We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time”
Review of Red Moon

Red Moon
Ranked #12 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Marseille, France
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good time”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We decided on this place after seeing it fairly well rated. We were not disappointed, and went back the next night as well! Good food, very nice owner, attentive service and even the karaoke evening was much fun. A bit off the beaten path of the fisherman's village, so quieter which was appreciated. I would recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SquidJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    184
    51
    31
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Should have kept walking”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Food was fine.nothing special but the waitress forgot one of our starters!
Service was slow,the spring rolls were practically empty!
Perhaps that was how they were supposed to be but having eaten thousands over the years these certainly were Spartan.I had the tuna which was fine and my wife had Thai food which she tells me was OK.
paid bill and when the change returned for me to extract a small tip it was wrong,but due to the bill then disappearing I had no easy way of double checking!
It was our first time in walking street and certainly not our last,we just needed to walk a little further to find a better restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guygolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing beef fillet”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Coming to the reastaurant twice during our stay we had both times the beef fillet which was cooked to perfection. The owner is a lively french man who has a passion for food that shows. We recommned trying this place out. Singer was amazing on the friday we visited during market.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank grantharrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food excellent service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I first came to this restaurant last year with my family, after the amazing food and the quality of service it is now a firm favorite and we visit often.
Gao the owner and his lovely girlfriend kitty are always happy to please, if its not on the menu they will always make what you ask for. The food is of amazing quality, always ask for what Gao recommends as dish of the day and you will not be disapointed.
I cannot understand why rafabean had such bad service...we have never experienced this...are you sure you were at red moon in fishermans village??

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolloffski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Welcoming host and value for money”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Let's face it - something has to grab your attention and the genial Frenchman did. ! ! ! The selection was plentiful but we decided on the Australian fillet steak. The food was well presented and whilst the portions weren't large, (i.e. 3 small pieces rather than 1 larger piece of meat) the quality was very good. The steaks were supported by 3 tasty sauces and came with either french fries or mash, with a portion of salad. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the chat we had with the owner. The restaurant is situated at the quieter end of Fisherman's Village but well worth the visit. Bon appetit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beedubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Moon also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Red Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing