We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with lovely staff and concept….however, only book directly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with lovely staff and concept….however, only book directly”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area. The staff were lovely and particularly Joe, at reception was very helpful. The rooms are large, clean, with comfy beds and well equipped and the wifi, TV, movies and free phone calls are a huge plus (and they all work great!). The shower was hot with great pressure. The Mantra phrases, signage and uniforms are fun to read and make for a fun environment. The gym is one of the nicest hotel gyms we've used…great equipment, well taken care of, air conditioned and with a great view. The free shuttle service to the beach was also a great amenity. The breakfast was fresh and tasty….with lots to chose from. Room service was delicious and fast. The pool offered stunning views but plan on only enjoying it from in the pool… as there is little to no chance of getting a deck chair…they are full by 8am with people staking them out for the day. There is an alternate sun deck available though.

On a note for improvement...We went to happy hour and had tasty cocktails but while we were there, we watched one bartender (Farang) slurp from the spoon while he was making simple syrup and put the spoon back in it…and that same bartender used his hands to scoop the crushed ice into glasses and cover the glass with his hand while he shook the drink.

And while we throughly enjoyed this hotel and we make the most of everything….just a note for future bookers….do not book this hotel through an online booking site….only go directly through the Mantra's own website. They do not hold the same value to your booking if you book outside of them as we found out this trip.

We booked in early-November 2013 (for our stay that just past) through a well known online site after a special weekend sale was offered. If not for this booking site we wouldn't have even known about this hotel in the first place.

While it was a sale rate, that rate was obviously approved and offered by Mantra themselves, and was still for a specific category and specific room amenities (i.e.…Love room with jacuzzi and its own sun deck). This was not a rate where you just get whatever is available….it was specific to that room and cost more (even on sale) than another room option.

After booking, we were then in contact with Mantra directly to book a private dinner on our Love room veranda (the only type of room that has this capability) and were assured that all departments were aware and that it was all arranged. Upon checking in, we were informed that the private dinner was not possible as it was now high season….okay…totally understandable and not a problem. They offered to upgrade us to a Cozy room (this room is only a few baht more per night and does not have a sun deck, only a small balcony and no jacuzzi). When we were shown our room, it was viewing the sea but obstructed by the ducts and back of the kitchen. The ducts sprayed smoke and odours directly at our balcony so we wouldn't be able to sit outside. Not overly thrilled with the crappy location of this room, we asked to see the original Love room that we booked. This was to have a full sun deck w jacuzzi outside on the deck….they showed us our originally assigned room which turned out to be literally beside the parking lot….so to lay out on our veranda or sit in our jacuzzi meant that every car, shuttle, van, golf cart and person that came or went from the parking area and front lobby was just meters away and it was super noisy. and not at all private….hardly a LOVE room. Unfortunately, NOT a good location either, so….since we were informed that those were our only options as the hotel was fully booked, we opted to stay in the Cozy room which looked at the kitchen but at least didn't have so many people and traffic by it. (The hotel DID reroute the ductwork the very next morning so it didn't vent right at our balcony, so we do thank them for that and appreciate it).

We realize that it is peak season and that we got a sale rate, HOWEVER, this rate was sanctioned by the hotel on a website that THEY chose to promote their hotel and it was for a specific type and level of room, and since we booked in early November we would have thought that our booking would have warranted a better room/view as we booked so early, not the parking lot.

We were later informed (hush-hush from another staff) that we didn't get a 'prime' view/room assigned to our booking since we didn't go through the hotel to book directly, rather an online site and because we paid less for that room than other clients.

THAT was a huge disappointment. Very upsetting to know that our booking was clearly not as valuable simply because we got it on sale (that they offered!) and didn't go through Mantra directly. That's like saying I should expect sour milk if I get it on sale!!!

As much as we loved this hotel and it's concept and amenities, this booking incident spoiled it for us. We will also certainly think twice before using an online booking website again.

Room Tip: Avoid Cozy 234B…while your view is still nice-ish…it is mainly looking at the back of the kitchen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear 2RoamingGnomies

Thank you for your review I am very glad that you had a great time at Mantra it seems that you took advantage of all the amazing facilities we provide

It is nice if we can hear constructive feedback – at the same time I feel I have to addrerss the inaccuracies mentioned in your review.

Over 80% of all our Guests come from various Travel websites. And for this we are very grateful. These websites enable a privately owned hotel to compete with all the chain hotels. Before the arrival of these websites a Family owned boutique hotel like Mantra would do have had a chance. A significant portion of our success is due to the fact that these agencies provide us much appreciated visibility.

The other significant part of our success comes from understanding that if we treat our colleagues and partners right – our Guests will be treated right as well.

How would it be possible to be awarded a travelers choice both in the Luxury Hotel and in the Top Hotel category every year in our existence if we would treat Guests differently based on their reservations. I am sorry but that is just silly.

Room allocation at every hotel (and of course at Mantra as well) is based on several factors. Guest preference (based on fitness level, age, preference – higher / lower level rooms etc), Technical status (whether something needs to be fixed or not), arrival times (if two Guest have similar preferences and arrive at on the same day the earlier arriving Guests will be offered the room that is available earlier) etc.

The last available room on your arrival was one of two rooms that does not have the most amazing view. While this room is usually favored by people who dislike stairs, our colleagues thought to offer you a complimentary upgrade (instead of a studio room a one bedroom suite that is almost double the size of your original booking).

They did this because our most important value is to show Love and they tried to show empathy towards your situation.

The room that was offered is one of the favorite rooms of our Guests – as a matter of fact our longest ever Guest stay (49 days) has happened in that exact room.

Mantra is a very relaxed five star hotel. We understand that Guests come here to relax and we do everything we can – allocation permitting - to make sure that all Guests are allocated to rooms that match their preference regardless of where they book.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
252
1,065
50
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Just left mantra samui after a wonderful 4 day stay to end our holiday in Thailand and it was the perfect way to sign off.

The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you, the rooms are modern with very comfortable beds, the cocktails are mixed by bar tenders who actually know what they are doing and the food was excellent. Breakfast in particular was fantastic with a very high quality of French pastries, fruits and hot dishes on display.

The pool area is great for lazing in the sun and cooling off again.

It is far from the main road but shuttle buses run every hour, laid on by the hotel for free, to the major beaches and back.

The resort is on a steep hill which may prove tough for disabled or elderly peope however the resort has golf carts and drivers ready to pick you up or drop you off where you like so I'm sure it's not a big problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been meaning to review Mantra Samui for quite some time now as we stayed for 10 nights in June 2013 for our Honeymoon. We could not have better things to say about our stay and this resort as whole. We have traveled extensively both within the United States and throughout Europe and Asia, and we are accustomed to acclimating to our local environment and culture, therefore the common complaints about inconsistent water temperature, language barriers and lack of certain amenities seem so trivial and petty. It is a shame that other reviewers would allow these things to cloud their judgment of this amazingly beautiful place.

Admittedly, we did spoil ourselves on this trip and would recommend that you take full advantage of what the resort has to offer:

1. Breakfast is a MUST. Get up early even on vacation to take full advantage of the delicious coffee and croissants! Even try the noodle soup for breakfast as it was delish. I am a picky eater, but had no problem being adventurous here.

2. Do yourself a favor and book a massage. We did a 90-minute couples massage every other day of our stay. I have never left a place more relaxed. Boom Boom was a great therapist!

3. Use the Front Desk staff to assist in booking your excursions. They were very knowledgable and helpful. Zita (I think her name was - a Hungarian girl) was particularly helpful. They can also assist in car and scooter rentals whenever needed.

4. The pool is gorgeous! We never had any concerns about the towels although others tend to constantly complain about them. It does get crowded though, so I would recommend snagging a spot immediately after breakfast.

5. Best Sticky Roce Dessert EVER! And we love our Sticky Rice. Another MUST HAVE.

Lastly, I really want to commend Robert on his superior management skills. I am in the travel industry and have seen the good, the bad and the ugly in this business. Robert is very visible, approachable and you can tell that he strives to make the resort the best it can be. I appreciated all that he and his staff did to make our vacation unforgettable and would highly recommend Mantra Samui to anyone looking for a dream vacation.

Room Tip: The LOVE rooms were spectacular for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Mantra Koh Samui was absolutely fantastic! The staff are so friendly and they go out of their way to make sure that you have the best stay possible. The food in the restaurant was fantastic! The view from everywhere in the resort was amazing. From all corners you could see the ocean and from most places at the resort you could see the amazing pool. The location was nice nd remote, being on top of a hill but, it was a bit of a pain to catch the shuttle if you wanted to go anywhere. Having said that, the shuttle service would come up the hill to the reception office making it a nice walk from your room down the hill to reception. All in all, the Mantra was a fantastic place to stay and I would absolutely suggest it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiie-strvoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was the first time we visited Thailand and, boy did we pick the right place. The hotel is set up in the hills which provides amazing views of the ocean and surrounding lush landscape. We could actually lay in bed with the sliding doors wide open and just stare out to sea.
Breakfast every morning was plentiful and varied although, after 13 days, I think I had enough fresh salmon. The fruits were health motivating and the service never short of friendly.
The infinity pool next to the restaurant was perfect. Clean and fresh it exploited the location by allowing any bather to waste time gazing endlessly to the nearby islands or sit at the pool bar sipping a Singha.
Location was a short drive to Fishermans Village which was quiet most of the time, or a 20 minute ride to Chaweng where most of the action is. The beach is fantastic and was especially attractive as the sun went down.
The Hotel staff were always friendly and responded to any requests we had with a smile. Rooms were clean, restaurant and cutlery were clean and presentable.
We really liked this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked for just 1 night out of 5 in Samui but ended staying the 5 nights as we liked it so much....
This hotel suited our needs, the colleagues were friendly, helpful and professional throughout our stay and from the beginning that's why we did not hesitate to book for the whole 5 nights!!!
Our experience was great and we would recommend to friends and family....the ONLY couple of things that might trigger a disappointment is that it's quite a good 10/15 minutes from a beach...and the Mantra needs now to be re decorating outside for sure and in the rooms too.....BUT that's all, do not be put off by this....here goes:
Welcoming/checking:
Easy, great welcome and friendly
Boy showed us to our room, but before also took us ( kart) to pool/ breakfast area etc...very helpful so that you know where to go etc...
He also told us all there was to know about the room and the facilities.
Room:
Spacious,clean and very comfortable bed with choice of pillows and bedding.....
Bathroom clean,large but a little dark
All necessary toiletries and towels were very soft and nice too.
The robes were different, not your usual white but kimono style. Flip flop,beach bags also provided...
The decor was adequate also in the room a coffee machine but at a small cost for a capsule....the best thing is the FREE WORLWIDE PHONE CALLS to mobile or other...where else do you get to call WORLWIDE for free?????
The wifi was good too.....
Our "LOVE"room was just great and was what we needed for our stay.
Breakfast:
The best ever...fresh fruit juice,any kind of eggs and well presented, yogurt,croissants ( very nice) cakes,soup,rice...cheese fruits any coffee espresso,latte.
The breakfast is the BEST I have ever had....and the service was as good as the breakfast. Well done to the chefs,the colleagues who do an amazing jobs....
( even if you are fussy about food, you ll find something for you to enjoy)
Cinema:
Yes there is even a cinema....with nice comfy seats, but try change the timing maybe a little late in the evening?
The Gym
Very nice and big to suit the real pro!
The Pool:
Great place to chill with amazing views, the pool towels are nice and big and clean!!!

In general, the Mantra is a nice place to stay at and chill.
It offers great views, peace and quiet with nice and friendly staff.
For some of you it might not be ideal as it is up high.
For the duration if our stay we hired a bike from the hotel(300) and another from the main road at 250/day
We did the whole island twice,got about as we wanted and visited many places. The roads are safe...if you already drive you ll know the way to go about....we were careful, we didn't go mad on speeding but simply rode the roads with care, even a night!!!!I would advise this to get around...
When it was time to leave, we ordered a taxi to the airport ( this is offered free if you book directly with the hotel) and we got taken there in style and on time.
We LOVED our stay at Mantra and will for sure come back....
Thank you to the whole team for your kindness,your lovely smile and from reception to chefs to cleaners, you do a great job and do not let anyone tell you otherwise....
Have a wonderful NEW YEAR and no doubt in 2014 I ll come and say hello and stay for a night or 2!

Best regards

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyejc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Mantra is by no means the poshest hotel we've stayed at, but it was one of the best hotel experiences I've had. I was genuinely sad to leave, but we're heading back for our last night in Samui. Service is exceptional - the staff are happy, courteous, helpful and attentive. The management have done a superior job of training staff to live and breathe the mantra way of doing things. We stayed in a love room with a jacuzzi and a 'wow' room. Both were lovely. Breakfast is delicious - it'll make you want to get out of bed in the morning! The pool is a bit chilly, but it's huge - I swam laps and there was always somewhere to sit around the pool as well. The gym was another highlight and there's also a squash court and yoga classes. The shuttle service to Chewang and Bophut was reliable and a real perk. While we stayed at Mantra, my husband suffered a pretty severe injury while running. The staff showed genuine care and did everything they could to help us while he recuperated, including giving him buckets of ice and offering to take us to the hospital.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 185 in Bophut
2,326 reviews
3.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,074 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing