We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe)

Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe)
Ranked #183 of 439 Restaurants in Bophut
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tamarina Bistro&Bar is a Thai fusion seafood spot boating one of the best sunset view on Samui island. We value the art of traditional Thai cooking in combination with locally sourced seafood and a twist of Italian influence. Come relax and unwind under our ocean front Tamarind tree, we are ready to serve you!
dharhan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here on previous visits and loved it but this year the service was poor and the food was worse. When I complained about the food the waiter just nodded and walked away. Great place to visit for a drink and to watch the sunset but sadly I would not recommend eating here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shelley038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    101
    34
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“masaman mmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

we had lunch here a few times during our stay, the food was fresh , tasty and authentic , with good service and brilliant views, the only reason we didnt have dinner here was , we had so many other places to try!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank phatpheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location, food and service not so nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Feeling is dull. View is great but thats it. Staff messed up our order and food was just average even below average. Mayby good place to watch big screen tv abd have a drink or two but not for nice athmospherich dinner with your love ones, so if you want some romantics, go somewhere else!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HannuSalonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The view and layout of the restaurant was fantastic but the service was terrible,we had starters i ordered scampi it arrived as battered shrimp,my friend ordered mushroom soup and onion soup arrived,the waitress was amendment he ordered onion soup and would no exchange the order,when the bill arrived it stated mushroom soup,also my friends partner ordered pork steak it was still bloody after the second time it was cooked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a wasted opportunity.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do not visit this restaurant for any reason other than the daytime view ( at night the lighting is so industrially unsympathetic you can hardly see the sea a few feet away. Unless you've come all this way to simply drink beer watching big screen football in a vaste empty cafe don't go.
The food " International" or Thai is dreadful, possibly because of the low turnover.
There are many, many better places on Samui, apparently it used to be popular, but now feels very tired. At least you won't need to book a table in advance !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stuartbandsuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe) also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Tamarina Bistro & Bar (formerly Big Buddha Cafe)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing