We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time at Mantra - still love it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3rd time at Mantra - still love it !”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Reading most of the reviews I feel proud, - but when reading some of them I feel personally offended. Reading some of the 3 and less than 3 star reviews here makes me wonder where the heck they´ve been. Certainly not at the Mantra we´ve come to know and love. And to call Mantra rude and dirty (shame on you Ash S) tells more about the reviewer than of the Mantra. My experience is that if you treat people with kindness and respect, you get the same back. This goes for the staff at Mantra as well.

As a third time visitor there is not much to add to my two previous reviews. Only to repeat that Mantra is a gem. To us it´s a piece of paradise. It´s not a luxury resort, - if you by that mean shiny with marble, steel and leather. It´s natural and a bit quirky – if you like; cheeky. But what makes Mantra Mantra is the staff. They are warm, welcoming and caring and not at all rude.

We have stayed at Manta three years in a row. 3 + 2,5 + 2,5 weeks and never experienced rude staff. Quite the opposite. We would never go back to a place where we didn´t feel welcome. What we have experienced though is some guests that should not be allowed to leave home until they´d learned some manners and to treat staff and/or fellow guests with just a little bit common courtesy.

During our stays at Manta we´ve had most of our meals there. We love the breakfasts – a great start of the day. Lots of choices. We also had most of our lunches and dinners at the Ubuntu restaurant. Love the food ! (and I´m quite picky). Compared to prices in Europe it´s not expensive.
The staff in the restaurant and bar are great. All of them have been nothing but warm and smiling towards us.

A few points to correct other reviews:
Location – yes it´s in a hilly location, 10-15 mins form the nearest beach with a car. Hills were no problem for my 81 year old mother, - can´t see why it should be a problem for anyone else. If you can´t manage the walk up (seriously ? ) then use the cart-service. But if that´s not good enough, - maybe consider staying somewhere else.

Taxi - from Bophut /Fishermans Village is NOT 500 Baht. We never paid more than 300. Someone clearly got ripped off, but that is not Mantra´s fault ! From Chaweng we paid between 400 and 500.

Sun loungers – never had a problem during our 3 long stays. Once or twice we had to wait 5-10 minutes. We´re on holiday and not in a hurry … no so problem.

Staff/language barrier – English is not our first language, maybe that´s why we never had a language problem at Mantra ? We don´t expect the staff to speak perfect English. If you keep in mind that you are in a foreign country and speak a tad slower (and more clearly) they will understand. We never had a wrong order (and as mentioned we had most of our meals there).
I have to mention some of our special friends … Khun Oh (fabulous chef, don’t miss her cooking class) Khun Tor, Khun Man, Khun Tae, Khun A; Zita and Chris – and all the others – Robert and his gorgeous family and the reception angels. All of them making our stay special. We missed some of our friends from earlier visits, among them Mark who left for his holiday just hours before we arrived. But we will meet them next time. Cause we will be back for a 4th visit !

Thanks again for making our holiday so special, and remember to water our tree ☺

Cheers
Elisabeth & Mom

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
245
1,061
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camden
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

How to start this review. lets start with negative - if you want to be on the beach this hotel is not for you and i dont believe this is a hotel for older people (due to this hotel being on a slope it is not the easiest to get around)

I loved my stay at this hotel. i have read various reviews on this hotel before I arrived and i must say some people are being a little hard.

This hotel might not be what some people call 5 star - however it is the best value for money hotels i have ever stayed in. The hotel is clean and tidy highly maintained.

the hotel is situation on a hill which has an amazing view. It is very hilly but with a phone call to reception you have a buggy almost instantly at your door.

Room - We stayed in rooms 301 - 302 - rooms where spacious clean and views where Amazing. There was free phone calls which i never had an issue with getting through. Our room was located close to the pool and Restaurant, which i was quite happy with so we could walk to these locations with out too much effort (holiday mode is a great thing)

Staff, OMG i cant remember everyone's name, but Kris, Marco, Tae, A, & Boy - are wonderful, they made my stay here with my brother (who has down syndrome) one of the best experiences. One morning my brother slept in and we did not make breakfast. I was advised that next time that happens they would bring breakfast to us. Nothing was a problem and all staff went out of there way to be helpful.

The pool - well get in early to get a sun bed.. we spent alot of time here. there is a fantastic view of Bophut and the pool is amazing.

We ate at the hotel a bit and the food was Excellent my hat off to the chefs there..... and the theme nights where great value.. Another thing about breakfast was the they made you eggs ect fresh so they have not been sitting in around all morning. Yummy Eggs benedict..

It was also nice that the owner of the hotel and the General Manager took time out to speak to guest at this hotel. makes you feel special.

One think i must say is i did not try the Spa. I would suggest that possibly the hotel arrange to have a list of spa treatments in the room. The reason i say this is on one of the day the weather was not too nice. I believe if there was a list of treatments i would of contacted the spa and possibly had a treatment. Also to walk to the spa would of been a little effort and when on holidays you just want to sit back and enjoy ( this is not a negative i just feel that this would generate a little more business for your spa).

Again thank you Mantra - loved my stay and would love to come back again....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angplantzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms, pool, restaurant, staff & enjoyable stay all round. More suited to younger couples due to steep hills, fewer sun loungers than the average hotel and the decor is a bit "modern/tacky", although nice.

Bophut village / beach not up to much - advise going to Chaweng for the beach and nightlife.

I much preferred Koh Phangan to Koh Samui but it's still a lovely island all the same.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MRPrice89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We visited Mantra for my partners 40th and coming from East London we didn't want to stay in the bog standard highly maintained but personalitiless 5 star and away from children. The staff at mantra were so kind and helpful with everything. They arranged a scooter for us for the ten days which was invaulable as we drove around Samui, stopping at hidden beaches, drinking at local bars and visiting the waterfalls and spa's. We had a jacuzzi room on the second floor facing the pool. Breath taking views, quiet and luxurious. The room was huge, clean, well facilitated and enough hot water for both of us at all times of the day. We used the gym and the pool everyday which again had views to die for.The pools sun loungers were busy everyday but we aren't the type to be pool bound and were off exploring everyday. Mornings and night we had a little bathe, after breakfast and a cocktail in the swim up bar at sunset. Breakfast was abundant everyday and the chefs able to take any request. Yes the hill up to the rooms is steep but there's always a buggy to drive you but we enjoyed the excersize. Cute touches are the mottos imprinted on the pavements, roadsigns and menu's, the toy dog and chuppa chups on the bed, the refreshing towels and drinks upon arrival and the array of bathroom toiletries. I organised a private dinner on our balcony on the last night which is worth doing as the sound of the jungle while eating crab and champagne is second to none. I would heartily recommend staying at mantra, for the service, the cool style, the views and the price. 20-50's looking for something other than the standard beach bungalow in samui and to meet like minded travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuLuRogers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Well all I can say is that this beautiful Hotel has improved from being excellent to utterly fantastic, any teething trouble from our last visit have been ironed out to make the experience even better than before. The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you, the rooms are very clean & tidy and the food is lovely. I could write reams on how good this place is but suffice to say its the best Hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world.
The Infinity pool bar after a long day enjoying the sun and sea is awesome and the perfect place for a wind down drink, free busses to the local towns and all the advice you could ever need on where to go and what to do.
My advice is don't listen to any minor gripes on this site, just book it and enjoy the experience whether you stay for 2 days or 2 weeks, don't worry about the hilly locations either, golf buggies will take you up and down to your room and the bar area 24/7

Well done Robert the Hotel Manager, you sir are the Manager of the best Hotel in Thailand.

Room Tip: Book your seats on the bus the evening before you want them and always agree the taxi fares before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mancityfanabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Mantra resort while checking out wedding venues, the hotel itself was a great place to chill out and relax, the buffet breakfast was ample with both western and eastern options available, the coffee was good and the staff extremely helpful, the location is a little difficult if you plan on walking down to the main road, did a round trip to the pharmacy and would not recommend it for the faint hearted, the hotel did provide free shuttle services which we used it it's full extent, the room service was prompt and reasonably priced, the room also had a good collection of movies for the days we didn't feel like venturing too far, the walk to the restaurant is very steep if your located near the reception but there were golf cart buggies around to give you a lift, the hotel gym was amazing and allowed me to continue my bench, squat and free weight exercises, it isn't located near the beach but had an amazing view to compensate, on a clear day it really took my breath away, thank you mantra for a great week!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saints41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I was looking forward to our six nights at this resort and do need to qualify this review by explaining that this was the seventh Hotel/Resort we stayed at during our recent seven week holiday in Thailand and Laos - so I can't help comparing it to other places which we felt were far more spectacular (views/room/pool/service) yet cost far less....overall we came away disappointed and believe that they could (and should) make some minor changes that would have improved our experience.

What we liked: The friendly staff, the free shuttle service provided (we used this everyday to go to either Bophut or Chaweng), the great views - from pretty much everywhere, the very prompt and courteous golf buggy service (to and from reception/spa etc) and the rooms were spacious.

What we didn't like: There is an overall shabbiness to the place (our WOW room especially) that I hope they are working to rectify/refurbish. The main hub (breakfast/restaurant area) near the pool was so oppressively hot during our stay that it was virtually deserted apart from breakfast times. They could easily improve this by having more ceiling fans (or fans in general) installed in this area. I had only one inedible meal during our seven weeks in South East Asia and you guessed it - it was here (avoid the lamb shank & polenta). My recommendation would be to stick to the pizzas. I would also look to improve the lighting on the stairs leading down to the restaurant toilet facilities - quite dark and therefore potentially dangerous.

Overall we didn't mind the 80 odd steps to and from the breakfast/pool area and enjoyed the complimentary spa treatment (very relaxing) - but believe that the position of the resort did colour our overall perception of Koh Samui and for us, not having easy (walkable) access to shops, restaurants and bars was an issue - it taught us a valuable lesson. So while it did what it said on the box (resort on a steep hill), it wasn't 'special' enough for us to rate our experience as anything other than average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alralph_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing