We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far far away from everything”
Review of Samui Boat Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samui Boat Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“far far away from everything”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good things
- big swimming pool at the reception
- nice beach ONLY for sunset photos
- nice looking villas with small swimming pool and outside living room
Bad things
- no beach where you can stay and/or swim
- no bar/restaurant in the hotel
- no decent bar/restaurant nearby
- taxi to chaweng is 300 bht one way (400 bht from the reception)
- when you ask for a taxi at the reception they will call a friend with higher price than a taxi
- broken towels
- they don't wash the floor when cleaning in the room or the yard
- no remote control for dvd and trust me... when you are in the middle of nowhere you need a dvd.
- no electricity in the last day (they don't have alternative power)
- only 1 hair dryer for 2 rooms
- only 2 liters of water for 4 persons/day
- free shuttle to another ugly beach available at 10 and 11 am. How can I go to the beach at 11 o'clock when all the doctors on this planet recommend not to stay in the sun starting with 12 o'clock?

If you have an emergency and you need to go to the hospital the hotel will charge you with 400 bht. (that's the way how they show you their hospitality)


Conclusion

If you've never been in a house with a pool far far away from everything you can book a room here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaNlDeRxEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    106
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
61
193
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed as 2 couples and one toddler and for the price, thought it was great. We stayed in a 2 bed villa and the villa was very clean and well maintained and the little pool great for our 14 month old for swimming. The big pool is also fantastic and pretty much deserted most of the day. The big downside is the lack of decent food nearby - the ordered in food is OK the place could do with a shop or restaurant on the grounds. For a well maintained, excellent value place to stay on Koh Samui though, I'd highly recommend SBL...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatbunny1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It has all been said before in previous reviews. But this place is special, we were shown to our villa and sat down by our villa pool with a big cheesy grin our faces.

Everything you see on the booking websites is exactly as shown. Everything is spotless, modern Thai and funky. If you thinking of splurging out go for it.

It has the largest infinity pool (open to all residents) we have ever seen and the whole site is kept pristine by a team of gardeners.

What some reviews have missed is there are small restaurants a 10 min walk away (fantastic noodle soup 50B), But Choeng Mon and Bang Rak are a short bus trip away and if you don't fancy a walk, there is now a restaurant/bar right outside the complex.

We certainly saved the best to last on our recent trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in January 2013 and we had a truly amazing time in this fantastic accommodation.
The rooms are beautiful and the private pool is great. The staff are helpful, polite and attentive and really do a great job in maintaining the place.
The only minor adjustments I'd suggest is to install some sort of outdoor blinds for the outdoor living area as the sun can get quite hot during the day and to improve wifi strength.
Overall though it is a great place and I would love to go back.

It's about 10-15 min to the middle of Chaweng. Taxi is about 300-400THB one way
Fishermans village is about the same price and Lamai is about 450-600THB. we managed to get cheaper once or twice but this is the standard range.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 428DavidD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having booked on the internet I was really not sure what to expect. I'd seen website photos but not any reviews. Well the villa is EXACTLY like the photos. As regular travellers, my husband and I are very fussy with accommodation and we were very impressed. The bed is a little hard as they all are in Thailand. The cleanliness was very good. Loved the outside shower, stayed in far too long. The bedroom could use a chair or bench to put your "stuff' on but there was plenty of cupboard and hanging space. The window blinds were completely useless and did not keep any light out. The outside area was good but be careful when it's wet, I slipped and fell ! Negatives: The pool is far too cold as it gets no sun. We didn't spend much time in it which is a shame as it's the whole point of having a private pool villa. The outdoor furniture was too uncomfortable to sit on for long periods (if watching a DVD for example). Otherwise we really enjoyed it. The main pool is just lovely in the late afternoon, we spent a lot of time in it. Staff always said hello. We hired a motorcycle through reception for most of our stay as the location is quite isolated. We also hired a car for one day to drive around the island. Both were very quick and easy. We had one meal from the takeaway menu and it was good. We didn't eat at any of the small places closeby, but there are good places near Big Buddha. WiFi was rubbish which was a shame as on Christmas Day we wanted to Skype rellies around the world. They are aware of the issue and are trying to fix it. There is a DVD library and some books that guests have left. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redjazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked the Kisiti beach front villa through the vacation rental section on TA. I spent a very long time considering my choices for our Christmas in Thailand as a family of 6. Most places were either very expensive, not big enough we'd need a lot of rooms. Our 3 bedroom villa with kitchen, living and dining areas, large deck and decent sized private pool worked great for us. Very comfortable beds and good air con. The only downfalls were the beach wasn't great there for much beyond the view, not many places to eat in walking distance though there are some places that will deliver and the Silver Bullet just outside villa compound was an easy and cheap place with friendly service. Free WiFi, large community pool, free use of a selection of DVDs, help with booking restaurants and excursions and vehicles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have never stayed in the Plai Laem area on any of my previous visits and I was not disappointed. We rented one if the beach front villas and it was superb. There was 4 of us but the villa easily slept 7 with plenty of space left. We had a every amenity you could wish for in the villa even a fridge full if welcome food which was supplied free of charge. The outside pool was plenty big enough for all of us and that led straight to the beach. Although not the best beach in Samui it was lovely all the same. If you wanted a bigger pool you could use the lovely one on the complex. We had to leave the villa to travel to Koh Lanta but as the wether was so bad there we decided to pack up and travel back to Samui. Rather than spend all our time getting somewhere lose to stay we headed straight back to Samui Boat Lagoon. Although they did not have the same beach front villa they did have another one which was equally as superb. There are plenty of Thai restaurants and a few bars within a 10 minutes of walk of the complex but if you can't be bothered with the walk there are a few local places to eat which we found were great. Nightlife we headed back to either Fisherman's village or Chewang at a cost if 50 BHT per person which is around £1. Another taxi ride up the road will take you to Choen Mon beach which is one if the better beaches but a bit more commercial. We left there after an additional 6 days and already booked to go back for Christmas. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We viewed all the room and although the beach front villas are the best the 2 person ones are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Boat Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Boat Lagoon

Property: Samui Boat Lagoon
Address: 78 / 36 Moo 5 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Boat Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Boat Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Boat Lagoon Hotel Bophut
Samui Boat Lagoon Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing