We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxed, informal, chilled, not great for kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just stayed 6 nights at Mantra resort with our 3 year old boy. As all the other reviews it's on a very steep hill and 10 mins bus into town.

For us it actually worked well as we had a room right behind the restaurant and pool, always managed to get a lounge right in front of the " baby/kids pool" which is built into the adult pool so I could watch my 3 year old whom one day spent 5 hours in the pool straight. It was however a little bit uncomfortable as he tended to yell and make a lot of noise, and was often the only child there. I think everyone looked forward to his nap in the afternoon!

It seemed a lot smaller than a lot of the bigger resorts, so as an adult it was divine, peace and quiet and a bit botique. Certainly not a sprawling resport with lots of grounds, no kids club, ( just a room with a few toys un supervised) they did seem to however fit a lot in on their small plot on the hill, squash courts, fully equipped gym, day spa, cinema. Only one restaurant and pool and no shop.

We did use the spa a lot, it was quiet affordable and some good deals. The food was fine, not your sprawling big hotel buffet but adequate. I liked the intimacy of the place, that everyone knew everyone within 48 hours, but not in your face, staff are excellent, rooms were big and spacious and lots of perks.( no iron though and pressing service was $5 per garment) Got the bus into town for friday night market, go early 4 - 5pm before it gets too crowded.

This is a perfect resort for retirees looking for peace and quiet, but note lots of stairs, make it clear when booking you need a room without too many stairs. If your after an incredible view this is the place, away from the noise of 100's of kids screaming in the pool ( trust me I have one and even I hate it) Honeymooners might get bored quickly and want a bit more action. The secret to this hotel is it's size, that is what makes it special.

Room Tip: it's all about the view, the higher you up you go - more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Mantra followed by a 1 night lay over after a trip to Koh Tao. We really liked the hotel and enjoyed the fabulous views that the property offers. We had a Wow room both times and while they were both good our second one was marginally nicer. The restaurant we found to be very good both for breakfast and dinner and as you will expect from Thailand very reasonably priced. We hired a scooter from the hotel which if you are able we would recommend as the hotel is somewhat isolated and does mean that you are not tied to the shuttle bus timetable.

All in all we had a fab time and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher level room for us was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at the Mantra in Feb 2013 with family and friends.
Complimentary shuttle service from the beautiful Koh Samui airport and a warm welcome from the staff on arrival at the hotel.
Room had a spectacular view(cozy) and was extremely well equipped and clean, with complimentary bathroom products. Also the proportion of the rooms were very good and a lovely comfy bed which was spotlessly clean.No complaints about any of the room facilities.
The hotel is quite out of the way but regular free shuttle buses take you into the main resort of Bophut and to Chaweng which has a better beach.Although an extra time slot to Chaweng would be good as the only one going was 11am but there are plenty of return times,shuttles always on time for pick ups.
Food lovely at the hotel and plenty of choice for breakfast.
Staff always pleasant and polite.
Plenty of towels free of charge for the pool and beach.
Ice cold water provided near the pool and a complimentary fruit juice brought around the pool area( most welcome) whilst sunbathing.
The pool is lovely,again with superb views of the sea.
Personally,I don't think there is a lot to complain about the Mantra, everything is well thought out, buggys to take you around the hotel and shuttles into the resort areas and the staff are friendly and helpful,nothing to much trouble.
Give it a try and I'm sure you'll have a lovely holiday.


Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank peanuthead5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Not sure about others experiences but we really loved our stay. We were welcomed by friendly staff on arrival with a lovely drink and cold towel which was welcome after a 18hr set of flights! The room (112) was spacious and clean and modern with lots of features such as free computer, iPod Dock/tv safe etc, really good. Yes the shower was a bit weak but it's Thailand not London or New York. The hot tub was a nice touch too, it was all clean and had an amazing view over the bay. The infinity pool is totally amazing, more sun loungers would be good, but we got two easily at 10am after a great breakfast with a wide array of food, toast, cereals, fruit, made to order dishes included eggs and pancakes. Service was quick and friendly. The dinner buffet was good too, lots of choice and good quality. We went to fisherman's village and used the shuttle service, no issues at all, prompt departure and prompt collection after a great evening of street food and a few beers!
Departure was good and done efficiently and they sorted out our transfers too which was brilliant.
The staff are excellent and made everything that much better. They have lots of little touches with free juice brought out to people round the pool and ice cold water on tap for sun worshippers, plenty of pool towels, the gym is well equipped and air conned so I made use of that too.
Over all an excellent hotel, yes it's not a five star European hotel but this is Thailand and it's a wonderful hotel, excellent service and staff and I for one would happily stay there again...

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Rooms were clean, great view. (Wow room)
Infinity pool was great but not enough sun lounges, unless you have an early breakfast and reserve your sun lounge by placing a towel on it.
Majority of the staff struggled to understand English or speak English.
As for the buffet breakfast I would rate that a 3 star, not much of a variety of meals. f
The breakfast menu was all egg dishes, omelettes fried, scrambled etc...
If you wanted orange juice you had to freshly squeeze it yourself and that was the only juice available. Staff could not get our breakfast order correct most mornings.
Drink prices were cheaper at other 5 star resorts at Chaweng.
Could not have a decent shower as the water was hot and cold and taking forever to adjust.
Resort is high up on the hill and you need to rely on the shuttle service provided by the resort. Taxi fares if you barter are 300 baht from Fishermans Villaga and about 500 baht from Chaweng if you chose to return via taxi instead of the shuttle service provided.
Having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels I would be rating this a 4 star resort and it is not a boutique resort as marketed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We went to the Mantra last August. We had booked a 3 night-stay but we definitively fell in love with this hotel so we decided to book another 3 night-stay in our way back from Koh Phangan.

We stayed in a Cosy room both times. The bedroom and the bathroom were spacious, clean and really nice : we loved the kind size bed and the stones in the shower !

The hotel is small, calm and quiet. To be honest, it is quite isolated at the top of a hill but the hotel provided free shuttles to the main attractive places and you also can rent a scooter. And
I think you can not ask for an amazing, clear and open view (which the hotel clearly provided) and complain because the hotel is on a hill...
We also really enjoyed the food at the restaurant.

We loved all the little details which make the difference : the sweet bosa nova style music around the pool and at the restaurant, the amazing and sweet staff, the lollipops on the bed...

We definitely will come back !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saezelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The staff at the Mantra are fabulous, always smiling and so willing to help from the cleaners, waiters , reception, kitchen and spa.Great hotel, lovely views, super food, my only recommendation would be to lower some of the prices to keep your clients spending at the hotel and not in Fishermans Village.Bottles of wine 400 bahts higher than the same ones in restaurants in the village, Spa 500, bahts more than the good Spas in the village, limited cocktails in happy hour. I love banana daquaris but they were not included so we went to the village and had them for 120 bahts, yours 300, sparkling water Badoit 190 for a small bottle in the restaurant which in the mini bar was 70!!!! I feel its such a good hotel that you are dipping out. I would certainly recommend a holiday there and will go again

Room Tip: All, the rooms are fabulous but make sure they are not by the restaurant as it spoils the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.6 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#33 of 185 in Bophut
1,635 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $122 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing