We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #6 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in the Thongsai Bay cottages in July 2011 as part of our honeymoon. It was just amazing. When i think of my honeymoon i think of my time in this resort and the people we met there. The cottages are very spacious and well equipped. The staff are so friendly, efficient and seem genuinely happy to work at this resort. The pool facilities were excellent and the food very good also. Although the rooms are a little dated the service and quality in this hotel make up for it. You would know this resort has being in the business for years. I was particularly impressed with the cocktail evening held for the guests on the beach( free of charge). Such a wonderful way for people to mingle and chat. Overall we loved staying at this resort. It is perfect for your honeymoon and we hope to return at some stage in our future (maybe 10 year anniversary!) Thank you to the Thongsai Bay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBrad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    258
    60
    19
    9
See reviews for
335
1,176
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed at Tongsai Bay last week of October.
Having read other reviews we were dedicated, we had to see and experience this wonderful place. We're normally already happy with 2 star accommodation because that usually has a very relaxed atmosphere. More stars add luxury but very often cannibalizes laid back surroundings.

Not this time!
The stars go first of all to the staff at Tongsai Bay, to the quietness, to the relaxed atmosphere we hoped for, the fun factor. The stars then also go to the accommodations, the food, the bar, the bbq, the pools, the gym, the spa. It was like 7 nights living in an Oscar winning paradise movie that has yet to be produced.

Everything was clean, well taken care off and queries promptly responded to. As if we were the only guests.

Climbing up the hill to our cottage (way up) from the beach area was even a joy. We could have used the free buggy but we then missed the beautiful plants and flowers meeting us during the climb. So we mostly walked and enjoyed the area. We knew there was always cold water and beer waiting for us at the amazing balcony of the cottage.

We recommend readers to book the cooking class. Not only for the cooking but also to learn how things are recycled, how to grow own salads and herbs. And we thought we knew a bit.

Never going back to the same place? It will be the first time we go back, the memories of the dream are simply pulling us back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked Tongsai Bay for our honeymoon in September 2011 for 8 nights, staying in a Grand Villa.

Having read the positive reviews on trip advisor, I was expecting a great hotel however they service, staff and experience surpassed our expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Koh Samui.

The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted with a welcome drink and then transported to our villa in the golf buggy - which is available whenever you're feeling a bit lazy!

We stayed in Grand Villa 514 and had stunning views over the ocean. Although the villas are very private, one downside is that they are semi-detached. We loved the little treats left in our room every lunchtime and evening and fresh flowers in the room.

The hotel's food is amazing, we really enjoyed the beach bistro and would recommend the cocktail party and BBQ - it's a little expensive in Thai standards but unbelievable! My husband also did the cooking course which he loved, and I was able to join him and taste his hard work!

The spa was also brilliant, I had lots of treatments and although you can get it cheaper outside the hotel, the atmosphere is beyond anything you'll experience anywhere else.

We loved this hotel and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Having spent the last 10 years holidaying almost exclusively in Mauritius this was our first trip to Thailand and we can report that Mark Twain got it wrong. God did not model heaven on Mauritius but on the fantastic Tongsai Bay - So much so that we did not need to leave the complex at all during our two-week stay. A previous reviewer has mentioned the longlevity of the resort which must be due to its impeccable standards - food, service and cleanliness were all fantastic. We were also surprised to find that many of the staff had been with the hotel since it opened in 1987 - most unusual in a service industry and a tribute to good management. We enjoyed two massages in the spa and also used the small gym - an air-conditioned haven in the heat of the day. Mark (General Manager) and Mark (Chef) were very helpful with a small problem and we feel that Woot and Su in the restaurant and Pla by the pool were exceptional. Not much more to add to previous reviews except to say that we are already planning our return next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for our 10 day honeymoon. On arrival we were greeted at reception and provided with a frozen towel and drink complete with fan which was great after our long journey. Our bags and we were then transported via golf buggy to our room. We stayed in a beach front cottage 222 and had a good view of the sea and beach pool area. The room was lovely and air conditioned. I love the little details at this hotel the little flowers etc. There was plenty of wildlife too!
Loved the sound if the frogs in the evening! We went on a few trips the day safari was the best highly recommend! Perfect for honeymoon and couples but probably not great for kids. We took a kayak out a few times which was great. The half moon pool was lovely and you are given plenty of cool water. Water is available free at all times. We did the beach BBQ which was great and the full moon dinner. We went to the butlers restaurant too which was lovely. The restaurants on site are great. Warning though this is a 5 star hotel and the prices are similar to that you would expect in London. Tip get your drinks during happy hour. You can get a taxi to chewang for 400 baht but we didn't think much of chewang to be honest. The boat trips are excellent too. Was a bit worried about the weather this time of year but it was ok except one day where we got quite wet. The staff are amazing especially the juice lady and bar staff. This hotel is very relaxing and just what we needed. You will have a great time here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlsjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our only 2 nites stay in a pool villa type seems too short. Our short break in Tongsai Bay was one of the best we had so far. This hotel staff were friendly and offered first class service. The buggy was on call and the next minute it's already in front of our door. The breakfast including the fresh juice were good. We also tried dinner at Chef Chom and the food was also great. Although the wooden floor seems aging, the villa is clean and perfect for a quite and private break. Small things, like serving a small box of snacks and cookies twice a day have added the value of the pleasant stay here.

The staff also handled our complaint well. When we arrived at the airport and found that no pick up service we requested was provided, the staff checked and later reported that the hotel did ask Agoda before our arrival but was the later did not respond and that's the reason of no pick up. I also commented on this to Agoda thru it's email survey.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

For the price it should be one of the best. But what makes Tong Sai Bay work is the number of years it has been running and for me, the breakfast. The breakfast is awesome. Having lived in Thailand for ten years we don't often to get to eat a fried breakfast with fresh fruit, cheese, cold meat cuts. Yes fve stars for the breakfast alone. Great.

The location is a cute little cove the bottom of a hillside - steep walk up that hill - private beach that was too choppy to swim in whilst we were there. The swimming pool, or swimming poos - there's two - are fantastic. The food was fantastic - seafood, steak, all sorts. We didn't in fact leave the resort for out entire stay. Everything we needed was there, and having lived on Ko Samui before we had seen all the tourist sites already.

The rooms were fantastic and the bathrooms out of this world. Can't say anything bad about this resort. Did I mention the breakfast?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing