We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of two week trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
Ranked #4 of 434 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best meal of two week trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The restaurant was a little bit away from our hotel at the beach and the location was not great at the side of a big road. The food was the nicest we ate anywhere during our stay. The chef came out to tell us about all the specials and was so enthusiastic.The food was all the familiar thai dishes but just cooked in creative and pretty ways and everything was delicious. It was a little more expensive than the other nearby thai restaurants but when we saw the quality of the food and the work that had gone into it it seemed like very good value for money. This restaurant would have a michelin star if it was in a better location and the chef deserves it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BibiDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    269
    62
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best Thai food we are in Thailand! From Bangkok to Chang Mai to ko Samui. This place is a must. I wish we found it earlier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We had green curry dumplings, pad Thai spring rolls, Penang curry steak and mango curry fish. The chef / owner was a nice as can be and we can't recommend this place highly enough. We met some Italians snorkeling today who recommended this restaurant. What a find! Please go if your in ko Samui! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try this place out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited Cafe 69 during one of the regular power cuts on the island - the food was great and served by the light of multiple candles! Vivian brought us our food and was so determined to ensure we were happy with the food despite the lack of lighting!

We both had starters and mains, which were really yummy. We had a beer and a cocktail (which came in a small jug!!!) The food was classic thai, with a modern twist.

Definitely worth a visit if you are staying in Bo Phut, part of the joy of the place is Vivian himself who absolutely embodied the spirit of all the Thai people we met

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWJ-CPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to and exceeds reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience the eclectic taste in decor. Great drinks and some of the most innovative takes on Thai food I have ever had. An amazing food experience. Will be back again and again to compile my list of favourite dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank watteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had dinner here with friends. What a special find. The menu is not huge but everything on the menu appealed to us. Vivian greeted us on arrival, everyone is like a long lost friend to him. The restaurant decor is something else.
The food was tasy, innovative and beautifully presented. The passion fruit drink was great.
I highly recommend that anyone visiting Koh Samui eats here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HOLSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing