We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers on all accounts”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

To really understand how great Tongsai Bay is, you have to understand what it is trying to be. Koh Samui is full of ultra high-end resorts by world-beating brands like Four Seasons, Amansara, and Six Senses. What is so special about Tongsai Bay is that it successfully meets the same standards as these heavyweights while coming in at a significantly lower price point and also maintaining a more laid back atmosphere that reminds you of its family-owned status.

Pros: The staff are EXTREMELY friendly and really seem to enjoy having you as guests. The variety of food options is perfect to stay interesting for a few days before feeling the need to explore other options in nearby towns. The all-suite rooms are beautiful, spacious, and demonstrate a real eye for interior design.

Cons: The beach staff are friendly but not the most attentive. The daily activities (yoga, fitness center) were a bit limited when we came in the off-season. The food was very good but you would do well to enjoy some of the other resort restaurants and popular venues in town.

Even with the few improvements possible above, I think it's important to put these in the context I noted at the beginning of this review. Tongsai Bay hits the right notes for a secluded vacation resort, and it is much more reasonably priced than its competition. I definitely would recommend this venue to friends.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MDWandering83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just spent a week here with our 19 month old. I can't express how much we loved our stay. The views and location (pristine private beach) were fabulous. Yes, you have to catch cabs to the busier towns but they weren't expensive ($25 aud average) and you had the benefit of absolute tranquility to relax in at 'home'. The staff were fantastic, extremely friendly, courteous and helpful, we couldn't have wished for it to be any better. And our little boy was treated like a rockstar by all. Would go back tomorrow if I could!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We started our Honeymoon in Thailand at the Tongsai Bay in Koh Samui. We had a Cottage Suite for 8 nights which was a large size and very private. The resort is big but there are beach buggies available everywhere to drop you to and from your room to the pool, lobby, the various bars / restaurants or wherever you are going within the resort. The staff here were extremely nice, helpful and from the minute we arrived made us feel relaxed and welcome. Food here was good too. The beach is private and while its a bit stoney compared to other beaches on Koh Samui, this didnt really bother us. The water gets deep after just a few steps out which we loved however this might not be the best for young kids to be left on their own. The hotel itself is in a quiet area, great to relax and there was entertainment in the hotel at night ranging from traditional Thai dancers to movies played on the beach. Its still close enough to the busy nightlife of Chaweng beach to head out every night if you fancied more intense nightlife or to visit the more relaxed Fishermans village or Big Budda. Overall its very easy to get around the whole island. I would certainly come back and stay at Tongsai Bay if I get a chance to return to Koh Samui and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onedmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I are currently here on honeymoon and hands down this is the most amazing place we have ever stayed. Fantastic villa with its own pool, private beach and fantastic service from the staff. We have found this the perfect honeymoon getaway. The little touches have been the icing on the cake - staff on the beach providing towels and setting up your beds for you, free water, bar service; the only reason to leave your sunbed is for a dip in the ocean or the pool. The hotel also buggy you to and from your room if needed and will order taxis if you wish to head elsewhere on the island.
We have also had the pleasure of meeting the hotel manager Mark - a lovely friendly man full of knowledge and advice on the island. We also had a small scare when l thought l had been bitten by a snake (which l hasten to add is the only one l have seen in the resort) and Mark provided free transport to and from the hospital for a check up.
We also took part in the Thai cooking class on offer which was a great experience, and very tasty! And had a private dinner on the beach which was amazing.
This resort most definitely deserves its 5 star rating and being named ko samui's most romantic resort.
We've had a fantastic stay and will be very sad to leave tomorrow.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Johnabhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Tongsai Bay in Feb 2013. We had decided on Tongsai Bay after reading innumerable reviews/bogs and visiting dozens of travel websites. The reviews, photos and blogs did no justice to this place and what it has to offer.
I highly recommend this place for people who are looking for some time in peace and tranquility.
The rooms are so beautifully designed and a sea view cottage does have your room balcony overlooking the sea, unlike some other places.
The staff is helpful. Every impeccable detail is taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangranc_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in March 2013 for 3 nights in a seaside cottage to attend a friends wedding which was being held at the hotel. The rooms were amazing with the most stunning views out over the ocean. The only down side to the room was that we had issues with our air conditioning which every night decided to shoot bits of ice at us (it was over the bed). However even this small inconvenience did not detract from the amazing room. the bath tub out on the balcony was simply heaven.

The private beach was also great as it was very quiet and the staff were super helpful in getting towels and setting up sunbeds etc so you could just relax.

The buffet breakfast was yum - and they will even deliver breakfast to your room if you are unable to make it to restaurant.

The service was fantastic, with every member of staff friendly and eager to help.

The highlight of our holiday was the wedding we attended. the ceremony was on the beach and the reception was at the restaurant and bar area right on the beach. The set up of the area was just stunning and the buffet dinner and dessert was to die for! if anyone is planning a wedding in Koh Samui i would highly recommend this place!

All in all this is a great hotel which i would recommend to anyone. However, due to the location you are required to take taxis to get into 'town', but to me the peace and quiet of the location is what made is so incredible.

Room Tip: the seaside cottages are beautiful and worth the extra money for the peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandPete2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just returned home to chilly Melbourne after spending 8 wonderful days at the Tongsai bay, and I must say it would take me a while to sit down and type out a review but this place is well worth a glowing report straight away!. After being recommended another hotel in Koh Samui my husband and I were so happy to find this hotel which we couldn't go past purely based on the fabulous reviews and now we join that long list of happy people . Resort - stunning, set amongst a beautiful landscape of trees, bird life and well kept greenery. Staff - just gorgeous with the service second to none, couldn't have been more attentive to the point of having my husbands breakfast choice of fruit, yoghurt and muesli mixes on hand each morning. Food, well, just sensational - We did the Thai Cooking class under the fantastic instructions of their Sous chef Jaturan and it would have to be the highlight of our stay, we learned so much. Tongsai Bay is relaxing and chilled which is just what we wanted, away from the hustle and bustle of say busy Chaweng, but still easy to get to via a taxi. We found it hard to venture off and preferred to lounge around the pool or swim in their secluded beach. Finally the rooms - we spent 5 nights in a Seafront Cottage which was fabulous and the last 3 nights in a Tongsai Pool Villa which was spectacular.

Room Tip: seafront cottages - fabulous, pool villas sensational
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franceabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,640 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,444 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $226 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing