We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was definitely worth the taxi ride”
Review of Nirvana

Nirvana
Ranked #22 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the heart of Bophut's ' Fisherman's village ', this small and intimate venue offer a varity of both Thai and European cuisine. Enjoy a romantic evening on our suspended deck only meters from the waters edge, or watch the world pass by on our street side seating. Our small and unique menu is designed to cater for all tastes with a perfect balance of Thai and European flavours.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was definitely worth the taxi ride”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Although we weren't staying in Bophut it was definitely worth the taxi ride for the food at Nirvana. The food is excellent and also wonderful value for money. Contrary to a previous report, we thought that the house wine was very good and as frequent visitors to France, we are fussy. In our two weeks in Koh Samui definitely the best food we tasted. Torben and Lizzie are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome - they also have a fantastic sense of humour which we loved. Nirvana has an open kitchen which is great as you can watch what is being cooked too. My husband really enjoyed the pork fillet - in his words it was exquisite. For me the fillet steak was exceptional. It is a small restaurant but sitting on the terrace or on the beach is a wonderful experience and one not to be missed in Fisherman's Village. Wishing Nirvana continuing success.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    136
    37
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Exceptional courteous service from Torben”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were walking along the beach looking for a restaurant and found a table at Nirvana. On arrival we were greeted by Torben who served us throughout our meal. He was friendly, professional and helpful providing delicious food and service.

We chose the Fillet of Pork with pasta which was exceptional and a Thai Chicken Dish.

It is clear to see why the restaurant is ranked No 3.

Nirvana clearly is a well established restaurant providing individual service far above many restaurants in the village. Although only small it is one we will return to before completing our holiday in Bophut.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FOOD!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Small, intimate restaurant located in the Fisherman’s Village with in-door, and a few tables on a patio facing the ocean. Small menu with a selection of Thai, Western & meat dishes. Presentation and food was excellent. Restaurant run by very friendly South African couple. Really worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 682Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location but food sub par”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Nice location but expecting better food. House wine was not good. Prices were low but it was "you get what you pay for". Not a place we will return to.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gradon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent value, hit and miss with food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

As noted by many, this is one of the best green curries you can find, and possibly the best when taking the modest prices into account. Pad thai was exceptional as well. Thai beef salad was bland. Service was a bit surly and the apps were delivered within minutes but the mains took ages. All in all worth going to as one of the better value for money options and some fabulous dishes. Small, needs a reservation

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing