We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Tongsai Bay is a luxurious and still very Thai resort. What I mean by that is that it has a different feel from one of the global 5-Star luxury hotels. It was elegant without being stuffy. The service was top-notch - from the restaurant staff to the pool/beach attendants. The walk from our cottage to the main hotel felt like a walk through a botanical garden. The resort sits alone on its own private beach (which we liked, but those who like a more of a beach party atmosphere would be bored). The beach itself consists of pretty course sand (ground up shells) and is not easy on the feet. That might be the only negative about the resort. We had a seafront cottage - the view was incredible. We need to recognize the outstanding service of a few staff members: Prae, Auy and Elisabeth. The on property dining was excellent. The on property spa was nice (but expensive). Many of the guests were returning guests - which says quite a bit about the resort. Cons: coarse sand on the beach. Pros: just about everything else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuburnArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    258
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
335
1,176
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

One tip, the online packages at their website are a good deal. We got a cottage suite, half day tour of the island, excellent cooking class and a two person massage.
If you are looking for a relaxing weekend on the beach, I can think of nothing better.
Do be advised, this is as far from "real Thailand" as one can get, but if you want beach time, come here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dance-eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great secluded location. The hotel staff were very polite and professional. The rooms were great. However the restaurant probably should be avoided. Food wasn't good, and staff neglected our table.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyanB394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great accommodation and very secluded. The front office staff were very polite and there is buggy/golf cart service to get you around the huge resort quickly.

The rooms were spacious and inviting. The staff made a welcome sign in flower petals and a little elephant out of towels. The cleaning was immaculate.

The downside was the beach is very rocky. The pool chairs are either on the concrete or the unpleasant shells and I was quite disappointed you can't eat at the pool. The pool side staff were somewhat friendly though didn't seem to have a smile or go out of their way to help.

Overall, the food here is mediocre. We went out to eat dinner three nights to get better food - it's about 10-15 min. car ride (arrange through the hotel car service is 400 baht each way).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryancox02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great accomodations, and beautiful location. Very secluded, so if you're looking to be ON the beaten path, this isn't for you. Mediocre restaurant service staff, but very friendly and helpful beach boys for towels/water, etc. Order the "smile" drink and "magic island" for a fruity and refreshing sip! Sub par weather, very rainy (torrential downpours), but the sun breaks meant we still made it to the beach and the cloud cover was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage suite, which had our own bathtub on the front deck. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon and it was more than we hoped for. The place is amazing, rooms were gorgeous with stunning views. They were cleaned every day and beds turned down every night. The food was great, we ate dinner in the hotel most nights but also took a private taxi provided by the hotel to Bophut and Chaweng a few nights. Breakfast was a buffet with everything fresh and food cooked on demand. The service at the hotel is the best I have ever experienced, staff could not do enough for us and were always polite and friendly.

Pool area and infinity pool was clean, great sunbeds and you didnt have to move all day! Cocktails were to die for.

I loved this place, most relaxing holiday I have ever had and I definately plan on going back. Nothing else since has come close!

Room Tip: Book a cottage suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyjean35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here following a stay in Bangkok and it was perfect for relaxing.

On arrival we were greeted with cool towels and a fresh juice drink before been transferred on a golf buggy to our room in the beachside villa. Our room was very spacious with good air con and a fabulous view over the pool and the beach. The resort it's self is set over a steep hillside with lots of undergrowth and wildlife around which was fantastic to see.
Housekeeping was excellent, coming in twice a day, leaving fresh fruit, biscuits and sweets and ensuring your had unlimited bottled water.
We spent most of our time relaxing around the pool and on the beach, and there were more than enough sun loungers available. The pool guys ensured you had plenty of towels and water all day.
Breakfast was very good and served till 11am which was great! There was a very good selection available. We ate in all of the restaurants and found the beach restaurant was our favourite both at lunchtime and in the evening. We also did the Thai cookery course with the head chef Mark which was a fantastic experience, and mark is an excellent teacher, incredibly knowledgeable and happy to share his knowledge.
The resort provides its own taxi service which I felt was overpriced and felt a free shuttle service to the local beaches i.e. Chaweng would be an excellent addition to their services.
The standout thing for us at the Tongsai Bay is the fantastic staff everywhere. They were always very professional, friendly and very willing to help.
I would most certainly go back to the Tongsai Bay and recommend as a place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank hmb_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing