We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe)
Ranked #177 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Thai, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tamarina Bistro&Bar is a Thai fusion seafood spot boating one of the best sunset view on Samui island. We value the art of traditional Thai cooking in combination with locally sourced seafood and a twist of Italian influence. Come relax and unwind under our ocean front Tamarind tree, we are ready to serve you!
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I've been coming to this restaurant on holiday for 5 years and it remains fantastic. Excellent food and atmosphere. Hopefully it will remain for another 5!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikhan093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    102
    34
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Spot”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Rented mountain bikes from our hotel and took a ride to the big Buddha which is where we found BBC. It's a big place and we were 2 of only 6 people there for lunch.

The views are fab and the food was good. I had the pad se ewe which was super tasty and my husband had the burger and fries. We were very happy with our meal.

Helpful?
Thank jenntref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but need a little more service”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The food is okay but the service was below average. the location is very good with a great view, especially at sunset. The prices are average, for a family we paid about 1000 THB

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location poor food & service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visit Koh Samui 3-4 times each year and having been coming for the past 10 years.During the early years we would go to BBC for breakfast and the occasional dinner however always found breakfast more enjoyable.On the most recent 2 trips we have noticed a significant decline in both service and food,we attempted to have breakfast there with our visiting family however left after waiting for someone to take our order and when they finally came we're told the chef can't cook omelett's!!! We were the only people in the restaurant.Prior to that,we had dinner and both ordered steaks which were both tough and expensive.
A now very disappointing restaurant, there are many better options close by in Choeng Mon that offer much better food and service a lot cheaper

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lubulontam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“no service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We cannot rate the food, since we never got served! There were only 3 tables occupied, but 1 waiter and 1 barman could not cope with the orders. We waited for 1 hour 30 min and then decided to leave, together with one or two other table's clients. The location is stunning, but it does not make up for the lack of professionalism - especially in a place where the competition is wall-to-wall

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meganinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe) also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing