We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value but be aware of the location and pick the right room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value but be aware of the location and pick the right room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent value for the money. Room and amenities were good, free room service, good food, good minibar. Excellent breakfast and free. Staff was very friendly and came at a moment's notice. Location is a bit isolated so if you don't rent a car or scooter you feel a bit stranded, however, can take shuttle service which is a nice benefit. This hotel is more for those who want to kick back and relax, enjoy the pool, get a massage and relax with room service and a movie. If you are looking to be in the action, probably not the right hotel for you.

CONS: My only recommendation is watch what room you get! I got a room over the kitchen and the smoke and smell coming up from the grill was intense. I didn't use the deck for that reason. It wasn't a major complaint as the view was stunning even with the sliding doors closed, but I did have some trouble breathing if I went out on the deck. If I had been staying more than a couple days, I probably would have asked for a new room. Also they need to clean out those air conditioner vents... I found soot on the floor every morning.

Room Tip: Do not get a room above the kitchen. Smoke and major smell coming up through the grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Amy


I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review!

It was very good to read that overall you had a good time with us and I hope that we can welcome you in the future.

I was very sorry to read that you did not like your room but was even sorrier that you did not let us know about the issue. We created and nurture Mantra to a be a place where our Guests have a fun and relaxing holiday. If we know about an issue we are always happy to help. We understand that preferences might differ. Some people prefer higher floor room some prefer to be situated close to the pool. If we know about those preferences we always do our best to keep them at priority.
We also feel that our location is one of our biggest advantages.

Mantra is located on a hill and this location makes it possible that all Guests can enjoy amazing views from all our rooms our restaurant, our fitness center, yoga room and also from our spa.

Being located in Bophut also means that we are only 10 minutes away from Fisherman’s Village and 20 minutes from Chaweng – on wheels. We provide 22 complimentary shuttles per day ( a service that is unparalleled on Samui even among hotels on similar location the maximum shuttle is 3 per day) including drop offs and pick ups. In addition Guests can rent motorbikes and cars in the comfort of our reception and all day tours include a pick up right from our lobby.

Thank you again for your review!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
234
1,033
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I loved our experience at the Mantra! From the time we checked in, we were treated warmly and welcomed like family. Throughout our 10 days there, we were consistently greeted warmly by the entire staff. They loved giving us tips on beaches and fun things to do, too!

The hotel is fun and modern, with lots of whimsical touches. Our room was beautiful, clean, modern, and comfortable. The view was to die for. The staff set it up with flowers for our honeymoon- so romantic! Breakfast every day was complimentary and there was lots of variety. All of the food/drinks were delicious. Snacks in the room are healthy and locally sourced. Gym, yoga, and pool facilities were gorgeous and perfectly maintained.

We loved exploring too-- the hotel is up on a private, quiet hill but it's still close to bophut and chaweng...we got a scooter from the hotel for a really reasonable price and enjoyed zipping around Samui!

We were given a really cute parting gift, too.

We will definitely be back. Truly amazing experience!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmb323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and overall we really enjoyed the resort.

Downsides:
- On a hill so yes there is a a few stairs in the heat. They do have buggies you can call when ever you need to go out.
- Only 1 restaurant. There FAQ's on there website state there is also Damma Dining but this is closed
- Ministry of coffee which is also stated in their FAQ's and brochure but is non existent
- Juice bar at the gym never has any service
- Daily Yoga classes are from 5-6.30pm - Who wants to do yoga at cocktail hour? I would suggest they put on some morning classes
- Shuttles are very limited and taxi's will charge you a bit to go up the hill
- No 'do not disturb' sign in our room so we were woken up by cleaners in the morning.
- You have to pay for every coffee capsule used. Their website is a little deceiving in saying they have put an 'Illy coffee capsule' in every room but it really so they can make money in the end.
- There are not enough sun beds at the pool and they are very different to the ones pictured on their website. Some people even put there stuff on the beds before going to breakfast to ensure they have a bed for the day.
- We couldn't make one international call. It always said the lines were busy. They say 'unlimited international calls' but they are definitely limited!
- There are no doona's on the beds, only one sheet so after one night we both had colds from having the aircon on (low).

Upsides:
- Great massage! My husband is very picky and only like very hard deep tissue massages and even he was impressed.
- Food from the restaurant is good and not too expensive. There is no extra to get any of the food delivered to your room which is great.
- Views from the pool are amazing
- You can hire a scooter from the hotel for 300 Baht per day which is great to get around Koh Samui. You can get it for half the price in town but it isn't really worth the effort.
- Happy hour - 2 for 1 cocktails from 3-6pm are great!
- The service at breakfast is better than any other hotel I have stayed at. Most hotels have their worst staff working breakfast but Mantra has their best staff on!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Nicci,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about Mantra!

I was really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our restaurant and the view from you room!

For the benefit of future visitors I would like to respond to some of you comments:

The schedule of the complimentary yoga classes was created based on the feedback of our Guests and on average we have 6-8 people participating every day. We used to have morning classes but they were seldom used an hence we focus on sharing our love of yoga in the afternoons.

I was sorry to hear that you could not use our phone. We use IP phones which means that in essence thee phones are mini computers and access the internet. sometimes they need to be refreshed. I have checked our records and we do not have records of service request for the phones during your stay with us. One can simply restart the phone by turning them off and on - or of course our engineers that are stand by 24 hrs a day will be happy to help.

Samui is on of the hottest places on earth where the average night temperature is seldom below 26 degrees Celsius. We are an environmentally conscious hotel and encourage our Guests to help sustain tourism on this island by reducing our energy consumption. We feel it is quite wasteful to cool the room with airconditioning only to have a thick duvet cover to keep cool. Of course if someone wishes to use a duvet all he/she needs to do is call our reception and we will provide one within minutes. The next time you visit us feel free to call.

We provide the highest quality illy espresso machines in our rooms and Guests need to pay for the capsules. We provide numerous complimentary services (yoga classes, cooking classes, unlimited international phone calls, 22 complimentary shuttle rides (drop offs and pick ups together), thousands of movies in every room, complimentary wifi and complimentary PC in every room. We feel that at our price point this is unparalleled on the island.

We are careful not to exaggerate and nowhere do we mention that the coffee is free of charge. Similarly we mention that the room comes with a mini-bar but Guests generally do not expect it to mean free vodka.

We can also provide nescafe powder upon request free of charge for all Guests.

Thank you again for your review.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 6 nights at the Mantra and had a mixed experience. On the positives - wonderful view from the room (we had a Wow room), the pool and restaurant. The room was nice and the king sized bed one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom was a wet room and well laid out. They had an espresso machine but no real milk just creamer powder (I got room service to deliver the real stuff), good sized flat screen TV and the free calls home were a fantastic addition. The service was excellent and the food at the restaurant wonderful. On the downside it's on a hill...a steep, steep hill which ok they do buggy you from the lobby to your room but to go to the pool and restaurant was kind of in the middle so there were stairs, lots and lots of stairs which by day 4 sucked. Also don't rely on the WiFi, it's hit and miss. They had a power surge at one point and both of our Apple chargers were in the wall and were fried. It also killed the rooms WiFi and although they sent someone to fix it we had no WiFi through the TV from that point on. There is only one restaurant so if the hotel is busy you have to book to get a table otherwise it's room service which we actually preferred. Don't count on getting a lounger by the pool there's no chance. They really can't do anything about this due to space but your more likely to have to dump your stuff on the ground then get a seat by the pool. Oh and take your insect repellant, the mossies will eat you alive at night. Overall, a mixed bag, not quite a five star experience but still pretty good in parts.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent 5 nights at this wonderful resort. The staff could not do enough for you.The Mantra music selection and Video options in your room were fantastic. With our deal we had free international calls to home and access to the internet. Our room and private balcony was beautiful overlooking the ocean. The view from the pool and restaurant was to die for. The staff were very friendly. They have thought of everything. Spent time in Fishermans Village only 10 minutes away on a free shuttle. Beautiful restaurants along the beach and plenty of shopping stalls too. Would love to visit again some day.

Room Tip: The resort is built on a steep hill so there is plenty of steps but they provide a golf cart that ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife spent three days here, it was the highlight of our trip, the resort is beautiful, the architecture is great, but what tops everything else is the staff at the hotel!
Location=
The resort is on top of a big hill and everything is on different levels, but you don't have to climb around as you can always call for a free golf cart to come pick you up wherever you are and it arrives in seconds. Also a free shuttle to both chaweng and bo phut operates almost every hour till 1030pm. It's a great place relax and unwind with gorgeous view of the ocean.
Rooms=
We stayed at the love Jacuzzi, it was a big room with a big balcony, very artfully done, the room had a computer with wireless keyboard and mouse connected to the TV with XBMC and a ton of movies that you could watch and a huge music collection, TV was a bit small though.
theJacuzzi was in the balcony overlooking the ocean and had curtains if you wanted privacy. The room also had a small collection of novels to read. Also free international calls! There was even a proper coffeemachine in the rroom .
Pool=
Gigantic pool on the edge of the hill with a beautiful view of the ocean and a huge poolside bar with the best cocktails ever, a bit pricey but the bartenders really know their stuff. The pool area is amazing, we just wanted to spend the whole day there,the vviews are to die for.
I have to give 10/10 to the staff, very accommodating and friendly and give good advice. The staff is what makes any resort and the ones here were chosen well.

We will definitely be coming back. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice peaceful atmosphere and breathtaking views!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Yes. The hotel has excellent views...if thats what floats your boat. Oh, the gym is also above average....the best quality I have seen on samui. However, the rest is not so good. Service is horrible. Sorry to say....but the standard, compared to other hotels in the region is not comparable. You have to keep following up on things. for example, my laundry.....it took 2 and a half days to get my clothes back via the hotel.....this is absurd for samui standards. The hotel reception kept telling me excuses for the delay...I had to threaten them with a complaint before I had my laundry returned within 30 mins. Also, room service is terrible. Don't believe when they say 15 mins....Im still waiting for my hamburger...over 40 mins, and still not delivery. Also, the Wifi is below par. You will be forever trying to download. I also had problems with the ipod docking station....it never worked. They advertise a lot of things, but Im afraid the standard does not live up to the expectations. I am very disappointed. I think you will find better value with other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the love rooms...very tacky. For eg.....there are condoms and ky in the love room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing