We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondering why” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jasmine Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Jasmine Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $8 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wondering why”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am wondering why it is so overrated. Thai food was excellent upon my Thai Girlfriend (And she is really hard on Thai food comments). I had Pasta and it was ok but for the price paid not ok. Decor is fade and really basic. Only one staff speak English or Thai, no uniform and no dress code for the waiter so all in jeans and T-shirt. All sitting down and have to waive to get anything and even get the bill. Will go back again on night time since we were there in the afternoon and to eat only Thai food this time to see if the owner presence will change something.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatPilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasminerestaurant, Owner at Jasmine Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dont know what 2 make from this review you like the thai food you like the pasta you dont like the price of the pasta when i buy french bread from the french bakery i know im going 2 pay more than i would for thai bread the pasta we use is not chinese its italian the sauce is from italy im happy you say that you would come back our place is not fine dining its just good food thanks for your honest review hope 2 see you in jasmine soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Thai food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I read about Jasmine Restaurant on Tripadvisor and, although we were staying in a resort quite far from it, we thought we’d give it a try. Put simply, both the food and service were absolutely faultless and superb. The authentic and very reasonably priced Thai food was delivered with very warm service and conversation by the owners Jack and Anna. We so enjoyed our experience that we ate there on another 2 occasions. It is very rare for us to visit a restaurant twice (as we like trying different places) let alone 3 times so it says a lot about Jack, Anna and their restaurant. We will surely revisit them when next in Koh Samui. You should too – you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbJEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasminerestaurant, Owner at Jasmine Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and thanks for taking the time to give jasmine restaurant a good review .We do try our best to make our customers happy and we work a lot 2 get the food right Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I will keep this short as frankly there is not much to say that has not already been said in the numerous positive reviews below. However, to reiterate, the food and service is fantastic and having talked with Jack (the owner and as a bit if an amateur chef) I can appreciate the extra mile they go to get the ingredients right for things such as the right type of flour (which is not easily sourced locally) for his pizza bases.

But they really do the extra yard that many other places don't. The food is fantastic and well cooked, the staff are friendly and the owner Jack and his wife are more welcoming than any other place I've been on this island. It is a little off the main part of the island in Bophut however, I have no doubt if this place was in central Chaweng would be one of the busiest places on island. It is however definitely worth a visit if passing by. I myself have been staying at the Ibis which is fairly close as such have eaten there on several occasions and ave never been dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fusion at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Simply we walked a long way thanks to trip advisor, my wife was getting poorly feet.......the green curry pizza and garlic bread more than made up for it and saved my ears from a bashing.. Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickyboyiswhu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top class every thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Top class food, burgers to die for, stake is fantastic, Thai food as you would expect is spectacular.
Very friendly staff and Jack the manager goes out of his way to make sure you will have a good experience. I can't see why any one could complain about the food.
Can't wait to try it again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lozzerento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing