We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great vegetarian in Ko Samui!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amala - CLOSED

Amala
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Italian, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian in Ko Samui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Finding vegetarian food in Samui was a challenge compared to Chiang Mai and Bangkok.
Amala is wonderful! The menu is quite expansive and everything we got was very food. I would say that we enjoyed the Thai food better than the Western food here overall. The curry that we had was out of this world and the tempura was made perfectly.
Well worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am a vegeterian and their thai and mexican food was the best. we were staying very far from this hotel (Prana Beach Villas) but still went there twice for dinner as the food was just too good. A must go for vegetarians. Best thai food i have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SRJGadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food, beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband picked Amala for a night out in Samui as I'm vegetarian. The restaurant itself is beautiful - not cluttered, beautiful views, and the herb garden is a nice touch. The food was fantastic and SO fresh. I had one of the best Panang curries I've ever had. We were also pleasantly surprised with our final bill - talk about value for money! Unfortunately we were the only 2 in the restaurant. This restaurant definitely deserves more customers than that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaisieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Food,Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a great time at Amala. The evening was brilliant with slight drizzle, and we sat by the beach. The food was awesome. We had mexican starters and Italian and Thai for Main Course and every thing was delectable! Slightly out of the way from Main Town Chaweang - but it was well worth the visit as we were already in the neighborhood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suchit1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dinner (almost) on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good vegetarian food and very friendly staff. All the food was very good, the cocktails were all delicious (we had 3), there was not a single thing wrong during our dinner. They served exactly in the pace we asked for and called our cab when we wanted to leave. Excellent restaurant. I hope they get more customers, because during our dinner only 3 tables were taken and they certainly deserve more than that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurits v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing