We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshingly Unique - One of a Kind”
Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
Ranked #5 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Unique - One of a Kind”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

From a recommendation stopped in at this unique looking spot. Received a warm greeting upon arrival. Chef/ owner involved in the experience and the food making it very personal and detailed. Unique decor, creative and delicious unique offerings - an eccentric fun time. It seems there is wine available but not offered, as well there is dessert but had to request menu. Otherwise, the rest is obvious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    310
    66
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I want to go back :)”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Lovely service and food. I recommend the papaya salad,it´s prepared in a unique way. :)
It is true that many dishes contain deep fried items, but it tastes very good( i saw some people were complaining in a review).
You have to try this cozy place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MordSith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service ”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This was mine and my partners fourth visit to Thailand and of all the different restaurants in all the different regions we've been too this is our favourite. The menu has all the traditional thai flavours but with a modern twist. Our favourite was definitely the chicken green curry pie. As we were staying across the road at the Hansar, we came in everyday of our visit (sometimes twice in one day) as no other restaurant in Bophut compared. The owner Vivian is simply wonderful. He made sure everything was perfect and ensured that we and every other diner was enjoying their meal. I cannot recommend cafe 69 enough. The whole dining experience was fabulous and we can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Alexpetrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant for something different”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Cafe 69 is a definite stop when you head to Bophut. Although it's off the main fisherman's village street it's definitely one to seek out. Valerie puts on some fantastic specials and the service is great - not always the case on Samui. I had a meal there with 15 others when my family came to visit and they were amazing. Don't miss it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank littledoohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eat Here!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Really fabulous food by Vivian, who is a self-taught chef. He is passionate about presentation and flavour. One of the best meals we had in Thailand. Food I'll never forget.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing