We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good,, not so bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good,, not so bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hi All,
We stayed here for 2 nights recently.
Some Pointers:
*Awesome view
*Amazing staff (Good service quality)
*Shuttle service (Many have reviewed that shuttle service is available to anywhere in samui, but i would like to make a correction here, Shuttle service is only available for Bophut and Chaweng beach-nowhere else)
*Food was good
*Free International Calls
*Located on a hill, although hotel provides shuttle services but still you dont feel that free to go just anywhere, as you have to stick to shuttle timings
*Expensive in comparison to what it offers
*Breakfast spread - Not good. Almost nothing for Vegetarians (When i demanded for something vegetarian, it was prepared for me, but still i could not enjoy the spread except the fruits)
*We stayed in their Love Jacuzzi room, it is good but the minus point is that they just have one AC in the room and it is not enough to beat the scorching heat (Rooms are sun facing). Our room was hot all the times
I would recommend this hotel, only if you dont want to go to the beach often and just enjoy the views.
Happy Travelling

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher side are better, so that nobody peeks into your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trangri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,036
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mantra for 6 nights and were very fortunate to have a room with uninterrupted views.....on the highest level. Not all rooms had these views. Fortunately the hotel provides speedy and efficient service transporting guests around the establishment in "golf carts" which was an absolutely necessity unless you are a mountain goat. The views from the infinity pool are fabulous, also from the restaurant. Great food presentation and options at all mealtimes. It was enjoyable that we could take the hotel shuttle to the busier areas of Koh Samui, walk and shop to your hearts content, and be picked up by shuttle again to return to a peaceful location. For the more couragous drivers, there are plenty of hire vehicles and hundreds of hire motor bikes to take you around the island. Great value all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 7 nights together with my wife.
Originally we booked this hotel Sept 8-14 because we would travel further to Ko Phangan.
When arrived in our Phangan hotel we had like homesickness, therefore we decided to return back to Mantra for another night.

One thing should be said, you must be aware that the hotel is not at the beach side but a bit higher up in the hills. Yes, you must rely on renting scooter/car or taking hotel shuttle (free of charge, and runs very often) to go to the Bophut or Chaweng beach. We were very much aware of this and we just enjoyed the fantastic scenery from our room, so lovely to see the see and Phangan Island at the horizon.

We had booked a Love room, which comes with a jacuzzi on the balcony.
The room was spacious and nicely designed. The bed was large and the mattrass of good quality. Wifi (free) was working alright. the cleaning staff did their work well, as the room was cleaned each day very well. Negative was that from time to time there was a bad small from the douche drain.

The swimming pool is quite big and offers GREAT sights, very relaxing to swim in. The water was clean and had just the right temperature.

The breakfast was simply overwhelming, so many choices to choose from. The food was of excellent quality, great eggs (just say how you want the eggs) and pancakes, but also Thai noodles and western pastries. Top quality tea and coffee.

The staff is trained very well, they have a very friendly attitute and are very much willing to give you a fantastic stay in Mantra.


As mentioned above we have returned to Mantra after staying 3 nights in Koh Phangan, before taking our flight to Bangkok. As my wife and injured her feet seriously in Koh Phangan, she could not walk easily. for that reason were got an upgrade to the COZY Suite, because that room was most close to the breakfast room. Thanks again for this! it was HIGHLY appreciated!

I can continue my story about all the great things of Mantra, but would advice you to book a room and just experience it yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The only bad thing i can say about this hotel is that it is located quite far from everything, but the hotel organises free shuttles during the whole day practically anywhere, the room was spectacular, every room have a pc loaded with thousands of free movies directly to the flat screen and also internet access to facebook and google, the flatscreen is facing the sofa which we found to be not so comfortable as we usually wanted to end the day in the bed watching a movie... the breakfast was god, the pastries were amazing - the best in thailand. the rooms are located on a hill, and you are taken to the rooms by golf carts, but when you want to go to breakfast you have to clime it, not so good but ok (you can call the reception when you want to go and they will send someone to take you up if you wish), beautiful pool!!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms only, ground floor rooms are open for everybody to look into - no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phindatalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent value for the money. Room and amenities were good, free room service, good food, good minibar. Excellent breakfast and free. Staff was very friendly and came at a moment's notice. Location is a bit isolated so if you don't rent a car or scooter you feel a bit stranded, however, can take shuttle service which is a nice benefit. This hotel is more for those who want to kick back and relax, enjoy the pool, get a massage and relax with room service and a movie. If you are looking to be in the action, probably not the right hotel for you.

CONS: My only recommendation is watch what room you get! I got a room over the kitchen and the smoke and smell coming up from the grill was intense. I didn't use the deck for that reason. It wasn't a major complaint as the view was stunning even with the sliding doors closed, but I did have some trouble breathing if I went out on the deck. If I had been staying more than a couple days, I probably would have asked for a new room. Also they need to clean out those air conditioner vents... I found soot on the floor every morning.

Room Tip: Do not get a room above the kitchen. Smoke and major smell coming up through the grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Amy


I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review!

It was very good to read that overall you had a good time with us and I hope that we can welcome you in the future.

I was very sorry to read that you did not like your room but was even sorrier that you did not let us know about the issue. We created and nurture Mantra to a be a place where our Guests have a fun and relaxing holiday. If we know about an issue we are always happy to help. We understand that preferences might differ. Some people prefer higher floor room some prefer to be situated close to the pool. If we know about those preferences we always do our best to keep them at priority.
We also feel that our location is one of our biggest advantages.

Mantra is located on a hill and this location makes it possible that all Guests can enjoy amazing views from all our rooms our restaurant, our fitness center, yoga room and also from our spa.

Being located in Bophut also means that we are only 10 minutes away from Fisherman’s Village and 20 minutes from Chaweng – on wheels. We provide 22 complimentary shuttles per day ( a service that is unparalleled on Samui even among hotels on similar location the maximum shuttle is 3 per day) including drop offs and pick ups. In addition Guests can rent motorbikes and cars in the comfort of our reception and all day tours include a pick up right from our lobby.

Thank you again for your review!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved our experience at the Mantra! From the time we checked in, we were treated warmly and welcomed like family. Throughout our 10 days there, we were consistently greeted warmly by the entire staff. They loved giving us tips on beaches and fun things to do, too!

The hotel is fun and modern, with lots of whimsical touches. Our room was beautiful, clean, modern, and comfortable. The view was to die for. The staff set it up with flowers for our honeymoon- so romantic! Breakfast every day was complimentary and there was lots of variety. All of the food/drinks were delicious. Snacks in the room are healthy and locally sourced. Gym, yoga, and pool facilities were gorgeous and perfectly maintained.

We loved exploring too-- the hotel is up on a private, quiet hill but it's still close to bophut and chaweng...we got a scooter from the hotel for a really reasonable price and enjoyed zipping around Samui!

We were given a really cute parting gift, too.

We will definitely be back. Truly amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmb323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and overall we really enjoyed the resort.

Downsides:
- On a hill so yes there is a a few stairs in the heat. They do have buggies you can call when ever you need to go out.
- Only 1 restaurant. There FAQ's on there website state there is also Damma Dining but this is closed
- Ministry of coffee which is also stated in their FAQ's and brochure but is non existent
- Juice bar at the gym never has any service
- Daily Yoga classes are from 5-6.30pm - Who wants to do yoga at cocktail hour? I would suggest they put on some morning classes
- Shuttles are very limited and taxi's will charge you a bit to go up the hill
- No 'do not disturb' sign in our room so we were woken up by cleaners in the morning.
- You have to pay for every coffee capsule used. Their website is a little deceiving in saying they have put an 'Illy coffee capsule' in every room but it really so they can make money in the end.
- There are not enough sun beds at the pool and they are very different to the ones pictured on their website. Some people even put there stuff on the beds before going to breakfast to ensure they have a bed for the day.
- We couldn't make one international call. It always said the lines were busy. They say 'unlimited international calls' but they are definitely limited!
- There are no doona's on the beds, only one sheet so after one night we both had colds from having the aircon on (low).

Upsides:
- Great massage! My husband is very picky and only like very hard deep tissue massages and even he was impressed.
- Food from the restaurant is good and not too expensive. There is no extra to get any of the food delivered to your room which is great.
- Views from the pool are amazing
- You can hire a scooter from the hotel for 300 Baht per day which is great to get around Koh Samui. You can get it for half the price in town but it isn't really worth the effort.
- Happy hour - 2 for 1 cocktails from 3-6pm are great!
- The service at breakfast is better than any other hotel I have stayed at. Most hotels have their worst staff working breakfast but Mantra has their best staff on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nicci,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about Mantra!

I was really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant and the view from you room!

For the benefit of future visitors I would like to respond to some of you comments:

The schedule of the complimentary yoga classes was created based on the feedback of our Guests and on average we have 6-8 people participating every day. We used to have morning classes but they were seldom used an hence we focus on sharing our love of yoga in the afternoons.

I was sorry to hear that you could not use our phone. We use IP phones which means that in essence thee phones are mini computers and access the internet. sometimes they need to be refreshed. I have checked our records and we do not have records of service request for the phones during your stay with us. One can simply restart the phone by turning them off and on - or of course our engineers that are stand by 24 hrs a day will be happy to help.

Samui is on of the hottest places on earth where the average night temperature is seldom below 26 degrees Celsius. We are an environmentally conscious hotel and encourage our Guests to help sustain tourism on this island by reducing our energy consumption. We feel it is quite wasteful to cool the room with airconditioning only to have a thick duvet cover to keep cool. Of course if someone wishes to use a duvet all he/she needs to do is call our reception and we will provide one within minutes. The next time you visit us feel free to call.

We provide the highest quality illy espresso machines in our rooms and Guests need to pay for the capsules. We provide numerous complimentary services (yoga classes, cooking classes, unlimited international phone calls, 22 complimentary shuttle rides (drop offs and pick ups together), thousands of movies in every room, complimentary wifi and complimentary PC in every room. We feel that at our price point this is unparalleled on the island.

We are careful not to exaggerate and nowhere do we mention that the coffee is free of charge. Similarly we mention that the room comes with a mini-bar but Guests generally do not expect it to mean free vodka.

We can also provide nescafe powder upon request free of charge for all Guests.

Thank you again for your review.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing