We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddha Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buddha Lounge
Ranked #38 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been backpacking in Thailand twice now and, if I return again, I won't go back to The Lounge. Firstly, the website suggested it was very well located - I disagree with this entirely.

I was travelling with a friend and we had booked this hostel quite far in advance as we were planning on staying over Full Moon. We arrived after a 12 1/2 hour journey from Phuket, staff were very slow to respond to us, it took over half an hour for us to get checked in. Even though we had booked together, we were told we would not be able to be in the same room which we were very unimpressed with.

After finally checking in we were absolutely starving, we were recommended a small local restaurant. We followed the advice and went there, both ordering a vegetable green curry (which you would think is a safe bet). That night I was up vomiting for hours, which caused me to get severely dehydrated, and with a very unstable temperature. My friend was also up and very ill all night. In the morning we were both so unwell we had to go to hospital. We were both diagnosed with bad food poisoning and ended up with over £100 hospital bills. We understand this was not the hostels fault, however it made the already unpleasant stay even worse.

The bedrooms and communal spaces were clean, however the bathrooms were pretty grim. The showers were broken, not very powerful, not warm and very smelly; I think there must be problems with the drains.

The hostel provides a complimentary breakfast, however we did not eat anything as flies were crawling all over it - not nice at all!

We also used the hostels transfer service to the Full Moon party - it was an absolute joke, do not use it, it took us over 3 hours to get there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just A short walk from the pier is this little hidden gem of a hostel. As soon as you walk in you are overwhelmed by a welcoming family of Thais and travellers. Fairly clean spacious rooms always available. Aircon and hot water included are always are win. Take advantage of the kitchen fascilities and free breakfast. We took toast and coffee to the next level went to 7/11 and cooked up the hostel bacon and eggs after a big group night out. Amazing. And robs bar. It will be your local. Food is great. It is a little far from chaweng but was easy enough for all of us to continuously have great nights out. And then. There's the lounge in the lounge. Big comfy lounges and a TV. Some nights need it. And just a short stroll to a beautiful beach.
Fantastic hostel. Amazing staff. I'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chayelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff are the best thing about this hostel, they were very friendly and went out of their way to help you, we arrived after breakfast but Joy made the effort of getting us some. Stayed in a private room, which was really nice and clean, nothing at all to complain about. I stayed with a friend and we wanted to go to Chewang for the night but it was too expensive as there was not enough people which was very disappointing, so if you want to be where the parties are, not an ideal location. However the staff did try to get a group together, so not their fault!

Room Tip: Go for a dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elloisef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Lounge is a unique hostel and one of the best places I have stayed. It has the vibe of university halls with the facilities and comfort of a block of apartments. The building is spacious and clean with rooms ranging from standard dorm style (male & female) to private apartments. The reception area (always full of staff) has a PC to use for free and drinks for sale along with plenty of other information you may need. There are plenty of amenities near by including a 7-11, street food ROBS BAR to name a few. Also there is a really nice quiet beach that no tourists seem to know about about 5 minute walk from the 7-11. You can also hire out bikes for B300 a day which were good value.
The staff are amazing; they will help with anything you need and the whole place has such a nice family vibe. From the minute you check in you feel welcome and PJoy's communal meals are AMAZING and a great way to meet people. She will also do cooking lessons with you for a very reasonable fee. There are plenty of other chances to meet other people and hang out with a nice lounge with cable, flatscreen tv and dvds etc. They also have a kitchen and separate dining room where breakfast is put on for free every morning.
The rooms are very clean and bathrooms nice (I think the whole building is very new) and free WIFI is provided everywhere which always worked well. Some people struggle to get there as it is slightly off a side road but don't let this stop you as it is worth the extra 5 minutes finding it!

The best way to find this place is to head down the main road past Hat Bophut & Hat Bangrak (the road that passes the Big Buddha - the 4171) and turn down the road just after the Austin Powers Bar (there is a 7-11 on the corner and it heads away from the sea) untill you find 'Robs Bar' you will see a sign for the lounge so you just follow this down the road and take another left to get there!
Also, I have copied the exact co-ordinates from google maps for anyone using a smartphone it might be easier - +9° 33' 14.15", +100° 3' 2.52"
https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=215989392663158610551.0004e3a3be4b94016086b&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=19&vpsrc=1&iwloc=0004e3a3be4f1aff26e4e

Enjoy your time at The Lounge!

Thanks for the awesome stay guys :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hostel itself is clean and pleasant with a good atmosphere. The staff all speak good English and are incredibly helpful in meeting your needs. Only issue was the bed mattress appeared to be polystyrene. I would have had just as comfortable night sleep on the floor, a shame that such a small thing let down an otherwise great hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Awesome place to stay! Made so many good friends here. Staff are mainly English or speak it very well. Joy the manager is an amazing cook. Try one of her communal meals, great way to meet other guests. Only 10 mins from chewang and the lounge provide a cheap taxi. Heaps of excursions to book and fairly cheap. Rooms are cleaned daily. Definitely worth a visit. Couldn't recommend it high enough. And try Rob's Bar for an amazing feed! Also swimming pool coming soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Silverback_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Location: Not every easy to find from the main road. But once you do the the road from the main road, then follow the yellow signage to the place
Customer service: It was good and helpful
Beds: Slept in the mix dorm, the bed was comfortable. Better than the one at home.
Cleanness: Very clean place
Bathrooms: Each dorm had its own bathroom. But, with 6 beds with 1 bathroom, then it is a queue. No Hooks to hang your towel or cloths.
Extras: The lounge room has cable TV and it is huge. There is only one computer to share and it was not working while I was there.
Noisy: very little, so you can sleep. But the cleaners do make noise in the morning... early.

Room Tip: Heaps of mosquitos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.7 mi away
Green Canyon Hip & Cheap Resort
0.5 mi away
Samui Backpacker Hotel
Samui Backpacker Hotel
#26 of 214 in Bophut
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Us Hostel
Us Hostel
#11 of 214 in Bophut
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Samui
The Nest Samui
#2 of 214 in Bophut
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Lounge

Property: Buddha Lounge
Address: 77/20, Moo 4, Boonma Road | Soi Sumkorkawe, Bang Rak, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha Lounge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buddha Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddha Lounge Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing