We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience!”

9Gems Lounge & Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Among all Samui restaurants, 9gems was one of the best surprise! First, 9gems isa little bit off the beaten tracks and offers a stunning view of the island. Then the staff was incredibly kind and pro.
In terms of food experience, we have been delighted from beginning until the end! The wine list was also quite impressive. Prices are high, but worth every penny. Their macarons are the best i have ever had since a while... even the famous la duree is not that good..
really looking forward to being there again!
tschüss...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolasRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind words, we are happy that you have had a good time at 9gems.

Look forward to serving you again.

Warmst regards

Sathit and 9gems team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All STYLE BUT NO SUBSTANCE”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We found this (highly rated) restaurant to be extremely unprofessional relative to its food e.g. the Tom Yung Goong soup was basically packaged chicken stock with tinned mushrooms and a touch of chilli and some sliced tomatoes. The two curries: Penang Curry with beef and the Red Duck curry - no subtlety in the flavours - stringy tough beef and over-cooked duck. The grilled tuna was reasonable as was the gnocchi - for which the chef is apparently renowned. Extremely expensive drinks - over priced glass of Prosecco (540 baht per half filled glass!). Then to cap it all - a 10% sur charge on top of the 7% VAT.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiccardoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Geschäftsführer at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, I understand your feeling, that you are expected that you will eat Tom yam soup, with all herbal such as lemon grass etc in the soup, which we do not put that inside, we just cook all chili, lemon grass, etc first and get just the soup and cook it with prawn. You ate it all after you complained to our staff, you have had a choice to send it back and asking to make the way that you eat Tomyam soup in the normal Thai restaurant. I have checked with my staff if you were satisfy and ate all the food and checking all your plates after eating. You are right you didn't like duck curry much you just left 2-3 pieces of duck in your bowl, the rest of your meal you ate them all.

As you can see that, 9gems has been built with high quality product used all most of famous designer furniture such as Philip Stark, best sound system of bose etc, and high quality of the food products. We have shown all prices of food and drinks in our website, we have to apologize if the price is to high for you.

We still hope that we can make it better and serving you again.

Thank you and best regards

Sathit Muangprom

Owner and Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Dining Experience!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We cannot recommend 9Gems highly enough, and are so glad we discovered it while in Koh Samui. It was our last night so we wanted to splurge... The place is hard to find, and our taxi driver took a couple of wrong turns, but when you get to the restaurant it's absolutely worth the trouble! The view over Chaweng beach is amazing, and the restaurant furnishings are so tasteful - modern and funky and colourful. The hostess was lovely, and so attentive and friendly, and she told us how the owner, who has spent time cooking overseas as well, has created his dream venue here on the hill, with the great lounge bar, amazing restaurant and soon-to-be accommodation as well.

9Gems has a comprehensive wine and cocktail list with some well known favourites from home (Aus) as well as expertly picked wines from elsewhere, with helpful and accurate descriptions.

And as for the food - WOW! There are complementary courses galore, and everything is crafted by someone who can expertly match flavours and textures, and create a piece of art on every dish. The tuna tartare was just brilliant, and the fillet with chocolate red wine sauce is also a must-try! Everything just looks and tastes so vibrant, and like so much love and pride has gone into it.

After dinner, we were escorted upstairs to the open air bar, where we ordered lovely cocktails and were then left to ourselves in the most romantic and lovely setting.

As we sat in that gorgeous restaurant, looking out over the lights of Koh Samui, with the impeccable service and food, we tried to think of a dining experience we'd ever had that was better than this. We couldn't - not in Sydney, not in the rest of Australia, not anywhere else we've traveled. You must dine at 9Gems if you're ever in Koh Samui!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Inhaber at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your kind words and your appreciation at 9gems, we always try to make all our guests happy as much as we can, and your very positive comments, it more like positive energy, that you give to us to make it must better.

We very look forward to serving you for next Samui visit.

Kind regards

Sathit Muangprom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an amazing restaurant!”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place was found in some brochures and also we read the reviews on here, I cannot say how lovely the food was, staff, location and ambience of the restaurant. We had a 3 course meal but in between were 3 more courses which were complimentary. Try the chocolate Souffle for dessert with ginger ice cream..... too die for!
Getting to the place is off the beaten track, but do not be fooled by this as when you are there, you are very high up and have a great view of Koh Samui. This will definitely be the most costly eating establishment for our 2 week stay here. Well recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your visit and your appreciation in 9Gems and your comment, we try to do the best to make our guest happy as much as we can.


Look forward to serving you again for your Samui next visit

Warmst regards

Sathit Muangprom

Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with Flair!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have been to 9 Gems on three separate occasions within the last year, and every time Kun Sathit and his wonderful team surpass my expectations. The food is fantastic! Not only is it fantastic, but it is beautifully presented. You can see that a lot of care and attention has gone into each plate and the result is both breath-taking and delicious. A lot of restaurants on Samui allude that they are fine dining, however not many of them can truly pull it off. 9 Gems is one of the few that does.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Sarahewi

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment, I am always happy to see you and your whole family happy when you were at 9gems, and will try do make it better to make you happy.


Thank you and best regards

Sathit Muangprom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing