We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance”

Smile House Restaurant
Ranked #359 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Wales
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We wanted to eat somewhere in Fishermans Village and from the outside Smile House looks great and seems to have a good selection of food to try. Unfortunately we had fallen for style over substance and all the food we had was not up to the standard of other places we ate. Even the Thai food we had was not great - the fishcakes seemed to be made of rubber. Plenty of other eatery options are available and we paid a lot less for a lot better in those!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    201
    181
    144
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service-wonnderful views”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent several nights dining here in both the indoor restaurant and also the beach area tables.
Food was delicious and plentiful - Tried the Penang Curry and the Barracuda which were exceptional.
The pizzas offered were cooked in the little Pizza oven/takeway accross the road and were suprisingly good.
The service was attentive and they were full of smiles and chatter. I have since read a few negative reviews on here, but I can only praise the staff, service and food.
Tables on the beach offer a welcome sea-breeze and you can watch the comings and goings of the various vendors and lanterns being released.
Prices a little more we normally pay (prefer the street food) but totally worth the extra.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic beachside Dining”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Located in the Fishermans village Koh Samui this restaurant has Great food, excellent service a romantic setting AND very affortable :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay well away.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Oh how looks can be deceiving. This place looks fantastic with a prime location on the beach and both indoor and outdoor dining. The menu looks decent with both Thai and Western foods but sadly this is where the good ends.
The staff are utterly disinterested and asking to order brings a sigh and roll of the eyes. It could be forgiven were the food great but nothing could be further from the truth. The curries were sloppy and watery when meant to be dry and a steak was served stone cold. We sent it back to much complaint that it was cooked fine, after sending it back twice more it came back charred as opposed to the medium requested. When we complained we were told it was us who didn't know about cooking as they knew all was perfect.
We paid and left. The place is a tourist trap and the food is dire. There is so much choice on that strip that literally anything is better. Swerve this place and happy eating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent service , food .. and beach setting if you want it
Great background music from live band . All the restaurants are great starting from coco tams side

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dbeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Smile House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing