We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and private”
Review of Samui Boat Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samui Boat Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and private”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four days at the end of our 2.5 week trip to Thailand. It was nice to have a clean, cool, and comfortable spot to relax. We stayed in a one bed villa near to the beach (no. 35), and the pool had the sun track across it all day, lots of sun if you want to sun bake. The pool is cool, a relief from the heat, and clean. We hopped in and out all day long. The outside living area pavilion is a nice idea, fan cooled which is needed by lunch time. Bathroom is large, clean, but no fly screen on one window so close the door to minimise chance of mozzies in your bedroom. Garden is nice enough, the plants outside our bathroom though we're looking very sad indeed. Yes mattress is firm but that seems to be standard in Thailand, all we came across from north to south, east to west!

Kitchen is adequately equipped and we used it for self catering breakfast and lunch. No restaurant on site as mentioned by others. I think if the place included breakfast at least it would get a better rating by me.
Having said that, a trip on day one to Tesco Lotus a 20 minute drive away is worth it for a good range of provisions. The 7-11 is a 5 minute walk away and has basic supplies, and you can get fresh fruit and veg from local markets near the Big Buddha (a 15-20 minute walk away). Do try the local restaurant Sopa (see separate review), very good.

It is a bit out of the way and if you are brave enough to drive/ride a scooter then you will not feel the isolation too much. The upside is no road noise. We opted for walking to the main ring road and catching share taxis which are frequent and relatively cheap.

The hotel picks up and drops you back to the airport for free which is great. They do a free shuttle at 10 and 11am to a nearby beach at Cheong Mon which we used. That beach was very busy by our Aussie standards. The little beach area provided by the hotel is much quieter.

Staff were helpful and pleasant. Good wifi too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sueandmikey_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    109
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
63
195
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The previous reviews are spot on. Stayed in very nice 1 bed pool villa. Very relaxing, clean. We had a couple of issues with the air con but these were fixed very quickly. Staff are excellent. Resort is out of the way. We hired a motorbike. You need transport. Bangrak is 5 mins away on the bike, Fishermans village another 5 again. Bikes are safe enough if you know what you are doing (just take your time). For the price I recommend this place particularly as you have your own pool. Some of the fixtures and fittings are not top notch, and the bed is very hard (even with the mattress topper that the staff put on for us). Samui Boat lagoon is best summed up as 5 star concept, 3.5 / 4 star execution, but really nice staff and very peaceful place to stay. Place needs a gym though!

Room Tip: Villa 22 had sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazzaMac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

December2013/Jan 2014-02-20 spent 10 nights here in a 2 bedroom Villa , my sister in-law made the booking . We had to change our arrival departure date by 1 day at either end due to meeting flights back to KL. The reservations staff were wonderful and quick with replies. All fixed without a problem.
We were collected from the airport and whisked back to the resort with an hour of arrival. Check in was a breeze and we (4 of us) were quickly shown to our Villa. Prior to arriving at our villa Samui reservation staff asked if we would prefer 2 double beds rather than the standard 1 double and 2 twins this was done way before we arrived .
You enter the villa through double doors and you walk straight in (6 stairs) to the communal area of the open lounge / dinning and kitchen . To the left is 1 bedroom with ensuite to the right is the 2nd bedroom with ensuite and between the 2 is your own private pool.
Both bedrooms are air-conditioned and the communal area is by Fan. As this is an open area an air conditioner would not work and we found the fan and pool more than enough
The Bathrooms are beautiful – big double showers and lots and lots of room
There is a big screen TV to watch along with a DVD player – they have foxtel/satellite TV if you want to relax – they also have a selection of DVD’s to borrow from reception

There is also a large pool for all guests to enjoy near reception, the addition of a Bar here would go well and perhaps more patrons would use this area . They do not have their own restaurant but you can order room service and they will collect from nearby restaurants and deliver to you. There is the Silver Bullet Bar at the entrance that sells good food as well as a few local restaurants on the street.
A couple of times we cooked our own breakfast as all the cooking gear is supplied.

It is away from the main areas in Koh Samui – this is part of it’s appeal to us, they do have a shuttle bus to the beach twice a day but we just hired scooters and rode them every where. The best beach is not at the resort but just down the road at Cheong Mon.
They can also organise scooter/car hire and trips/tours to ther parts of the island.

All the staff at the resort are very friendly and work at 110% to ensure your stay is a good one
We have recommended this place to friends and will be back for sure

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernandez1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 young children (almost 4-year-old and almost 2-year-old twins). As such a family, it can be difficult to find places adapted to young children and I can't recommand Samui Boat Lagoon enough who ticked all the boxes.

- the location: it's located on the end of Bophut beach which is a very quiet beach close to Big Buddha. This beach is not recommended for young children but free shuttles are offered to Choen Mon beach which is perfect for families (there you can find small restaurants).
It's not far as well to Chaweng for a night out and it costs THB400 for a single taxi fare.
Big Buddha is close by and we managed to go and come back by walking, even if you have to pay extra attention with the stroller as roads are not meant for pedestrians (but for us it's still better than having scooters with a 2-year-old without an helmet seating on it).
It's a 10 minute walk to 7-Eleven and Family Mart supermarkets.
Advice if you travel with a toddler: bring your own baby food (baby jar of processed food) or your mixer to cook by yourself as it's almost impossible to find it in Thailand. The only baby food you can find is the baby milk.

-the villa: it was just so perfect for us! Our elder one spent her days jumping in / out the private pool.
The 2 bedwooms get their en-suite bathrooms. Main bedroom is very spacious and 2nd bedroom was big enough to place the twin beds + 2 baby cots.
We were provided with 2 baby cots and high chairs without any extra cost.
The kitchen was fairly equiped but there are several restaurants you can order to and who deliver right to your door. Food is good and not pricey at all.
There is a DVD player and free WiFi for those Mickey Mouse sessions!

-the staff: the staff is very friendly and accomodating.
I requested for 2 baby cots and high chairs by email when I did the booking and I was disappointed when we entered in the villa and none of it was there. But the lady who accompanied us to the villa immediatily asked for it and it was delivered in the following 15 minutes.
The cleaning ladies were so kind in doing the cleaning when we asked them, just after we had finished lunch as they know then the twins have their nap.
The reception is pleased to help you to order food delivery.
We also ask for babysitting and apparently the hotel has a policy to always send 2 ladies. Even if the ladies could not speak very well english, the receptionist on duty came and translated all the information.
That was the feeling we get from the hotel: a very good team who helps each others.

Our overall experience was wonderful and once again I really recommend it for families with young children.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floed07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked a pool villa and it was a beautiful + great stay! We loved our stay from the moment we arrived. The stay was nice, comfortable and luxury. We rented a scooter for our main transportation to tour around Koh Samui because it is quite far from town if by walking. Really great place to relax, away from the hustle and bustle. We made our own breakfast since the hotel regrettably does not serve this.We had a wonderful time and we will be staying for longer on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadySarah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just left today quite tearful
after a glorious 3 week stay with the boat lagoon. The villas are just lovely, very comfortable and has everything you need. The pools are wonderful, it's all so private but you still get the luxuries of daily cleaning, coffee, tea water etc like a hotel. The staff are just wonderful nothing too much trouble, beds are a little hard but just ask for a mattress topper!!! We met the owner john very nice guy as well. The beach ok is not the best but you can swim and sun bath and it's very quiet. The location although a little isolated did not bother us with 7 eleven, plenty of small restaurants and a couple of bars a stone throw away!! Would recommend a car though for convienence. But the best was the lovely Mary the dog, we were escorted every night to our villa and just fell in love with her.

Thank you boat lagoon for an amazing holiday!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scud2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a couple and we loved it. The outside living space is very nice and the swimming pool was a nice size. We payed for a 1 bedroom but was given a 2 bedroom. Bathroom has a very nice shower and the bedroom was very comfy. It is not to far from main attractions and the staff were very friendly.The grounds are kept to a high standard. I would without a doubt stay again. It was very peaceful and relaxing. Had no issues with wildlife at all, but even if there was..this is Thailand and my partner and I enjoy seeing wildlife. Pool was clean so was bathroom and room. If you dont mind paying for taxis then I would stay here if coming to koh samui.There is not a great deal around the hotel, a few restaurants and shops and they arrange complimentary transport to the pier when we left which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
1.0 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Boat Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Boat Lagoon

Property: Samui Boat Lagoon
Address: 78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Boat Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Boat Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Boat Lagoon Hotel Bophut
Samui Boat Lagoon Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing