We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Koh Samui's hidden Gem - The Emerald Condotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Emerald Condotel
Ranked #50 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Koh Samui's hidden Gem - The Emerald Condotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hidden - yes - but certainly worth looking for! The Emerald is an unusual collection of privately-owned studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, some fully occupied by owners, some partly- occupied and some just investments. Anything vacant is managed hotel-style by a wonderful staff who all speak English and work tirelessly keeping the whole place pristine - right down to swooping on leaves and flowers the moment they fall to daily polishing all the stainless steel fitments around the central pool .

The rooms are spacious, quiet - all facing the central pool/outdoor restaurant area, complimented by a simple bar and kitchen.

The eclectic mixture of owners and guest makes for an immediately friendly and welcoming atmosphere. I enjoyed an impromptu BBQ last night with the condotel "family" - a mixture of local Thai, British, American and Aussies. a 10-minute meeting earlier settled on the menu and the staff immediately set to purchasing and preparing a banquet.

After many, many stays in a hotel full of strangers this was a breath of fresh air. Local knowledge was accurate and plentiful - as were the stories about the dinner guests - in all - fantastic.

Far from anywhere? - No. Scooter or car hire is just down the road, cheap as chips on Samui and pretty essential if you want to get a lot out of your stay on the island. No need to be frightened of driving or riding on the Island - just take a tip from the locals - drive slowly, be prepared to give way to others - they will give way to you and everything happens smoothly.

Nearby fresh food and seafood markets abound and the apartments offer neat, small kitchens with a full-size fridge. I have opted to put my culinary skills to use here rather than go out to the endless number of eateries that abound on Samui..

Give this one serious thought if you are thinking about a trip to beautiful Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Oh! -- did I mention the excellent gym? - yep - they have one of those too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
18
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Samui Emerald hotel is a lovely hotel, rooms are very spacious and very clean. The location of the hotel however is too far away from anything! Taxi drivers didn't even seem to know where it was and the taxis to and from chaweng were just too expensive. If you are looking for somewhere quiet to relax by the pool this place would be perfect however if you are looking for some activities and things to do you would be better off staying closer to one of the towns in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything in this hotel is just great. This is a beautiful, quiet and cozy place. Rooms are modern, spacious and very clean. The staff was extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant was delicious and very reasonably priced. Will definitely stay here if we visit Samui again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have easy access to the pool, but there may be some noise from it during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very nice room and the pool is nice as well I just felt that for the cost of the room (over 2000 baht a night) the location was very poor. You need to rent a bike to do anything which is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lfcynwalfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at Samui Emerald back in February in a studio room, the size of the room was great, open plan bedroom livingroom/kitchen, with private balcony overlooking the gorgeous swimming pool and gardens, the room had everything from CableTV/DVD free WiFi, to all cooking utensils & crcokery/glasses, the room was immaculate and looked brand new, the gym is an added bonus and the tasty food & snacks served all day by the poolside resturant are cheap and delicious. The staff went out of there way to make you feel at home and were very helpful in helping you book car/motorbike rental & any excursions that you fancied. The situation of samui emerald is within walking distance to Plai Laem beach and also Big buddha & wat Plai Laem, and 5 minutes max to Choeng Mon & Bangrak beaches, paradise near your door step, without doubt the next time I return to Samui, this will be by base from which to explore & have a great holiday

Regards Scott

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance look down on to the pool & gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent a full month at Emerald Condos in Jan this year and am full of praise for it. The rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable, bright and in great condition. The staff were absolutely brilliant, food was excellent and cheap, gym was ideal, location was generally quiet, large load washing machine was a boon and gardens and pool were very well maintained. For the price I paid, it was fantastic value for money.

Yes, there were the odd niggles that the first reviewer mentions - only 6 sunbeds, electricity goes off during every heavy rainstorm (which knocks out the water too!) and the TV channels are pointless. But these are minor and certainly didn't affect the overall impression.

However, the reason that I can only give 4 stars is because of the newest scourge of the holidaymaker - the Russian guests. At one point, I was actually the only non Russian on property. I have always maintained that one shouldn't generalise about a race as there are good and bad at every resort. I mean many of the Brits abroad don't cover themselves in glory! However, the guests all seemed to revert to type with a total lack of consideration for others, screaming kids from dawn till late at night who were never reprimanded, chain smokers which meant my room stank if I opened the sliding doors, very late night parties with the obligatory shouting matches and of course the constant miserable faces.

I know it's unfair making a judgement based on something the property has no control over but they did have a negative impact on my stay. A friend also stayed there in Feb and reported the exact same experience so I know it's not a one off situation. Such a pity!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This excellent accommodation for the people, who would like to cook food by themselves, as every room has kitchen

The place is located near the good beaches. It has swimming pool with very nice stuff there, that speaks English very good. This place is full of Russian guests, so you should be prepared for that. Everything is new and in excellent conditions. I was thinking that i am staying in 4 star hotel for the price of good 2 star place.

I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is several rooms on the Ground floor. You can access swimming pool from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#75 of 319 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
B1 Organic Suites
B1 Organic Suites
#179 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Emerald Condotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Emerald Condotel

Property: Samui Emerald Condotel
Address: 69/56-100 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Emerald Condotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Emerald Condotel is located in Bo Phut, just 5 minutes’ drive from Samui Airport. Offering modern, well-appointed studios, it features an outdoor pool, a fitness centre, and free Wi-Fi.The air-conditioned studios have a large seating area with a flat-screen TV. Each studio has a safety deposit box, a microwave, and tea/coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom offers a hairdryer and shower.5-minute drive from the Big Buddha, and a 10-minute drive from Fisherman Village.Facilities include a 24-hour front desk and a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Emerald Condotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Emerald Condotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing