We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Personal Service”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #3 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I got married here at the Tongsai on the 8th June 2013, Aom the events planner had everything sorted and everything went well without a glitch. I had Dany Lopez from Dany Samui Hair do mine and my bridesmaids hair and she spent the while day with us. Customer Service, Rooms and Food here are just amazing. Away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng but not too far! Our second visit here and I would come back. Mark and the staff are too kind

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed here 2 nights as a luxury treat in a seafront cottage suite.
The suite was absolutely beautiful, gorgoeus views & so peaceful.
The level of service is sheer luxury with a high ratio of staff to guests.
Breakfast was the best we experianced on our travels in Thailand.
The spa area is also beautiful & we enjoyed our traetments here- however the prices are what you would expect in a hotel.
The grounds are lovely to walk through. Probably best described as landscaped jungle. They are full of birds, squirrils & lizards.
Included is use of sailing boat & kayaks.During our stay the bay was very sheltered so kayaking was easy but sailing sadly not possible.
The only disadvantge to here is you are unable to leave the hotel except by taxi. The hotel runs its own taxi service the prices of which are clearly displayed. It works well & the drivers were always punctual which is a relief at the end of a night in a strange town.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evening, which looked lovely, but was somewhat more than we wanted to pay.
The local town has several restaurants, all of a similar standard. We especially enjoyed the Garland Song. Frustratingly it is hard to find many of these places on trip advisor since they are filed under Bophut.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is the ideal break for special occasions. We went for 10 nights for our honeymoon and couldn't fault the place one bit. The standards are very high, the staff are excellent and very accommodating. We were fortunate enough that we got an upgrade foc and without even asking!! They gave us the most beautiful seaview villa with vast space, it was truelly out of this world the view we had. This made our honeymoon even more special. All restaurants have fantastic freshly prepared food and not too spicy either. We had a private dinner on our own terrace, which includes your own chef and butler, truly amazing experience, we would say this is definitely worth doing. Its the little things that make the place so special, free unlimited drinking water stocked up daily, with tea/coffee and fresh milk. Housekeeping come round every day with homemade biscuits, sometimes sandwiches and also fruit all complimentary. The breakfast is very good with lots of choice, cereals, breads, pastries (best homemade jams, especially the orange marmalade!) Freshly cooked breakfast station, including pancakes, waffles, french toast. Smoothies and fruit. The place is a lovely hideway set on a slight hillside, very tranquil and peaceful. They have golf buggies for those who get tired which the staff will happily drive for you back to your villa if need be. We didn't this once as liked the little bit of walkinhg after our huge breakfast!! Its only a few steps anyeay so not that steep. We have been Thailand before (Bangkok and Phuket) but this time fancied Ko Samui and will definitely be returning again one day!! Overall amazing hotel and island, fantastic honeymoon experience at Tongsai. 10 out of 10 :-)

Room Tip: We initally booked a pool villa but got upgraded to one with a fantastic seaview. For that truly ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammyc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tongsai Bay for the last section of our Thailand Honeymoon. Having already stayed in two stunning hotels during our honeymoon we were unsure whether this one would live up to our expectations, but it certainly did. We stayed in a Cottage Suite, the furthest room across the bay in the complex, which meant we regularly got golf-buggy rides from the hotel staff :) Our room was amazing and included a large balcony with a bath on it. The view was fantastic and allowed for some great photos over the bay. Due to our room's location, it was a short walk to the beach & pool, via a number of steps, but this was pleasant as the grounds were so clean and tidy. One day I borrowed a kayak and went far out to a smaller island, the rest of the time we spent by the infinity pool on the higher level. The food in the restaurants was great and varied.

Unfortunately both my wife and I did arrive at Tongsai with unset stomachs, but the hotel staff were incredibly kind and took us on a special trip into town to get some meds from the chemist.

During our stay we were treated to a free honeymooner's massage.. I made the mistake of asking for mine to be the hardest level and could barely walk afterwards. It was enjoyable though, if not a little awkward at times.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel with great surroundings and welcoming staff. We would love to go back!!

Room Tip: The rooms further from the reception can be a bit of a walk away but seem to provide slightly better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperTigerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this after a recommendation and visited in April. Loved the place so much, it is in a lovely location. Tucked away but only 10 minute drive away from lively nightlife and shops. We booked into a cottage but ended up getting upgraded to a pool villa which was breathtaking. What I loved about the place was the rustic charm. Yes there is lots of wildlife running about that's not a negative, the staff can't do enough for you. We go to luxury hotels often and this place has the service without any pretence.

There was always room on the beach with plentiful iced water cold towels and a small plate of fruit offered. Nice touch. Plenty of staff available for bar service. We ended up having lunch at the beach bar everyday, good thai food. It is more expensive than going out to find a place but lovely. Ate out most night but the nights we did stay at the hotel where great. There was a beach BBQ on the Monday night, amazing. Sitting at a table on the beach while a guy played guitar and sang. One of the nights they also had a big screen on the beach, again pure heaven to be snuggled up on a sofa bed sipping cocktails in the warm night air watching a film.

Think we managed to take advantage of most of the hotel facilities. Gym, bobcat boat, DVD loan, spa, pools and all but one of the restaurants.

All I can say is get it booked, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can pay that bit more for a pool villa, do it. Once we moved to our pool villa we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyPhilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a family from Singapore seeking a quiet get away every year around this time during school vacation. I never heard of this resort prior to coming here and gave it a go based on the good reviews received. We spent 4 nights staying at Family View Point Cottage (#320). The price is 17,000 baht per night.

Overview:
This is a very well kept resort with very lush greenery. Coming from Singapore, I feel like I am living in a jungle but everything is clean, neat and well maintained. Walking back to my Villa, i often encounter squrriels, butterflies and birds chirping, etc. As I sat in the breakfast restaurant every morning, I get this feeling of going back in time eating at a posh country club. The breakfast spread is average but the fresh fruits and juice corner is a rare specialty to have. We ordered room service once for lunch as I wanted to enjoy the fantastic sea view over my balcony. The Thai food served in room service is very average but definitely at hotel price. The one meal I would recommend to all is the beach BBQ. The food is average and the price is acceptable for a buffet but the highlight is the whole experience. The sea at Tongsai is so calm during evening that it looks more like a lake than a sea. With the guitar/singer providing the background music, the whole meal is just wonderful. The resort is built on a hilly terrain so lots of steps. We take it as an exercise every time we get out and go back to our villa...buggy is readily available.....but still not to the door step of my villa.

Some minor improvements/suggestions:
1. The balcony at 320 should have strong ceiling fan in order to cool the hot afternoon and also chase away mosquitoes.
2. House keeping should light up mosquito coils at balcony every evening.
3. Disposable tooth brush and tooth paste should be provided.
4. I think the shower head in our villa need replacement...a rainfall shower is expected in a resort like Tongsai.

Some special delights:
1. The staff are all very friendly with the Thai signature Sawatdee Krap greetings whenever we meet them.
2. The daily fruit basket is fantastic and the afternoon cookies and cake just make us feel extra special.

We enjoyed our stay at Tongsai Bay. I am a hard grader so I did not give it a perfect score but it is very close.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank cokezero100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights from 19/05/2013 as part of our honeymoon (before this we had 2 nights in Bangkok and 4 nights in Chiang Mai). After the craziness of Bangkok and excitement of Chiang Mai it was such a relief to come somewhere so tranquil and scenic. The resort is big not in an "unfriendly" way - we stayed in a cottage suite (no 231) which is a 5 minute walk from reception - or you can get the staff to transport you on one of the many handy buggy carts. All accommodations are set in a natural, jungle type environment - lots of well kept shrubbery, palm trees etc and so many different bird species. We walked to Sala Samui one night for dinner and although lovely it had a regimented/structured feel to the layout. Tongsai is a lot more special. Our cottage suite was quite private with a lovely balcony overlooking the bay (with sunlungers, table and a bath) - worth the upgrade from the basic rooms due to the privacy and the bath. In that heat you need a cool bath to dip in and out of! Water and fruit was provided daily and we received sparkling wine as part of our honeymoon (no upgrade though despite it being low season so don't expect it!). We received a free massage each (honeymooners package) at the on site spa which was lovely (and lovely settings too) but didn't buy any more treatments as they were quite expensive too.
We would have loved a room with it's own pool and outside bed but it definately wouldn't have been worth the cost - the cottage suites have plenty of room - a 4 poster bed, a living area, big balcony, big shower, a "couples" sink - what more do you need if you're outdoors mostly anyway?
The beach is completely private with free kayaks, windsurfers and snorkelling equipement. We wanted to be able to walk to the nearest public beach Cheong Mon to hire jet skis and get a beach massage so you have to either kayak (although I'm not sure this is officially allowed...) there or walk on the main road (quite narrow and no paths - 15/20 min walk). The private beach is great though as you don't get people harrassing you to buy bikinis/ice cream etc or any wandering beach dogs. The beach staff are attentive, bringing towerls and water top ups whilst sunbathing by the pool or beach. The beach was pebbles not sand and graduates sharply into the sea (which deepens very quickly) so it's not ideal for children. The half moon infinity pool (for adults only) was blissful - quiet and amazing views. Happy hour runs twice per day so definately worthwhile taking advantage of the extensive cocktail list as normal prices are expensive!
We ate in the hotel 2 nights - the food was amazing but as it was quite quiet at that time of year (and the food and drink was costly in the hotel) we went most nights. You can't wait anywhere but the hotel will arrange taxis for 400baht (£10) one way to the busy, tacky, touristy Chaweng or to the much lovlier Fisherman's Village in Bophut (both about 15 min drive). I am dissappointed the hotel don't offer cheaper taxis as clearly they get a lot of business, and if you haggle with the taxi drivers in Chaweng and Bophut you will get a cheaper price. For this reason we tended not to book a return taxi and just grab one ourselves.
The staff were good but the waiting staff were fantastic. We had a good laugh with the friendly and professtional Pong and Pradab. I have to give a special mention to Pradab as he was so helpful with learning some Thai words and phrases - each morning he would ask us what we wanted to learn and test us on the day before's "lesson"! Good fun, and he was so patient. We hardly heard anyone even attempting a Thai "hello" or "thank you" - my advice to travellers is to LEARN THEM! The Thai are so willing to help and really appreciate foreigners trying to speak their language.
I would definately return to this hotel but perhaps at a busier time of year as the hotel lacked a bit of atmostphere. They put on lots of different things (beach BBQ, films on the beach) but it was too quiet to fully appreciate it. There is plenty to do in the area - diving at Ko Tao, snorkerlling, massages, jet skis, full moon parties (we went to the end of May one and it was a great experiece - tourist shops in Cheong Mon, Bophut and Chaweng will get transfers/boats sorted for you).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christief2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,688 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
844 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,467 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $261 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing