We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Wedding!”
Review of The Tongsai Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tongsai Bay
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We got married at Tongsai Bay in August. It was amazing! Truely memorable! We were made to feel soo special. The wedding ceremony was held on the beach with the site decorated with beautiful flowers, I burst into tears as I walked down the aisle and saw how lovely everything looked!

We had a great cottage high above the sea, which had amazing views, we were then upgraded to a Grand Villa on our wedding day and for the remainder of our stay, which was even more amazing. They'd even managed to put us in a villa next to our friends so we could surprise them!

Both our parents also came out and stayed in the cottages. Needless to say, they also had an amazing time and are already planning their return!

I can't recommend Tongsai enough...they made our wedding the most memorable day in our lives and so special.... Thank you Tongsai...we shall definitely be back to celebrate many anniversaries!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KentBlinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,452 - 1,458 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

My wife and I chose this hotel to spend our honeymoon. With so many good reviews it had to be good. And indeed it is. Wonderful facilities, helpful staff, great food. Being so good we tend to look after the bad things. But there are so few. The beach is private (which is good in our opinion), but the sand is not that good. Still, we would prefer the hotel beach to others not exclusive. We had a wonderful experience learning to cook Thai food with Chef Alvin. The not so good experiences were a boat travel, for which the hotel apologized and an amazing (ridiculous) theft of a logo from a Hugo Boss polo shirt, still undiscovered. Overall, it was very good and we forgive everything. Best of luck to the Tongsai.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Paulo_Almeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Very friendly and relaxed hotel, away from the horror that is Koh Samui - the Playa de las Americas of the far east.
We stayed here for a week in March / April 2006 on our honeymoon. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel has a boutique feel and is very relaxed. We spent a lot of time by the infinity pool which is set away from the main pool and nice and quiet, we had it to ourselves for most of the time that we were there.
The Thai Restaurant at the top of the complex is rubbish, get reception to book you a taxi to Bo Phut which is a small fishing village just up the road with some shops and a good selection of local restaurants, you can also get suits made here.
100% recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank spremmynemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The cottage was fantastic, the beach was very nice, there is a huge pool. We ate at the Floyd's Beach bar several times, the BBQ was fantastic. However, the prices during lunch were quite high and we didn't feel the food was that great. Dinner at night was fantastic though. We also had the Thai Gala dinner, it was ok but nothing particular. Apart from that, everything was great. The staff was super friendly and we will definately go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Colognejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon just like many other guests who were here at the same time. The resort made a precious time in our lives even more special than we could ever have dreamed. The staff were very attentive and friendly (they would go out their way to help you) and this coupled with the excellent facilities and food made us have the trip of a lifetime.

The beach is very peaceful, with roasting hot sand that is a little coarse but adds to the beautiful scenery without being the best to walk or lie on. We used most of the facilities available such as the kayaking (was great fun and lovely location to do it), gala room with pool table and theatre system etc., and both pools, the quiet half moon which was lovely and relaxing and the main pool which was slightly busier without being too busy or loud, though this could be down to the clientele. We used the tennis courts a few times and borrowed their rackets to do so, they even brought up cold water and cool towels to help us cool down during our rests, was a lovely unexpected touch, but hardly surprising once we had become accustomed to this level of service and attentiveness.

We tried and loved all the restaurants. The Butlers was of an exceptional quality though you pay accordingly, but was well worth the visit as a well deserved treat. The other two are more reasonably priced and as with everything at the resort were upto the resorts high standard. The gardens were also very luscious and in keeping with the scenic beauty and overall cleanliness of the resort.

The greeting at the reception was very welcoming and the receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful on numerous occasions. It was sad to leave such a lovely place, but as with everything all good things must come to an end eventually.

I think that its safe to say that I would recommend the Tongsai Bay to everyone and hopefully they can maintain their high standards and allow others to share in an amazing experience just as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GarryndKirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed here in June. We had done a bit of research before we booked and knew someone who stayed there. I have to say my expectations were fairly high to say they least.....From the moment we arrived we were met with a warm welcome and smiles all round. The setting was stunning and the staff couldnt have been nicer, our room -beach front suite was ideal, it was overlooking the pool and the beach...we really enjoyed our stay in Tongsai, the food in the restaurants was excellent and the service was superb! The staff were friendly and enjoyed the odd joke with guests - they had a great sense of humour and always had a smile for you....
I could not recommend this place enough....the spa was really fantastic too...we booked a 'prana for lovers' treatment. It was soooooo romantic.i wont spoil it for people by explaining what it entailed...but its a must thats all i can say!!
as a surprise for my husband i upgraded us to a Grand Villa for our last three nights - it was worth every penny!! The balcony was massive and the views stunning. I also planned a surprise meal for myself and my hubbie in the villa for one of the evenings. I had to take him away for an hour so the staff could setup. When we got back to the villa i have to say even i was overwhelmed by the way they laid it out. The balcony was totally transformed. Candles , flowers and thai silk draped from the walls and balcony...we had our own chef and butler...it was amazinnngg...
Tongsai is a must .....i could talk all day about it!!! :0)- would defo go back...

Stayed: June 2007
10  Thank murphkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

A little pricey, but you get what you pay for which is great service, yummy restaurants, amazing pool and beautiful setting. We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon and just loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank AandBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,461 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongsai Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongsai Bay

Address: 84 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tongsai Bay Cottages & Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#4 Family Hotel in Bophut
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $257 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tongsai Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongsai Bay is located on Ko Samui, an island in the Gulf of Thailand just a short travel distance by air from Bangkok and across the southern peninsula. The view of Tongsai Bay is hypnotic, as its set amidst a secluded ocean cove; an eco-friendly colony of cottages, low rise buildings and villas barely displacing the lush greenery on the hills of the island's northeast corner. 3 restaurants serve Thai, and international food and the hotel hosts regular live music for evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tongsai Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongsai Bay Cottages And Hotel
Tongsai Bay Cottages Hotel Bophut
Tongsai Bay Hotel
Tongsai Bay Resort
The Tongsai Bay Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing