in a Cottage Suite, the furthest room across the bay in the complex, which meant we regularly got golf-buggy rides from the hotel staff :) Our room was amazing and included a large balcony with a bath on it. The view was fantastic and allowed for some great photos over the bay. Due to our room's location, it was a short walk to the beach & pool, via a number of steps, but this was pleasant as the grounds were so clean and tidy. One day I borrowed a kayak and went far out to a smaller island, the rest of the time we spent by the infinity pool on the higher level. The food in the restaurants was great and varied.

Unfortunately both my wife and I did arrive at Tongsai with unset stomachs, but the hotel staff were incredibly kind and took us on a special trip into town to get some meds from the chemist.

During our stay we were treated to a free honeymooner's massage.. I made the mistake of asking for mine to be the hardest level and could barely walk afterwards. It was enjoyable though, if not a little awkward at times.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel with great surroundings and welcoming staff. We would love to go back!!

Room tip: The rooms further from the reception can be a bit of a walk away but seem to provide slightly better views.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperTigerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this after a recommendation and visited in April. Loved the place so much, it is in a lovely location. Tucked away but only 10 minute drive away from lively nightlife and shops. We booked into a cottage but ended up getting upgraded to a pool villa which was breathtaking. What I loved about the place was the rustic charm. Yes there is lots of wildlife running about that's not a negative, the staff can't do enough for you. We go to luxury hotels often and this place has the service without any pretence.

There was always room on the beach with plentiful iced water cold towels and a small plate of fruit offered. Nice touch. Plenty of staff available for bar service. We ended up having lunch at the beach bar everyday, good thai food. It is more expensive than going out to find a place but lovely. Ate out most night but the nights we did stay at the hotel where great. There was a beach BBQ on the Monday night, amazing. Sitting at a table on the beach while a guy played guitar and sang. One of the nights they also had a big screen on the beach, again pure heaven to be snuggled up on a sofa bed sipping cocktails in the warm night air watching a film.

Think we managed to take advantage of most of the hotel facilities. Gym, bobcat boat, DVD loan, spa, pools and all but one of the restaurants.

All I can say is get it booked, we will definitely return.

Room tip: If you can pay that bit more for a pool villa, do it. Once we moved to our pool villa we didn't want to leave it.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPhilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a family from Singapore seeking a quiet get away every year around this time during school vacation. I never heard of this resort prior to coming here and gave it a go based on the good reviews received. We spent 4 nights staying at Family View Point Cottage (#320). The price is 17,000 baht per night.

Overview:
This is a very well kept resort with very lush greenery. Coming from Singapore, I feel like I am living in a jungle but everything is clean, neat and well maintained. Walking back to my Villa, i often encounter squrriels, butterflies and birds chirping, etc. As I sat in the breakfast restaurant every morning, I get this feeling of going back in time eating at a posh country club. The breakfast spread is average but the fresh fruits and juice corner is a rare specialty to have. We ordered room service once for lunch as I wanted to enjoy the fantastic sea view over my balcony. The Thai food served in room service is very average but definitely at hotel price. The one meal I would recommend to all is the beach BBQ. The food is average and the price is acceptable for a buffet but the highlight is the whole experience. The sea at Tongsai is so calm during evening that it looks more like a lake than a sea. With the guitar/singer providing the background music, the whole meal is just wonderful. The resort is built on a hilly terrain so lots of steps. We take it as an exercise every time we get out and go back to our villa...buggy is readily available.....but still not to the door step of my villa.

Some minor improvements/suggestions:
1. The balcony at 320 should have strong ceiling fan in order to cool the hot afternoon and also chase away mosquitoes.
2. House keeping should light up mosquito coils at balcony every evening.
3. Disposable tooth brush and tooth paste should be provided.
4. I think the shower head in our villa need replacement...a rainfall shower is expected in a resort like Tongsai.

Some special delights:
1. The staff are all very friendly with the Thai signature Sawatdee Krap greetings whenever we meet them.
2. The daily fruit basket is fantastic and the afternoon cookies and cake just make us feel extra special.

We enjoyed our stay at Tongsai Bay. I am a hard grader so I did not give it a perfect score but it is very close.

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank cokezero100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews