We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent with other reviews: Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
Ranked #5 of 439 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistent with other reviews: Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have to confess that we did not find this restaurant through TripAdvisor; instead, it was a recommendation from our hotel (Hansar). We were a little leery of the place given its name, but we were thoroughly impressed with both the service and the food! The food itself might best be described as "Thai Fusion", and the fresh fruit drinks are amazing.

We would have returned had we found this spot earlier in our stay, so I would highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    295
    64
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting fusion food, fantastic and personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We went for our last night of our honeymoon and we we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the really unique decor. We ate off the specials board, so it ended up being one of our more expensive meals but still cheap in comparison the UK prices and certainly better value than other places we had eaten.

The food was interestingly presented with each dish having its own personality and it tasted excellent. The owner was really friendly, without being over friendly. My only regret is that we didn't visit this place sooner, rather than our last night, as there was so much on the menu I wanted to try!

Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We are looking for something different as we had already tried the usual at fishermans village, chawang etc, and here we were at this tiny little joint in the middle of no where....we were lucky to find the only two empty seats without reservation. The owner Ahmed/Vivian greeted us and when asked for suggestions for drinks, he happily recommended the Tom Yom Mohito, WOW did that hit the spot. The food menu was ver eclectic, much like the decor of the place, completely diff from any other restaurant we had been to for thai food, starting with green curry pie, with basil and Mango, most amazing combo of sweet /savoury, perfectly crisp and light, couldn't stop eating the next bite, with short intervals of my Tom Yom drink. Our second starter was the soft shell crabs served as bite size lettuce wrapped rolls, again the balance of flavours was amazing. One more appetiser looked amazing peeking from other diners table was the red curry duck wontons, and BTW the presentation was most interesting, as the wontons were served on a weighing scale, yes believe it!
Our main course, btw we are on our second drink already, was the slow cooked beef with Thai herbs and fried basil leaves, served with steamed rice. The aromatic beef just melts in your mouth, amazingly succulent, generous portions. Our second item for the main was also recommended by the chef, fried rice with salty fish, and wow did the fish lift the whole experience of the simple fried rice. This was followed by mango with stick rice and vanilla ice cream dessert.
Overall an amazing and memorable meal, a must try for anyone visiting Samui and appreciates good quality food prepared with a lot of passion.
Thank you Chef Ahmed for a great meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abid U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food delivered with the best service ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

One of the best meals we had in KS. Don't let the location put you off it's placed on a main road, we ate outside and the lighting, leopard print table cloths, sparkling cushions all add to a relaxing ambiance. The staff were so lovely. We were told not to over order as the portions are big, but the menu is so interesting and reasonable that we wanted to try so much. The sushi and Korean chicken, and Thai red and green curries were amazing. Vivien is the owner/chef, he use to work at The W and is very passionate about his cooking. He took the time to ask up if everything was up to standard twice during our visit. All the waitresses are patient and take the time to go through each item on the menu. With so many great reviews we have to give it a go and are so glad we did.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Surrey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wowwwwwwwww”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable food I am a chef myself, and I can tell you this is great food. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful, if you are in samui, and don't come here you will be missing out. I will say the decor is abit tacky, but who cares about that when your eating such great food...5 stars all the way

Helpful?
Thank Samo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing