We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, bland food”

Smile House Restaurant
Ranked #362 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice view, bland food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had a couple of meals here because it was convenient to our hotel, but it really was very disappointing Thai food. The blandest, most tasteless that I've ever had. Probably a great option for kids who don't like spice or flavor - but otherwise avoid!

The location right on the beach is lovely, but that's about all this place has going for it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GobblerMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    198
    175
    142
    132
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
rainham essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Looked very nice as it was in the open air, but unfortunately the food did not come up to expectations. I had phad thai and it came up cold and tasted as if it had been cooked for ages.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank asiaman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Not sure why all of the reviews here are so bad?? Our meals were all lovely. We had a group of about 30 and all meals were on time and really good! I would definitely go back. And didn't get sick- that is a bonus right?! ;)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maree801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Came here by mistake. Discussing ! ”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Avoid this place with food incredibly discussing Not cooked well or spicy to cover the taste .
These people don t care about you and will smile only because they don't understand you at all !! Go eat next door at shades ! Much better quality And service
Good luck

Helpful?
Thank THENAPOLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing fresh fish”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant is a beautiful setting...outdoors on patio and right on beach with twinkling lights in trees. Lots of staff to attend to you. We chose our own fresh piece of white snapper ...a new fish we have experiencedin Thailand that we have loved... And some giant tiger prawns. The cooks ( not chefs) left them on the grill so long the fish was dry as shoe leather and we could barely pull the shrimp out of their shells they were so dried out from overcooking. YUK!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvhawaii-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile House Restaurant also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Smile House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing