We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but expensive for what you get”

The Seaside steakhouse
Ranked #40 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Okay but expensive for what you get”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Seaside Steakhouse one night when we wanted a break from Thai food and a good bottle of wine. The setting is very nice with a table overlooking the beach and Bhoput bay, whilst the interior decor is smart and modern. Despite not going for Thai we ordered a chicken satay starter which was delicious. However, the mains that we ordered (ribeye steak and tuna steak) were average and over cooked. My ribeye was very thin by western standards and whilst I ordered it medium rare it came out cooked through. My girlfriend's tuna steak was also cooked right through and so was dry. We would have sent the food back but were being picked up by our hotel and so didn't have time for it to be recooked. We ordered the Shiraz Malbec red wine and this was good (bearing in mind that wine in Thailand is very expensive for what you get). Unfortunately, the restaurant doesn't take credit card, which meant that I had to go and withdraw cash from the local cash machine which cost me 150 BHT plus a fee from my bank. This meant that an expensive meal by Thai standards was even more costly. Overall I would say that the Thai food here might be very good, but the western dishes that we sampled were not.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    142
    26
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice meals and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had several meals there - always really nice. Great view over the beach and islands in the distance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice lunch overlooking the beach”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful restaurant overlooking the beach. Food was very nice. Service was good. Moderately priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMAK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place in fishermans village”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is right on the beach, you can choose to eat inside and enjoy an elevated view or right on the beach itself.
The kids loved running up and down and exploring the shore whilst we got to sit and enjoy a drink.
The food was very good and the staff very attentive. We were greeted by a french guy and girl who were extremely friendly and informative of the menu. They have a western chef and a thai chef to offer the best of both worlds and cater to kids with a special menu including ice cream.
Definitely worth a visit, note only cash is accepted, no credit cards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCJP240776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a very nice dinner overlooking the ocean last night and really have no complaints. Staff was very attentive and accommodating. Food was good and plentiful. A few decent bottles of wine on the menu at really decent prices (we had the Pinot Noir which was served a little chilled which is nice in the heat). The set menu's deliver a lot of food for a very reasonable price. They offered seating right on the beach where the water would practically touch your feet. We opted to sit up on the balcony more to enjoy the multiple fans they have moving some air around for you. I honestly had no issues with the service at all as others commented. Obviously this is a slower season (May) so not lots of people for the staff to deal with but still can't imagine them giving bad service. The owner/manager standing outside was courteous and I am sure if you had a complaint he would have been happy to hear it. If you notice he reads and comments on reviews which to me is a sign of someone who really wants to make a good experience for his guests. I would certainly recommend this to friends looking to dine in Fisherman's village.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seaside steakhouse also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Seaside steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing