We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not wowed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 69

Cafe 69
Ranked #4 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Just steps away from Fisherman Village and Bo Phut Traffic Light. Located on the Main Street, opposite Anantara Bophut Resort)Explore a new twist of Southern Thai Indigenous Cuisine designed by our dedicated Chef Vivien. Sip 69 secret yummy potions, freshly brewed coffee, smooth and delicious ice cream and sorbet...at a cozy shadow-terrace on a lively street... and cool air-conditioned lounge with super-comfy couches. Music ambience on iPod and guaranteed Dynamic Zen atmosphere in a vibrant and colorful setting.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but not wowed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came here after reading the reviews on tripadvisor so had high expectations. Vivian was great and quickly came over to welcome us. The food was good but not amazing and nothing we'd rave about. We had the prawn wonton to start and the wontons were soggy and almost stale. The duck massaman was very nice and the green curry was good but we've definitely had better in Thailand. If you're local it's worth a visit but I wouldn't go out of my way to come here. For Thailand I would say the value is average, 1100 baht for 2 of us including tip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Capitan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,311
    309
    64
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still the best in Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Samui for our second visit and on our second night had dinner at Cafe 69. Vivian remembered us from 12 month previous and although we did not have our baby son with us asked how he was going.
He is a real character and creates a wonderful atmosphere. He has changed the restaraunt with more tables and now has staff to assist with his growing customers.
The food here is the best I have experienced in my two visits to Samui.
We started with a couple of jars of cocktails to get started. Literally Jars was really quirky and added to the fun.
We ordered the soft shell crab salad and Pad Thai spring rolls off the specials board and the food was delicious. We recommend you tell your waiter how spicy you like your food as they will accommodate for mild to hot if you order a spicy style dish.
We then had the mass man Duck and slow cooked chicken for mains and again delicious.
While Vivian has added more staff to help with his excellent restaraunt he has not lost his passion for food and his customers. His food is modern Thai and still reasonably priced with great atmosphere, service and food
Well done to Vivian and his team and we look forward to returning over the next 2 weeks.

Best in Samui
T&S

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tails71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The one place you MUST eat on Koh Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Without doubt this is the the most interesting and "foodie" place of my visit to Samui. Small, tucked away place just outside of Fisherman's Village, it offers some amazing dishes with great flavours. Vivian, the owner and chef, has put everything of himself into this place and it is a completely unique experience. Decor and service is great, but it is Vivian and his food that shines through. I would return to Samui again, just to eat here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennygoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the facade fool you, this cafe-esque place has AMAZING food. We randomly passed it, recognized its name from TA, and stopped in to see what it was about.

The reviews don't lie! This place has a lovely, talkative owner who stops by to chat- and on top of everything the food is delectable. It is unique and perfectly spiced. Authentic Thai with a twist- we LOVED it and we are world traveling foodies.

In samui, you must stop by!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Normon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thanks to Vivian and all the staff at Cafe 69, we had a brilliant night for my friends hen party. From the moment I got in touch with Vivian, he was helpful and accommodating, pulling out all the stops to make our night memorable. From the personalised menu to the decorations around the restaurant, this was the perfect location and the bride absolutely loved it! Everyone complimented the food and the mix of flavours in their food. If you are staying in Bophut, this is a must and definitely worth the trip if you are staying elsewhere on Koh Samui.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 69 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 69? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing