We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nirvana

Nirvana
Ranked #25 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set in the heart of Bophut's ' Fisherman's village ', this small and intimate venue offer a varity of both Thai and European cuisine. Enjoy a romantic evening on our suspended deck only meters from the waters edge, or watch the world pass by on our street side seating. Our small and unique menu is designed to cater for all tastes with a perfect balance of Thai and European flavours.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We've been a couple of times so far and sampled the tom yam soup, Penang curry and the Nirvana steak. I cannot recommend this lovely little restaurant highly enough! The steak was melt in your mouth delicious! You definitely won't be disappointed! We are planning to go back before we leave!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debs_Abz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    129
    37
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great regular spot”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We are regulars at Nirvana, as the food is always great, with good options both Thai and international. It's a great place to watch the crowds pass by on a Friday night during walking street market, but if you prefer to escape the crowds, just ask for a table on the beach.
Top dishes to try: ribs, Nirvana steak, Prawns in garlic, peri-peri chicken and the banana and chocolate spring rolls for dessert. Although there aren't many vegetarian items on the menu, owner Torben is more than happy to adapt another dish to a veggie option, and it's always delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingpen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The great nirvana steak”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were twice.
Very nice and quiet place, with excellent sea view. Located on the beach.
Very nice music.
Friendly atmosphere, very nice hosts.
Menu is not large, but include thai food and Europe food
All dishes which we try was excellent .
Nirvana steak, for me, was a very best steak, what I ever eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendliest and yummiest”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here for lunch yesterday and was so pleased that we did. All the positive reviews that appear on TA are not only true but underestimated. Torbin the owner of Nirvana is just the nicest and most welcoming man. We had two dishes that we had not seen anywhere else. The restaurant was so wonderfully accommodating to me a vegetarian and nothing that we asked for was an issue. We had a truly wonderful lunch. Thanks for the great experience and particularly for making us feel so welcome. You have two new fans from down under.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeedunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went to the fishermans village today to look around. Found this cute little restaurant and was excited by the menu, particularly the salads as it can be hard to find healthy meals when your travelling. The food was great, the chef was very friendly and I ended up sitting here by the ocean for 2 hours enjoying the peace and quiet away from the bustle of chaweng. Would definitely recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana also viewed

 

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing