We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #4 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is the first time I've stayed in a luxury resort and felt a little redundant having everything done for me. Staff looked horrified that I walked to collect ice rather than ringing room service.

The rooms are immaculate, tastefully decorated, large (we stayed in the villa suite). Staff were polite, sociable to chat with.

Weather was humid and hot (32-34degC), tho' there was the occasional once-a-day sharp shower (refreshing). That said, all rooms had functioning aircon. restaurants too had fans at the ready without having to ask too.

If you want somewhere where you can be pampered or read the latest novel outdoors on a pool side bed, then this is certainly a candidate if you're on Koh Samui. It's a quiet location, though that may in part be due to the time of year we travel with respect to school terms.

The 2 pools were excellent.

We tried 2 restaurants and both served v.good food with London suburb prices. NOTE: fish is on a different scale. King Prawns are mini-lobster sized creatures.
We had breakfast included and the choice was beyond my expectation, but perhaps that's not something to go on. So much choice in the morning. The freshly made juices (right before your eyes) were addictive (and one/two/three of my five a day so I didn't feel guilty).
We also had the room service menu on a few occasions during our 10 day stay. 45mins wait is usually 20mins early (I'm cool with that). They set the coffee table up for you with cutlery and a cloth and crockery. We felt so humble.

There is free wireless internet in every room, but connection on my phone was a little flaky. That said, they did have 2 PCs at each of 2 locations on the site, and they were connected. Skype was a little funny, but not sure if that's due to bandwidth restrictions in the Far East. They even had a Wii, which was a nice retreat from the midday sun. There's a pool table near the main Foyer.

We indulged in a Thai massage one day, and this was again a new experience for me. For 30mins, we were squeezed and pinched and rubbed. I'm glad I opted for the medium pressure. Bravado's need not apply for sake of their dignitiy. You'll feel the pain if you think you're hard enough and this is the first time you go for one. (Of course, these are the tasteful massages)

The site also has a nice gym. Aircon is active and the gym in my opinion is well equipped. I feel sorry for the owners that this facility isn't used more. Is clean and has a nice shower, yet seems underused. perhaps one person a day at the most.

They can arrange a selection of excursions if you want (no pressure), or you're at will to arrange your own. There's also a themed night most nights from Thai cooking to BBQ.

One thing that struck a good chord with me was the approach of Sue Goodall during one of the mornings whilst having breakfast. At first I thought it was a random visitor making conversation, but then I saw the name tag and she introduced herself. Such a welcome and friendly face doesn't cost a penny in my book, and I thought such manners sets apart chain Hotels from those run by caring owners. It brings everyone to the same level and destroys any sense of hierarchy within the organisation including the visitors. Makes them approachable and you genuinely feel they're your friend. She was very professional and didn't intruded whilst we were having breakfast. She knows her target market and that reciprocates from appreciative visitors. Faultless!

I marked one dot off 5 because not sure if it means affordability or value for money. If the latter then it should be 5. As well, the sand on the beach is rather coarse but I think that's mentioned in the blurb. It is secluded and to walk to the nearest town (Choeng Meong), takes 15mins at a leisurely pace due to the humidity, else you'll look a mess. That said, most visitors of the resort tend to take a taxi. We just wanted to avoid putting on weight and not letting our muscle turn into fat from all the relaxing!

Genuinely a nice resort, and applicable to those who want to retreat their rat-race lives (of which I'm not one of them).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ketan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    258
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
345
1,202
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was our first stop in Thailand. It was the perfect place to get over our jet lag and relax. The rooms are beautiful. We stayed in the family view cottage which had a spectacular view and plenty of room for our family of five. The cottages with pools and/or beds with mosquito netting on the terraces looked really nice. The restarants were excellent, and the breakfast (included) was AMAZING! Pool and beach were wonderful. Our cottage was at the top of a hill which was a little challenging in the heat. The hotel was about 15 minutes from town by taxi. This was perfect for those of us who just wanted to relax, but our college age kids wanted to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a magical Honeymoon in Thailand. We decided to stay over in central Bangkok to experience the hustle & bustle/shopping/restaurants in the cente. I would definately reccommend others do the same as the shopping and easting out in Bangkok is really cheap :-) and the sky train provided wquality links to pretty much anywhere you could want to visit. (grand Palace is worth a visit and only 400bht £6.00 in taxi).

We spent the remaining 8 days/nights in Koh Samui at the beautiful Tongsai Bay. Everything about this place ouses relaxation, friendship and serenity. All the little touches go along way, the staff really make an effort to befriend you and will bendover backwards to cater for your every need.

I agree with a number of other reviews that the location is slightly remote , however the Fishermans village and the busy Chaweng are only 10 mins and £6.00 taxi fare. You really dont need to eat out as the food quality and selection at Tongsai is great although it is nice to have a change of scenery.

Happy hour or hours are a bonus and should be taken advantage of. Everyday 16:00 - 18:00 and 22:00 - Midnight.

The private bay is very picturesque and as its private its never crowded and never noisy. One small thing to point out. The bay isnt sand, its small/fine pebbles which is fine but a little uncomfotable underfoot at times.

Overall I would reccommend this hotel without hesitating but only for couples/honeymooners looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevotoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

A little piece of Heaven in this quiet resort, on a lovely private beach. The Holehouses manage a gorgeous hotel with great attention to the environment. 5* great service by charming staff without the usual 5* luxury.
Loved breakfast and ate in-house at the three restaurants.
The location suited us but might be remote for the more adventerous.

Room Tip: Request front line beach accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

As all previous reviews said this hotel is really friendly with attention to service.
The hotel attracts mainly couples and is quiet and relaxing.
The spa massage was amazing.
While i was away it was my birthday and the hotel gave me a lovely cake and bottle of bubbly, its these extra little totches that make all the difference.
To use taxi's especially the hotel taxis made going to the local towns a little pricey, but if you walk to the local little village (10) min walk you can get a regular taxi (about half the price) or a local car with open back for others to jupm on and off for 30b before 6pm.
A trip to the island waterfall was a great adventure and well worth a visit.
We also did the cookery course at the hotel which was really interesting and i think we have come away with a few dishes to cook for our friends

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baker_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Tongsai Bay was the perfect place to end our honeymoon. We had visited Chiang Mai and Bangkok before coming to Koh Samui so it was just the right place to relax in such a romantic setting. The accommodation, service and food was definitely 5 star, although not your typical formal service that you receive in other 5 stars - we thought it was better as everyone was so friendly and bent over backwards to your every need. From the buggies that took you around the site, to the ice cold water, fruit and face cloths to cool you down whilst sunbathing, it was just what we envisaged. The free water sports were great, the pools were perfect and the setting just magical.

If I had to point out a negative, it would be the remote location. Although, the food was excellent every night, giving you much choice, the location didn't make it easy to visit other restaurants, so food was a little pricey compared to restaurants on the island/elsewhere in Thialand. You can get taxis to and from the hotel, but again are a little expensive. However, if you plan to spend similar prices on food as what you would in a restaurant in UK, then the quality ceratinly won't disappoint. If you do venture out, we would recommend visiting the fishermans village on Friday night for the walking market and again, great food.

Overall, an excellent place to stay and we definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michymoo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have recently returned from one of the most relaxing holidays we have had in Thailand. Having stayed in a variety of 5* hotels and resorts on Koh Samui we decided to try the beautifully located Tongsai Bay. Sitting on the cliffs with its private bay and cove, the resort is surrounded by gorgeous gardens. The villas and cottages are very private, no overcrowding here.With peaceful gentle evenings by the edge of the water, the restaurant and bar are so romantic. A choice of pools - our favourite is the horizon pool above the bay which feels like its just for you.
Super thai food - one of the main reasons we travel half way around the world for - and breakfast to die for - such a delight to be greeted by happy smiling people in the morning! The hotel management are great, marvellous hosts and so knowledgeable about the island. Nothing is too much trouble.
The villas, cottages and rooms are perfectly kitted out in lovely gentle hues and the whole place evokes an island resort stepping back in time but with all the 5* luxuries we expect these days. Great spa too - a perfect thai holiday. We are definately returning next year.

Room Tip: Reserve early for best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crowcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#17 of 186 in Bophut
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Property: The Tongsai Bay
Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#5 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing