We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat for the taste buds”
Review of Twisted Thai - CLOSED

Twisted Thai
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Http://www.siamdiningguide.com/twisted_thai
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real treat for the taste buds”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having read a number of mixed reviews about Twisted Thai, I was intrigued to find out for myself whether the standards were worthy of recent accolades.
First impressions are good; actually set within the Imperial Resort, the restaurant has a pretty outlook and only steps away from the sands and warm waters of Chaweng Noi. The reception from waiting staff was first class and probably the best during my 3 week visit to Thailand. Not only were they friendly and attentive, but also had a very good knowledge and understanding of the creative menus.
A delicious complimentary starter set the tone for the evening, which was then followed by course upon course of amazing flavours. Having opted for the tasting menu, I was able to taste some of the unusual ‘twists’ that I may otherwise not have ordered a la carte; the iced prawn satay was a real revelation and a real treat for the taste buds.
In short, I cannot fault this experience. I was delighted when the chef came over to our table to ask for feedback as this was a real opportunity to give well deserved praise where due.
I will definitely return to Twisted Thai on my next visit and highly recommend this restaurant to food lovers visiting Koh Samui.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner was only OK”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Service and food was OK at best - But very expensive. The view from the restaurant was very nice, but it was incredibly hot. No breeze and no fans.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Many of the reviewers are right about the service - it's slow (and there were only 3 tables the night we were there) and the level of understanding of English questions is not great but forget about the service as the food is what you are going here for.

The food is outstanding!

The flavours are brilliant, the experience is unforgettable. I could not do the dishes justice by explaining them, if you love food, you will love Twisted Thai, no question.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice favors, surprising experiments with Thai”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Twisted Thai is not in Bo Phut beach, as Trip Advisor lists it. And that was great news for us, as we are staying atthe Chowen Noi beach, and the restaurant is steps from our hotel (Impiana). The menu takes traditional Thai food and "deconstructs" it a little. For example, I had the green papaya salad (som tam) - the traditional salad came with a grilled salmon on top, and with 3 ice creams/ sorbets next to it: lime sorbet, carrot sorbet with crunchy topping, and green papaya ice cream with fried garlic slivers. Very nice way to mix the spiciness of the salad with some cooling favors. My husband had the duck liver curry - it was very good, although the liver did not seem to have been cooked in the curry, it did not capture the flavor. Service was great - we practically had a person standing some feet away all the time waiting for our requests, but then again the restaurant was not too busy. We do recommend it for a "twisted" view on Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank mariquiroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cph
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a shame, useless service”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Have recently been twice to NOMA (worlds best rest.) and once to Geranium (worlds best chef) - so was a litte excited to see what we would be served here - obviously not expecting same level as in Cph.
Reading previos reviews we decided to go for the a la carte menu - but I dont think the Chef was around - if he was he should get more involved in what is happening in the restaurent when food leaves the kitchen.

Upon arrival we were seated outside, on top of a noisy - smelly and warm what we belive was the chlorine pump for the nearby pool.
We tried yo tell 2 different waiters that we wanted another table - this night there was only the 3 of us plus 2 other guest.
Main problem for the staff is that they dont talk or understand English at all - they only smiled - lauged and siad thank you - but they never undetstood the problem.

For starters you can order 5 or 8 - we ordered 5 starters for each of us - but we only got 5 starters to share between the 3 of us . After all 3 waiters had been involved we managed to tell them that we wanted 5 starters each.
These startes were definately the highligt of the dinner - all 5 of them were fantastic - really tasty and world class.

BTW - dont know if they serve wine at this restaurent - never saw a wine list or asked if we wanted any wine.

Went for 3 different main courses - 2 arrived at the same time - had to wait few minutes for last dish (only 5 guests that evening int he restaurent...) - and as soon as 2 of us had finished the main couse - last person was still eating his main course - the waiter asked if we wanted dessert and gave us the dessert card.

Had duck liver flambeed - wasnt expecting the dish be as it turned out - but person who ate it liked it very much - pasta probably not home made and slightly over cooked.
The chicken with chili risooto - brilliant idea btw - but not sure if it was Risotto rice they used plus they had been over cooked as well - was ok - but ntg special to get excited over. The sweet and sour chicken was extremly juicy.

The waiters told us what was served - but to be honest - we had the impression they didnt care - understand and know what they were serving. They were hard to undetand - and you couldnt ask them any questions about the food as they would only laugh - smile and say thank you.

We love the use of different and odd seize plates being used in this restaurent - esspicially the slate and marble was a great idea. For dessert we would suggest that the plates used should come straight from the fridge.

We also choose 3 different desserts - one of the waiters tried to tell us more times not to order the green tea cake - so of course we did - plus the pumpkin panacotta plus a pie.
We have been in many restaurents and tried a lot of experimental food - many of that type restaurents here in Copenhagen - but this is the first time that we didnt like any of the 3 desserst.

We returned them telling the waiter we didnt like them - laug - smile and thank you. They were to rich - to dry and to warm - for us to like them better they should be served slightly cooler - and maybee add some sorbet instead of have pumpkin served with thick coconut sauce and whipped cream.

Would we recommend this place - well - the waiters did spoil at lot for us and it is a shame for the Chef who really has some great ideas - but when you go to this type of restaurent its not only about the food - every thing has to match to make it perfect.

The guy selling fried bugs at market in Bophut spoke better english and knew more about his product that the waiters the evening we ate her - sorry to say.

It could have been a great experience - fantastic starters - but Chef get involved in what is happening in your restaurent when food leaves kitchen as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nika2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Thai also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing