We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra-friendly resort with heart”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having spent 4 days at Napasai (see separate review) we were driven to Tongsai Bay. This is bigger, steeper and prettier than Napasai, and, thankfully, has no invasive piped music. Buggies transport you efficiently between areas of the resort but there are quite steep and long stepped walkways between the buggy road and some rooms. So, if you have mobility problems, it's vital you discuss this with the hotel before booking. If you're reasonably fit, you'll enjoy the walks. All the reception staff we dealt with spoke very good English so misunderstandings are unlikely.
Tongsai has 2 beaches and 2 pools, one of which, the "half-moon" infinity pool, is free of kids and noise. The beaches are quite coarse sand and the sea more lively than at Napasai, and quite mesmeric.
Our sea-view room was well equipped, with a large, very private, outside deck with loungers, table & chairs, and a large bath tub from which to enjoy the sight and sound of the surf. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient, and the room was made up while we were breakfasting.
Breakfast is outstanding, with fruits being cut and juiced, eggs being prepared and bacon grilled right in front of you - or you can choose a variety of cold cuts, noodles and anything else you could imagine.
We tried all three restaurants and they were all good of their kind. The wine list is extensive and prices fairer than at Napasai.
Tongsai runs its own taxi service and doesn't let local taxis past the security gate at the top of the property. This may seem like a license to print money, but the fares to all reasonable destinations are clearly posted at reception and they are not inflated. So you get more comfortable cars and save haggling (which you have to do with the regular taxi drivers!)
The staff at Tongsai is amazing. They aren't as smartly dressed as at Napasai, but their attitude is spontaneous, warm, and totally helpful.
You get plenty of exercise walking on-site and the area outside the hotel is also pleasant and interesting. It's only about 10-minutes ride to the wonderful little Samui airport, but we heard no noise from it.
An outstanding resort.

Room Tip: If you're old or infirm, check how many steps to climb between buggy and room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

What can I add to what's already been said? We loved the place, right up there with our top few favourite hotels. There is a very relaxed and confident feel to the place, not up itself like some, just quietly gets on with it. It's very hard to put words to it, but it just feels right. Excellent staff, couldn't do enough for you, efficient and friendly without exception.
We had a Sea front pool Villa, wow! Enormous deck, sun and shade, very comfy bed, great pool and view. The pool villas are up a hill but the buggy service is quick and efficient and there were only a few steps.
We mainly ate in the main Thai restaurant and it had a varied menu, which was a nice change from the usual fair. The food was excellent, not cheap, but reasonable value. I do wish they would stop this ++ though. My only complaint was that the mini bar prices were extortionate.

Room Tip: For the pool villas we had 302 which had a great view over the bay, the down side being if you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband, six year old daughter, and I spent four nights here before moving to the Four Seasons for our last three nights. When we return to Koh Samui, we will spend our full vacation at the Tongsai Bay.

I believe the value, friendliness of the staff and other guests, quality of the food and overall value have really got to be the best on the island. We stayed in room 302 for our first 3 nights and enjoyed the outdoor shower and split level design, but did not linger in the room. The views from room 209, where we spent our last night, are really great and this room was light and airy.

The beach is not sandy to the disappointment of our daughter but delight of my husband. We did notice it to have much bigger waves and we were unable to to swim in the water where elsewhere on the island the water was much calmer, but we did love hearing the ocean sounds throughout the property and from the room.

I would pay for the grand villas with pools in retrospect and believe the pad thai there is some of the best I have ever had. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are fantastic and included in the room rate. Others have said they felt the food was not a good value, but I believe this hotel provides excellent quality and value, especially for the price.

If I had one suggestion it would be to have more activites or a kids club to give the children something to look forward to. The Four Seasons has this and our daughter loved the activities and meeting other children...and it gave us time to enjoy the spa and pool.

The hotel also provided sound guidance on tours and very reasonable and excellent services to transport us anywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmcman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tongsai for 10 days.The hotel is beautifully situated in a private cove and has sandy, but very gritty and coarse, beach. The main hotel is on a hillside so is not suitable for people with walking difficulties. In fairness the lovely staff will pick you up from anywhere in their golf buggies
The rooms are clean and well positioned, but some of the villas are some distance from the main hotel. The breakfast is excellent and the service, from the smiling staff,. first class.
We found that the food in the restaurants was very good but overly expensive.We walked to the village where we could eat just as well for a third of the hotel price. This is the only matter which we had concern about.
We were in the hotel over Chrismas and New Year. We were a bit unlucky with the weather. Being the monsoon season we had quite a bit of rain. New Years Eve produced the heaviest downpour we have ever seen, but it did not effect the wonderful firework display put on by the hotel. We did not think the hotel gave good value for either meals at Christmas or New Years eve offerred good value and the atmosphere was very poor. We are not prepared to pay £120 each for a large meal, which neither of us could eat, or listen to taped music for the entertainment.
Suming up... nice hotel and rooms, nicestaff, good breakfast. Restaurant and prices need adjustment

Room Tip: Top floor of the hotel is excellent as it has a wonderful and large sea facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have recently returned from our 5th holiday at Tongsai Bay

I can honestly say that this place is perfect from start to finish.

The reviews praise the staff and they are indeed wonderful. Happy natural people who cant do enough for you.

We were in a cottage suite which is not in the Pool Villa class but is certainly comfortable and the sun is there for you all day, unlike the pool villas, which get little sun.

The breakfast offers such fine choice of fruit plus anything a cooked breakfast while you wait. Try the latte, the best I have tasted.

We hope to return next January for a month !

Room Tip: Cottage suites are excellent value and have the benefit of full sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huttongate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days with my wife and young child and cannot praise the place more. It really is a superb hotel with great accomodation, food, and service. We stayed in seafront pool villa- room 504- and it is worth every penny for the views, extra space and your own private infinity pool. The pool is a good size and really adds to the terrace feature. The hotel is nicely spread out which gives you plenty of space and freedom while all restaurants are very very good with special mention to the beach bbqs at po lad and the grand Thai buffet nights and chef choms. The service is great and everyone was so friendly towards my son jack who loved it. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough especially with the wonderful family touch that the top chains on the island lack. Top end 5 star class.

Room Tip: Seafront pool villa are the most expensive but worth every penny. A bit special and views are terrif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Having previously spent 4 nights at a gorgeous hotel in Dubai we were slightly worried Tongsai wouldn't match up. We needn't have worried as it more than did!

We received a very warm welcome despite it being nearly midnight and were soon whisked off to our beachfront suite. The next morning we woke to beautiful views of the pool and out to sea before going to stuff ourselves at the biggest and best breakfast layout I've ever seen! It was amazing!

We are at both Chef Chom's and the Bistro during our stay and both were excellent. The hotel also put on a Thai cultural evening and a full moon dinner while we were there and again we really enjoyed these.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and even upgraded us to the gorgeous hideaway cottage for our last 3 nights.

We also tried out the spa a couple of times and it was lovely, as was the sun soother treatment on our last day.

Nothing left to say other than we wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,623 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
764 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,424 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $177 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing