We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tongsai Bay
Nearby Hotels
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$136
$115
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$96
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$154
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$329
$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$193
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$197
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$686
$388
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$299
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hansar Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$174
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,031)
Filter reviews
2,031 results
Traveler rating
1,665
274
62
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,665
274
62
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage suitehalf moonpo ladgrand villaprivate beachchef chomsseafront cottageprana spaour honeymoonbeach bistrothe cottagesoutdoor bathkoh samuifresh fruitgolf buggiesthai restaurantsplit level
Filter
Updating list...
917 - 922 of 2,031 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As the title suggests the service received at tongsai is faultless, the resort itself benefits from a lovely location yes the beach sand is grainy but the bay is secluded and offers a real sense of privacy. Whilst the resort is charming i feel it relies on its setting to wow you and not its decor, it reminded me of 5 star resorts my parents use to take me too when i was a child -comparative to todays 5 star hotels this one sadly is not as pleasing to the eye as others i have stayed in , don't get me wrong it does offer all the facilities you could possibly want it just all feels a bit dated - The beach umbrellas are an unappealing brown shiny material that don't provide enough cover for two loungers , the pool was like swimming in tepid soup (it was 37degrees but so was it 37degrees when we stayed at the mandarin in Bangkok yet they manage to keep the pool cool) the rooms were spacious with everything you may need ( asked for a comforter to be put on the bed as it was rock hard also asked for replacement pillows as ours were beyond lumpy -both request met with a smile but the thing is shouldn't these be standard not a special request?) the hairdryer provided was rubbish ladies you may wish to take your own) by the end of our 7 day stay the resort had grown on me and if someone told me they were going to samui on holiday I would recommend Tongsai but I doubt I would go back to it myself

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Picked Tongsai Bay on the back of previous reviews and stayed 10 nights from 2.4.13 in the Poolside Cottages.Location was perfect and the room of a good standard.From the moment we arrived,found all the staff to be helpful and attentive.A quick call to reception and a buggy was ready to take us to reception whenever we needed one.The breakfast was of an exceptional standard and offered a great choice of foods, whether hot or cold.Thanks to the staff who gave us great service,particularly Pra Dab, Krit and Pong.
Yes, the beach is shingle but you just leave shoes near the sea.It is private and when you look at other resorts such as Chaweng Beach, see the obvious benefits in that being the case.Swimming was good every day although is too cloudy to cater for decent snorkeling opportunities.
spent most days at the half pool situated above the beach which afforded peace and tranquility.Staff provided regular cold drinks and fruit throughout the day.The Mynah birds were a joy to behold with their songs.The provision of a heat seeking missile would be nice for the jet skiers from nearby beaches although didn't really cause that much of a problem!!
The Hotel goes that little bit extra by way of providing water for free in the rooms and is replenished daily, as is the bowl of fruit and the provision of biscuits and sweets by the turn down staff.In addition,daily papers (Bangkok Post) are also provided for free in reception.
Looking at the trip solely on value for money, I believe it represents excellent value for money. If you look at other resorts such as banyan Tree, I would expect the Chef to be Gordon Ramsey, Jamie Oliver to be waiting on tables and jeremy Clarkson driving the hotel buggies to justify the additional cost.However, i would agree with some other reviews regarding some areas of the resort requiring some TLC. In addition,we felt some of the prices charged in the restaurants to be a bit pricey, along with the high price of cocktails (compared with what we paid whilst eating out numerous times in Cheong Mon).Also the wine prices are excessive, cheapest bottle being 1200 baht which when you add on the 10 per cent service charge and 7 per cent tax equates to about £30.However the food was of a good standard and the buffet night at Chef Chom worth the cost of 1200 baht per person (although felt the beach barbecue was too much at 1500 baht per person (before the add ons).
Used the Hotel taxis which were good value to visit Cheong Mon, Fishermans Village (a must do trip on a Friday evening) and Chewang beach. Also booked a half day tour of the island via Asia World which at 850 baht each was again good value. If you dont do fishermans Village, there is a smaller market at Cheong Mon on a Wednesday night which is worth the trip (only 300 baht return from hotel).
Weather was kind with only the last two days being overcast.Very rarely would we consider returning to somewhere twice but this resort is one of those exceptions and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardWooreCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just stayed in the Tongsai Bay, We have stayed in most Thai resort's over the last couple of years, Koh Samui is a lovely holiday location, a bit quieter than other Thai resorts and islands, but never the less very relaxing.

The Tongsai is a lovely hotel, a bit dated but not old fashioned, the hotel gardens and public areas are great and the pool's are very nice. The beach is lovely, but the sand is coarse and not be to some people's liking, however the sea is fanastic, clear and free from objects.

The hotel restaurants and bar's are great value, friendly staff, clean and a nice selection of tradional Thai and International Foods (Mon night BBQ a must).

The hotel is however between Chaweng and Boput and the hotel Taxi's are good but slightly more expensive than the local taxi's.

We had a lovely time there and would recommend it, to our friends and would definetly return in the future.

Room Tip: Pool Front very close to the beach and main pool and bar
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

How can you continue to return to a resort after 15 years and expect nothing to have changed - you can at the Tongsai! If anything it has improved whilst retaining the special qualities that make this place so unique. Yes, certainly some of the rooms are showing their age but this is unavoidable and I am sure that a refurbishment plan is in place - difficult when you have nearly a 100% occupancy -proof if it was needed of its popularity.
The staff are amazing and it is great to be recognised and welcomed on return visits. All of the restaurants offer a wonderful range of food but we particularly enjoyed the BBQ Buffet at the Po-Lad Beach Bar where the range and quality of the seafood in particular was incredible.
The Spa is probably one of the best I have ever visited. The therapists here seem to work intuitively when giving a massage rather than to a prescribed pattern and do not need to be told what is needed to invigorate and revive you. Bliss!
We have been lucky enough to have spent time in the Grand Villas and this in itself is an experience not to be missed – they offer the ultimate in indulgent holidaying.
Thanks once again to Mark and his team and also to Leisa the General Manager who were both always visible around the resort to ensure the smooth running of the establishment – long may you continue – thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaBBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Tongsai Bay was our honeymoon hotel and we've been dreaming to visit it again. 10th anniversary was a great time to make this dream come true. The management upgraded our cottage to a pool villa for the last 2 days (I don't know why but I never asked:) which was unbelieveably romantic and beautiful. Read most of the reviews to know what to expect. You will walk, climb some stairs. You won't find rooms the most trendy furnitures but a lovely hotel to spend
some quite time, to read and swim.

Room Tip: Seafront cottages have a wonderful view. Seafront pool villa is exceptional (but pricey)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipokrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews