We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buddha Lounge
Ranked #35 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights this week. 10 minute walk from the main road + beach. Air con rooms, we booked in private room- spacious and has little balcony with seats to pop out for fresh air. Staff at reception was very nice and help out with taxi service that we needed. Kitchen on ground floor to grab breakfast. And a very nice main area with TV and DVD selection if decided to stay inside.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dastinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly helpful staff. Building is kept really clean and the room are spacious. I stayed in a twin ensuite with a friend but there are dorms available too. Location is decent. There are scooters available for hire.

I definitely recommend

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the NICEST hostel I have ever stayed in. The dorms are spacious and comfy. The common area where everyone can hang out together is very nice (wide selection of new movies / big flatscreen TV) Great for movie nights. It is situated in a quiet peaceful area, so you'll be able to get a good nights rest. It's literally a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 10 minute ride to the night life in Cheweng. Most importantly, the staff and owners are some of the nicest and genuine people I've met.

I am definitely going to stay here on a long term basis. They also have outstanding private studios and apartments. The owners are extremely nice and accommodating. Excellent customer service, is an understatement, they go above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of. It is situated in Bo Phut which is in between Cheweng and Mai Nam, it's pretty central and you will meet some very cool travelers here. I have made new friendships here, so there is sentimental value with this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We where staying for around one week at the Buddha Lounge in the Doors. The rooms are very big and offering free WiFI and A/C. The breakfast which is included in the price is very good. We get all what we need to start our day at this nice island. We have rented 2 bikes to discover the island where you can find nice spots like the two waterfalls. The staff in the hostel is very friendly and helpful. We get nice advices where to eat and where to go out.
We can fully recommend this hostel cause it's very clean. The beachclub "Dreamers" which you can reach in walking distance is a great place to chill out and relax on the beach and you can use their pool. The food their is very good and not expensive. Also the beaches like Bang Rak or Cheong Mong are very beautiful and you will get there sunbeds for free. Again the Buddha Lounge is a great place to stay where you meet people around the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian1988923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is really a great place to stay in Koh Samui since it´s close to Bangkrak Beach and to the infrastructure from the whole island...Specially if you want to travel to Koh Tao, Koh Phangnan.
Clean and cheap place, so it was really a nice moment to share the moments with everybody there, specially with friendly atmosphere that it has, everybody is really helpful with everything.
They rent motorbikes as well, if you want to go nearby, specially Chaweng Beach.
I strongly recommend Buddha Lounge for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diegomangabeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We went on our Honeymoon to Thailand this month and booked a dorm room at Buddha Lounge for a couple nights - just a place to stay until we went to Koh Phangan for the Full Moon Party. The facilities were clean, although they left their doors open which allowed for bugs to get inside the building. The AC was blasting in the room and the beds were relatively comfortable. There is some storage space in the dorms, although not enough for everyone if they all wanted to use the closet. There are lockers that you can use to store your valuables. The reading lamps and outlets on our bunks did not work, but this didn't seem to be the case with some of the other bunks in our mixed dorm. Buddha Lounge offers a free breakfast (toast and/or cereal, and coffee or tea) in one of the common areas. There are a few common areas on the main floor, although we did not frequent them. Staff provide free maps to visitors. There is a washer and dryer located right outside the entrance and a water machine (1 baht/L of water). The water isn't cold, but you can always use the common fridge or your own fridge if you book a private room.

At first we weren't impressed with the location as it's a little bit of a walk to anything - but then we really started to enjoy it. No noise, no tourists, no problems. The walk is only an issue if you're in midday heat with a bad sunburn (as I was after visiting Patong). There are some great Thai places to eat as well as two bars located just down the road. The beach is only a 10-15 minute walk (depending on how many times you stop) and it is ALWAYS dead.

After we were finished on Koh Phangan, we decided we would go back to Buddha Lounge as we enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff members - but we wanted to book a private room as one of our roommates in the dorm decided to steal a used razorblade from us and another roommate thought it was a great idea to turn off the AC overnight and keep the remote in her bed. We were pleased to see the room had it's own balcony, a large fridge, a lot of storage, TV, king size bed and it's own bathroom. In contrast, this is a no brainer - GO WITH A PRIVATE ROOM!

The Buddha Lounge is quite far from Chaweng beach, Big Buddha or anything else you want to see, although it's super cheap to rent a scooter (200 baht/day + gas) and basically go wherever you want in a fraction of the time. There is a place to park scooters just outside the entrance. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Private room all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgiro403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed there 3 nights. everything was so good - breakfast included, location in a quite place, big hall where we could discuss out trips with other guests. The stuff was very friendly,Thank you, Thomas!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.1 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#109 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Como Resort Koh Samui
Como Resort Koh Samui
#146 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dream Field Resort
Dream Field Resort
#5 of 213 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Green Canyon Hip & Cheap Resort
0.6 mi away
Samui Backpacker Hotel
Samui Backpacker Hotel
#24 of 213 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Relax Hotel Samui
Relax Hotel Samui
#25 of 151 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Lounge

Property: Buddha Lounge
Address: 77/20, Moo 4, Boonma Road | Soi Sumkorkawe, Bang Rak, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Buddha Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddha Lounge Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing