We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in all of my travels so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Austria Tams Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 157 Bophut B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Tam's guesthouse was excellent value for money. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double which was very spacious, very clean and had a TV, fridge and a nice bathroom. The fridge is a minibar which is pretty reasonable (and they include two bottles of free water everyday), but can also be used to keep your own stuff. The restaurant downstairs is great too- If you're missing European food try the goulash! Dee who works there was great for giving advise about trips and where to move on to next, and all the rest of the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AislingMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at Tams by chance. Originally my stay was for 2 nights but i felt comfortable and welcomed so stayed 1 more night. Tam and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Albin, Tams husband was at hand to help me with a few tours, which i found useful. The food was always delicious and fresh. Ok, they have just opened up and as with any buisness, had a few teething problems but they were willing to listen keenly to put the little snags right, and they did just that. Overall i enjoyed my stay and will have no hesitation staying there again when i go back to Samui next year. Thank you all at Tams.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hi there!

We stayed at Tams Guesthouse after booking at the last moment through Agoda website. The Guesthouse has a European ambience was very relaxed with a friendly and helpful owner who is originally from Austria and has lived in Thailand for many years and suggested some activities and the best beach areas to swim.

The room was very spacious and clean and we had a hot water shower. The rooms at the back are a bit quieter than the ones which look out on the main road.

It is very easy to hire a motorbike from the owner (you don't have to leave your passport !). In other places in Chaweng you had to leave the passport which I would not do personally.

I definitely recommend Tams Guesthouse and if you hire a bike it is only 5 mins to Chaweng shopping street and the beach. It is very cheap and comfortable! We paid only 800 baht per night (high season price since it was early January). Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing away from the main road are the best as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariska N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Me and my friend came here purley for the great price as we are travelling on a tight budget, so we didn't expect much and were completely supprised with how lucky we were when we arrived. The rooms are a very good size (cleanest we've had since we got to Thailand), lovely breakfast included, about a 10 minute walk to the beach and 5 mins to Chaweng main strip.
We felt very welcome and everyone there is always up for a laugh and a bit of banter.
There is no swimming pool but one down the road. There is a gym opposite.

Room Tip: Cheap and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellivicemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Not a great place to stay, 20 minutes by taxi and 100 baht to the main town it was inconvenient to be so far away. the owner wasn't concerned about telling me and my fellow female travellers that we were in a dorm of old german men,one bathroom and no bed sheets. it wasn't the greatest experience and i wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annapil93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albinsamui, Owner at Little Austria Tams Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay at Tams guesthouse. Our apologies for the delay in replying, because the owners native language is not English, I am dee and will reply translating on behalf of the owner......
This is a new backpacker guesthouse and we welcome all feedback:
We do not discriminate on nationality, sex or age of people booking the dormitory style sleeping accomodation and is normal for one bahroom to be shared, however, thank you we can add this in our information.
Thailand is a hot country and normally only bedsheets are supplied but we do have blankets on request if people are cold in the evenings - again, thank you we will include this in our information for the future. We do have a company car available if you would like to request ( subject to availability)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Tams Guesthouse was alright to stay at for a few nights, breakfast was included and was good quality. There was free WiFi which was very fast, around 10mbps DL.
My room was a bit old and basic, the bed had no sheet or blanket just a random blanket in the wardrobe, bed was hard.
I moved out of this place to a hotel for the same price and got a very modern room.
I don't think i would stay there again purely because there are better deals to be found.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

If you're not an old German man, don't stay here. I was traveling with three other 21 year old girls and it was not a pleasant experience. We were given beds with no sheets or blankets in a room full of old German men on the first night and were moved to another hostel on the second night because the owner had overbooked. We got no apology for being moved to a hostel we didn't choose, rather we got to sit around for 2 hours on the afternoon of New Year's Eve while we waited for some mysterious car to take us to our next location (we couldn't take a taxi ourselves because no one could tell us what this alternate hostel was called). There was a British man named Simon who worked there and who was very helpful but he could not make up for the disirganisation and rudeness of the owner. Also, it is not nearly as close to the beach as is made out and it will cost you around 100 baht per person to get to Chaweng centre. It was clean enough but I would never stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Livnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.6 mi away
DD Guest House & Backpacker
0 mi away
Weekender Bungalow
Weekender Bungalow
#19 of 45 in Lamai Beach
17 reviews
4.2 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Austria Tams Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Austria Tams Guesthouse

Address: 109/40 Moo 6 | Kohsamui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Tams Guesthouse)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range: $13 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Austria Tams Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each air-conditioned guestroom is fully furnished and fitted with a range of amenities with your comfort in mind.Entertainment from television with various satellite television channels, fridge and wireless internet access are available in all rooms for you. In-house facilities include austrian & international restaurant, airport transfer, jeep and motorbike rentals, and laundry service as many more. Our in-house room-service will be happy to serve you in Austrian tradition and only with the very best quality. Whether you like only a quick snack or a 3 course menuAll the helpful well-trained staff is also there to assist you with various activities and tour arrangements during your holiday on Koh Samui. Our well cheap room-rates attracting budget travellers for a longer traveling on Koh Samui. Please get in contact with us if you planning a longer stay on Koh Samui. We can offer you special discounts for monthly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Little Austria Tams Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Austria Tams Guesthouse Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing