We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boardroom Beach Bungalows
Ranked #36 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Affordable bungalows”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, right next to one of the nicest and quietest beaches on the island. Bungalows are basic, but they're clean and have a fridge, hot shower and air con. The hosts were lovely and always willing to help. Only downside was that we found was that it was often difficult to find either host as the reception wasn't often open. Also, they need to change the advertisement on websites, stating there's cable TV (which there isn't!) and a free BBQ on Sunday's (which didn't happen!). Didn't bother us, but could be misleading for other. But otherwise, definitely good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
30
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Clean comfortable basic accomodation with 5* service. Chris our Ozzie host reguarly said 'no worries' and really ment it nothing was too much trouble, he provided us with a top sheet when asked, even apologising that it didn't match (haha).
We had the bungalow nearest the beach and had no problems with noise.
Our hosts pointed us to some lovely restaurants but we always ended up in the boardroom chillout bar for a nightcap after where Chris introduced usn and we were made to feel like locals.
We have stayed in top class hotels in different places but have never had better care or been made to feel more welcome.
Apple was a star, arranging our travel off the island or we may still be there (which may not have been a bad thing)
First time I have felt sad to leave a hotel.

Room Tip: Our room nearest the beach was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tanya w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

A simply awesome place to stay on Samui. For the price we couldn't believe the standard of room - big (for a 'bungalow') with a large deck out the front which is genuinely nice to sit out on with a book to relax. Big fridge, air con, ensuite bathroom and the owners as mentioned in lots of reviews are welcoming, super friendly and great for a couple beers in their bar across the road. Met some characters in there a few times! Couple of great and cheap places to eat nearby, a 7-11, a night market and fishing village and moto rentals too.

Love Samui and love this place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbaggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For what you pay, the bungalow is pretty good and much better than far more expensive rooms I have payed for!
Owners are welcoming and chilled out, bungalows all have a nice deck area with quite a few plants around for a bit of privacy. Beach is very nice and calm though has quite a lot of private villas so eating / drinking options on the beach a bit limited. On the upside of this beach has a quiet vibe which makes a change.
Location is close to piers for ferries which is useful.
Only downside for me was music noise coming from bars across the road as am a light sleeper which kept me awake. As did the security guard deciding to water the plants in the middle of the night one night!, that aside would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Nearer the beach to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I cant believe what amazing reviews The Boardroom got on this site, thats one of the main reasons I chose to stay there. Room was clean, but has no furniture, (poor) bed and (nice) fridge, thats it, no table, no cupboard, no chair, did not look like pictures on site. Lots of street noise, only real sitting area is tiny deck with no view or privacy. Checked out early, could not bare the thought of spending another night in such a dull environment.
I have stayed in many bungalows in Thailand and Asia, I was not expecting the Hilton Hotel, but this was poor value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Big_Red_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A perfect oasis on the beach. The owners are very helpful and go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are simple and clean with A/C - but have a serious cute factor with little decks where you can relax and chill the day away. The beach is not crowded at all and its close to lots of shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurferinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

With an idyllic golden and almost deserted beach just 50 yards from our bungalow, we loved our five-night stay here.

The Australian-Thai couple who run this place were the perfect hosts and always stopped to chat with us. They provided some great recommendations for places to eat, and pointed us in the direction of a very good travel agency to book tours.

The couple, who have a playful young son, are around all the time during the day and there is a guard at night, so security was not a concern at all.

There are five wooden bungalows on this beach plot in total. They are basic but affordable (by Kho Samui standards). Ours consisted of a large double bed, wooden floor and a spacious fridge which was great for cooling drinks for the beach. The wetroom bathroom wasn't brilliant, but we have definitely seen far worse. The place was clean, and our towels were changed for us several times during our stay.

There was a lovely patio outside the bungalow which was great to sit out on and sip a beer in the evenings.

The bungalows are on Bangrak Beach. Although there are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, it is a reasonably remote area of the island. If you're on Koh Samui to party and want McDonalds on your doorstep, this definitely is not for you. Try Chaweng a few kilometres up the road.

It's a great location for couples - but probably not your thing if you ate travelling as part of a large group. 

Sadly Koh Samui has been the victim of rampant overdevelopment in recent years and is not the deserted island it once was. But on the quiet beach here you do at least feel like you're still on a quiet island. 

For couples who don't want to pay top dollar for luxury accommodation, these bungalows are perfect. We had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#94 of 187 in Bophut
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siam Shades House
Siam Shades House
#95 of 151 in Bophut
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 151 in Bophut
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samui Diving Resort
Samui Diving Resort
#3 of 151 in Bophut
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Beach Bungalows
Eden Beach Bungalows
#8 of 218 in Bophut
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cactus Bungalow
Cactus Bungalow
#10 of 151 in Bophut
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boardroom Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boardroom Beach Bungalows

Property: The Boardroom Beach Bungalows
Address: 21/1 Moo 4, Bangrak | Big Buddha Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Boardroom Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boardroom Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boardroom Beach Bungalows Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing