We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Red Moon

Red Moon
Ranked #12 of 447 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The French owner was very friendly and lovely, and obviously very proud of his restaurant and staff. He showed us a very extensive menu and also pictures on his ipad. The service and food was excellent, we were there on a Friday whilst the market was on, so the atmosphere was great. We were in Thailand for three weeks and this was by far the best and most memorable meal of all. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    185
    52
    34
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and nice owner”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant as the french owner convinced my boyfriend who is french as well with some food pictures which he showed him on his tab to try his "cuisine". The burger I have eaten was fine but nothing special and the thai food of my boyfrind was also nice but without an exceptional taste. The dessert - fried ice - was good and the service also nice. In short: I can recommend this place but you should not expect "Haute cuisine"

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelanieLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Poor service, cheap drinks”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We popped into Red Moon during the Friday night market. It was pretty busy and looked like a good stop.


We sat at the bar then spent the next 20 minutes trying to get service. Both from people at the bar and passing staff all who either ignored us or said they would be right with us but never came back.

Eventually we managed to get a beer and a vodka and sat back to watch. There was a group of 4 Americans in who were clearly pretty drunk and noisy. We watched while the owner tried to convince them to eat what he would like them to eat from his iPad pictures. The staff clearly were not happy with the boisterous table and it was leading to a sour atmosphere. After again chasing up the staff to pay we drank up and left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, ask for specials not on the card”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We were in the Red Moon on Friday Night, when the whole street is one big shopping and eating mile. Sitting on the terrace we had a nice overlook on the crowd walking by.
The menu on the card looked ok. The owner, a French guy from Nice, offered then his "Specials" on the ipad. We had salmon and red thuna. It was delicious! More expensive than the menus on the card (550 BHT), but worth while the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KRB723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst food in Thailand!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night and ordered the beef massamun curry. Also had a chicken stir fry dish. The massamun was awful! We had one spoonful each then left it. The waiter asked why and we said it wasn't good. He apologised but never took it off the bill. The chicken dish was passable but this place is terrible. There are many other restaurants around so I advise to try them.

Helpful?
3 Thank Rafabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Moon also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Red Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing