We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dining Experience!!!”

9Gems Lounge & Restaurant
Ranked #174 of 465 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We cannot recommend 9Gems highly enough, and are so glad we discovered it while in Koh Samui. It was our last night so we wanted to splurge... The place is hard to find, and our taxi driver took a couple of wrong turns, but when you get to the restaurant it's absolutely worth the trouble! The view over Chaweng beach is amazing, and the restaurant furnishings are so tasteful - modern and funky and colourful. The hostess was lovely, and so attentive and friendly, and she told us how the owner, who has spent time cooking overseas as well, has created his dream venue here on the hill, with the great lounge bar, amazing restaurant and soon-to-be accommodation as well.

9Gems has a comprehensive wine and cocktail list with some well known favourites from home (Aus) as well as expertly picked wines from elsewhere, with helpful and accurate descriptions.

And as for the food - WOW! There are complementary courses galore, and everything is crafted by someone who can expertly match flavours and textures, and create a piece of art on every dish. The tuna tartare was just brilliant, and the fillet with chocolate red wine sauce is also a must-try! Everything just looks and tastes so vibrant, and like so much love and pride has gone into it.

After dinner, we were escorted upstairs to the open air bar, where we ordered lovely cocktails and were then left to ourselves in the most romantic and lovely setting.

As we sat in that gorgeous restaurant, looking out over the lights of Koh Samui, with the impeccable service and food, we tried to think of a dining experience we'd ever had that was better than this. We couldn't - not in Sydney, not in the rest of Australia, not anywhere else we've traveled. You must dine at 9Gems if you're ever in Koh Samui!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gillianod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Inhaber at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your kind words and your appreciation at 9gems, we always try to make all our guests happy as much as we can, and your very positive comments, it more like positive energy, that you give to us to make it must better.

We very look forward to serving you for next Samui visit.

Kind regards

Sathit Muangprom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

This place was found in some brochures and also we read the reviews on here, I cannot say how lovely the food was, staff, location and ambience of the restaurant. We had a 3 course meal but in between were 3 more courses which were complimentary. Try the chocolate Souffle for dessert with ginger ice cream..... too die for!
Getting to the place is off the beaten track, but do not be fooled by this as when you are there, you are very high up and have a great view of Koh Samui. This will definitely be the most costly eating establishment for our 2 week stay here. Well recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank camis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your visit and your appreciation in 9Gems and your comment, we try to do the best to make our guest happy as much as we can.


Look forward to serving you again for your Samui next visit

Warmst regards

Sathit Muangprom

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have been to 9 Gems on three separate occasions within the last year, and every time Kun Sathit and his wonderful team surpass my expectations. The food is fantastic! Not only is it fantastic, but it is beautifully presented. You can see that a lot of care and attention has gone into each plate and the result is both breath-taking and delicious. A lot of restaurants on Samui allude that they are fine dining, however not many of them can truly pull it off. 9 Gems is one of the few that does.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Sarahewi

Thank you very much for your visit and your comment, I am always happy to see you and your whole family happy when you were at 9gems, and will try do make it better to make you happy.


Thank you and best regards

Sathit Muangprom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We went to Thailand for two weeks in December and visited the 9 gems twice! The second was my birthday and the last night of our holiday! The setting is absolutely stunning set uopand looking out over the lake its like a set from a film! The food is outstanding and the staff attentive. We were made to feel like royalty. From the moment you arrive and walk up the glass staircase you know this is a truly uniquie experience! The wording on the menu states rare gems never lose their sparkle and this is true of the restaurant the second time we went was even better than the first. They sang Happy Birthday and we danced to Frank Sinatra on the top terrace The memories of that night will be etched in my memory forever! The 9 gems is a truly special place and is a must if you visit this island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SathitMuangprom, Owner at 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Thank You very for your visit, we are very happy that you really enjoyed the time at 9Gems
Sathit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Last night in Koh Samui and wanting something special. 9Gems certainly lived up to this. The staff and their service were flawless, escorting us upstairs for some cocktails overlooking the island's north coast. We then sat down to what truly was a wonderful dining experience. Being the only diners did create a slightly awkward atmosphere, but the table staff were attentive, professional and friendly without being overbearing (apparently the restaurant hasn't been running at capacity - this we cannot understand).

The duck salad entree was the best duck we have ever tasted; and the 'crying tiger' steak entree was cooked better than most steakhouses in Australia would.

Crispy chicken curry and crab risotto were for mains - both outstanding.

What sets 9Gems apart is its clear efforts to create a unique experience. The presentation and plating of food was exquisite - and not just a 'form over function' attempt at food design, but an insightful way to enrich the whole occasion.

Pricy by Thai standards, but why not treat yourself to something special rather than the same old hole in the wall Thai curry house? This place should be absolutely tearing at the seams with diners - if you want a memorable experience while on Samui book yourself a table soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussieleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to 9Gems Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing