We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tongsai Bay February 2013”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tongsai Bay February 2013”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best hotel we have stayed in - beautiful grounds, fantastic staff and excellent food. We stayed in a beachfront cottage, and we could not fault any aspect of the hotel. The food was the best we had in Thailand, and the staff were fantastic - genuinely friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are on steep hillside, with lots of steps - if this is a problem, ask for a room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dog_n_goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    260
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
354
1,205
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Four nights was not enough at the Tongsai Bay. This resort is perfect for those who want a sense of isolation and privacy. With a private beach and beautiful gardens this expansive resort keeps you away from the buzz and bother of Chaweng and public beaches. We had a seafront pool villa which was simply amazing with a perfect postcard view of the Bay and the resort. The spa, food, and wine were all very good along with the small gym. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the General Manager made a point of coming to say hi on arrival, and to wish us well on departure which was a nice touch. Some of the public areas are looking a little tired, and we felt the lobby area was a little bland missing some of the unique and rich Thai culture of other resorts. We did not use the buggies preferring to walk around the resort however they are a great idea for people with limited mobility. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This resort biggest asset is its staff. The last time I had the level of service I experienced at the Tongsai Bay was at a Four Season resort in the Maldives. The staff is omnipresent but not on you. They anticipate your needs and are ready to help you.
The resort ground itself is really beautiful. The resort is on a hill so it has many steps but the golf carts come really fast when you need them. If you do not want to be climbing up and down, avoid some cottages that provide privacy but require going up about 80 steps (305 to 308) . The beach suites are right on the pool and very practical when you have kids.
The food at the beach restaurant is good and not too pricey for this type of resort. The pizza crust is thin and crunchy… The Thai food is good as well but not the best I ever had.
The breakfast provides fresh juices (you can select which mix) and fresh fruits. Best papaya and mangoes I had in a long time! And the freshly baked croissants are crusty and delicious… You can get continental or eastern style food as well.
Getting a transportation from the hotel into town is not more expensive than coming back in a taxi. I would recommend this option since with a taxi you may lose when bargaining.
On Friday, they had a nice cocktail happy hour with live music on the beach. I hope we had more such evenings during our stay.
The pool is very kids friendly (they have another one for adults only). They have created relief in the pool to simulate rocks and the fixed umbrellas inside the pool provide a welcome shade.
The water is very calm since the beach is in a bay but the sand is actually little pebbles that hurts a little. And the floor of the ocean drops really fast. On the other hand, it is very easy to rent a canoe and go off along the bay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The cottages on the hill can be a little dark but very private. As mentioned above, suites by the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Tongsai Bay for 4 nights and I wish it was 40!!!
We came there by coincidence after staying in another part of the island before and this was just AMAZING!!!

Great location, great facilities for families, great rooms, amazing service, great food - HEAVEN!
even when I write these lines, a big smile is on my face...

If i must say one thing to look at - if the beach/sea is high importance for you and you have small kids, notice that the private beach doesnt really have a shallow water section, as the water become deep right at the point of entry.
We managed and enjoyed it even with that...

bottom line - dont think twice! this is THE place to stay @ Samui
We are waiting to come back there.....

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are very close to the pool/beach, ask for ground floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OferRazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh Borders, UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having spent 4 days at Napasai (see separate review) we were driven to Tongsai Bay. This is bigger, steeper and prettier than Napasai, and, thankfully, has no invasive piped music. Buggies transport you efficiently between areas of the resort but there are quite steep and long stepped walkways between the buggy road and some rooms. So, if you have mobility problems, it's vital you discuss this with the hotel before booking. If you're reasonably fit, you'll enjoy the walks. All the reception staff we dealt with spoke very good English so misunderstandings are unlikely.
Tongsai has 2 beaches and 2 pools, one of which, the "half-moon" infinity pool, is free of kids and noise. The beaches are quite coarse sand and the sea more lively than at Napasai, and quite mesmeric.
Our sea-view room was well equipped, with a large, very private, outside deck with loungers, table & chairs, and a large bath tub from which to enjoy the sight and sound of the surf. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient, and the room was made up while we were breakfasting.
Breakfast is outstanding, with fruits being cut and juiced, eggs being prepared and bacon grilled right in front of you - or you can choose a variety of cold cuts, noodles and anything else you could imagine.
We tried all three restaurants and they were all good of their kind. The wine list is extensive and prices fairer than at Napasai.
Tongsai runs its own taxi service and doesn't let local taxis past the security gate at the top of the property. This may seem like a license to print money, but the fares to all reasonable destinations are clearly posted at reception and they are not inflated. So you get more comfortable cars and save haggling (which you have to do with the regular taxi drivers!)
The staff at Tongsai is amazing. They aren't as smartly dressed as at Napasai, but their attitude is spontaneous, warm, and totally helpful.
You get plenty of exercise walking on-site and the area outside the hotel is also pleasant and interesting. It's only about 10-minutes ride to the wonderful little Samui airport, but we heard no noise from it.
An outstanding resort.

Room Tip: If you're old or infirm, check how many steps to climb between buggy and room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What can I add to what's already been said? We loved the place, right up there with our top few favourite hotels. There is a very relaxed and confident feel to the place, not up itself like some, just quietly gets on with it. It's very hard to put words to it, but it just feels right. Excellent staff, couldn't do enough for you, efficient and friendly without exception.
We had a Sea front pool Villa, wow! Enormous deck, sun and shade, very comfy bed, great pool and view. The pool villas are up a hill but the buggy service is quick and efficient and there were only a few steps.
We mainly ate in the main Thai restaurant and it had a varied menu, which was a nice change from the usual fair. The food was excellent, not cheap, but reasonable value. I do wish they would stop this ++ though. My only complaint was that the mini bar prices were extortionate.

Room Tip: For the pool villas we had 302 which had a great view over the bay, the down side being if you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband, six year old daughter, and I spent four nights here before moving to the Four Seasons for our last three nights. When we return to Koh Samui, we will spend our full vacation at the Tongsai Bay.

I believe the value, friendliness of the staff and other guests, quality of the food and overall value have really got to be the best on the island. We stayed in room 302 for our first 3 nights and enjoyed the outdoor shower and split level design, but did not linger in the room. The views from room 209, where we spent our last night, are really great and this room was light and airy.

The beach is not sandy to the disappointment of our daughter but delight of my husband. We did notice it to have much bigger waves and we were unable to to swim in the water where elsewhere on the island the water was much calmer, but we did love hearing the ocean sounds throughout the property and from the room.

I would pay for the grand villas with pools in retrospect and believe the pad thai there is some of the best I have ever had. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are fantastic and included in the room rate. Others have said they felt the food was not a good value, but I believe this hotel provides excellent quality and value, especially for the price.

If I had one suggestion it would be to have more activites or a kids club to give the children something to look forward to. The Four Seasons has this and our daughter loved the activities and meeting other children...and it gave us time to enjoy the spa and pool.

The hotel also provided sound guidance on tours and very reasonable and excellent services to transport us anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmcman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#19 of 185 in Bophut
922 reviews
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing