We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 great meals here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
Ranked #4 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“5 great meals here.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate here 5 nights. This was our third time visiting Bo Phut - we had been to all the usually suspects and this was by far the best food quality with a very nice atmosphere. The food is innovative and tasty. Can highly recommend the tagliatelli, the tempura prawns, the papaya salad (start at medium spicy) as well as the curries. Despite a sensitive stomach, I had absolutely no problems with the food here. The cocktails are good (especially the Tom yam Martini). While we did not have wine it was available. The staff are fantastic and want to please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,308
    308
    64
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Go Go Go : a must while on Samui”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very small place for a very extravagant meal.
We were surprised on how small the restaurant was and on how much care has been given to the smallest detail.
The real surprise was to come : the food !
Cafe 69 is one of the most clever reinvention of thai cuisine. The fundementals are classic thai but it's completely restructured and recombined into an incredible thai cuisine firework. Some would say into a cosmic orgasm but let's be more moderate.
I wouldn't know what to recommend, we had 6 differents creations of the house, all were excellent.
This is a great place for Thai foodies. It's more than just fusion, it's a real tribute to Thai cuisine.
For all the food we had, including the most expensive entree, if not cheap for Thailand it's a good price for this journey into "new thai cuisine".
One more thiing : service was lovely, sweet and non intrusive. Perfect balance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nico m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went yesterday for dinner and it is worth the short walk from the Fisherman's Village. Food was tasty,drink was delicious and average prices. Decor well.......go and have a look for yourself!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kizzybeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wild decor and adventurous menu”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This one is worth seeking out!
Great food, presented very eccentricly.
Service was very attentive yet not oppressive at all.
Prices were very attractive as well. Excellent drinks menu.
The decor verging on kitsch.
The restaurant's name is memorable but thats about it. It does not do justice to a stand out eatery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scouser in Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Fab”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a lovely little food eatery oppoisite the Fishermans Village sign. Service was great as was the food and drinks, and very reasonably priced.

We thought it was fantastic that we we're served one of our starters on a set of kitchen scales!

This place is a must to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P4ula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing