We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am writing this from my sun bed in Tongsai Bay and I just love this place .This is my last day and will be sad to leave .i am in a cottage at the top of the hill which can be quite a walk but the buggy service provided by the hotel is very efficient . I do agree with some reviews that the furniture is a bit dark and outdated but I'm not finding it to be a problem .One reviewer complained about insects , lizards etc did they not realise they were coming to a part of the world which is very tropical and you will get local wildlife. There are one or two monitor lizards going about but they generally disappear into the undergrowth .The trees and flowers here are beautiful and the beach although the sand is a bit rougher hasn't caused any problems , the sea has been calm enough to swim in everyday although the floor level does drop very quickly . The staff here are probably some of the friendliest I have met on my 6 week trip around Asia and Australia , they are always willing to help . Breakfast is fantastic with a wide variety of different foods . I love the waffles and bacon . We have eaten in the beach bistro every lunchtime and the food was very nice . We have also eaten there in the evening and it is equally as good at night .
There are beach butlers who bring towels and regularly bring fresh iced water and cold face towels .There are also free lessons on the beach for the small boats that you can take out on your own free of charge .
If you are looking to party this is probably not the place for you as it is outing it's own .
We took a taxi to fisherman's village which has a market on a Friday night , it was a crazy place and great for people watching . it also has some nice restaurants we ate at the Smilehouse which was lovely . Too many Italian restaurants for me . I'm in Thailand not Italy .I also used the spa for an anti stress massage which was fantastic .
Some people complained that the prices were very expensive but after travelling through Australia for 4 weeks before we got here I found it to be much cheaper to eat and drink
Overall I don't think this is a 5 star resort mainly due to the rooms being outdated but I would definitely come back as it is a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy .

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs you need a room on the lower part of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merc2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    260
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
353
1,205
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a resort!! We had high expectations from many reviews and they did not disappoint.. Where to start!! Views from our upgraded cottage, amazing, the service with shuttle cars, turning down our bed every evening, cookies delivered daily along with fruit and bottled water such a good touch. Room service was super quick and good value for money, the breakfast was out of this world. The rooms in the cottage were huge. The beach is lovely, although the sand is basically gravel but still refreshing to swim in the sea. One of the best resorts I've stayed at, thanks Tongsai Bay, I'd be happy to pass the feedback onto our travel agent and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodesinclermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Love the service and time taken by the resort staff. They make you feel at home. Very easy to relax when you are welcome. I love this hotels unique position. One of the only resorts in Thailand with a private beach

Room Tip: Cottage rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highsider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed there for one week with three kids. So beautiful and a very high standard. Fantastic breakfast with freshmade juice and smoothies. Everyone were very smiling and helpful and lots of service everythere. We will love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-8240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

One of the best resorts we've been to. The view from all seafront pool villas is amazing. The private pool is large and warm with a spectacular view. Private, isolated beach. Note that there is no access from the beach to other beaches so if you want for example to rent a jet sky or any other motor activity you need to take a taxi to another beach. The restaurant on the beach is excellent and not expensive. A nice selection of good restaurants in Bophut - 10 to 15 min in a taxi. Service is great. Excellent Spa - we used it every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlvtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Tongsai Bay for two weeks after a hectic few nights in Bangkok. Our welcome at the hotel was warm and friendly. We were shown to our room which was a beachfront suite room which was lovely but we were upgraded to a cottage suite later in our stay. The Cottage suite had fantastic views over the sea with a private terrace with bath. It was spotlessly clean with a few nice touches especially the fresh milk for tea and coffee and homemade cookies.

We found all the staff in the hotel to be very helpful at all times. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was probably the best I have experienced, I particularly liked the smoothie bar. The staff were particularly attentive at breakfast.

At the time we were there the sea was quite rough so we spent most of the day by the pool, the pool staff were excellent, always bringing round iced water, cold towels and fruit throughout the day.
We occasionally ate lunch in the hotel and we found the food to be of a good standard and fairly priced.
We tended to venture out in the evenings to Fishermans Village, Choeng Mon or Chaweng and the hotel were happy to arrange taxis for a reasonable fare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just spent ten days away at Tonsai Bay, pure magic. The staff are incredible, nothing is too much trouble, we were upgraded to a Grand Villa for last three nights, simply amazing. I saw a monitor lizard, over 4ft long in the garden, only saw it once. Everywhere is spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Seafront cottages are lovely. Room 206 Grand villa 513 (no pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 186 in Bophut
921 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing