We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the mountain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife spent three days here, it was the highlight of our trip, the resort is beautiful, the architecture is great, but what tops everything else is the staff at the hotel!
Location=
The resort is on top of a big hill and everything is on different levels, but you don't have to climb around as you can always call for a free golf cart to come pick you up wherever you are and it arrives in seconds. Also a free shuttle to both chaweng and bo phut operates almost every hour till 1030pm. It's a great place relax and unwind with gorgeous view of the ocean.
Rooms=
We stayed at the love Jacuzzi, it was a big room with a big balcony, very artfully done, the room had a computer with wireless keyboard and mouse connected to the TV with XBMC and a ton of movies that you could watch and a huge music collection, TV was a bit small though.
theJacuzzi was in the balcony overlooking the ocean and had curtains if you wanted privacy. The room also had a small collection of novels to read. Also free international calls! There was even a proper coffeemachine in the rroom .
Pool=
Gigantic pool on the edge of the hill with a beautiful view of the ocean and a huge poolside bar with the best cocktails ever, a bit pricey but the bartenders really know their stuff. The pool area is amazing, we just wanted to spend the whole day there,the vviews are to die for.
I have to give 10/10 to the staff, very accommodating and friendly and give good advice. The staff is what makes any resort and the ones here were chosen well.

We will definitely be coming back. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice peaceful atmosphere and breathtaking views!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamsher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Yes. The hotel has excellent views...if thats what floats your boat. Oh, the gym is also above average....the best quality I have seen on samui. However, the rest is not so good. Service is horrible. Sorry to say....but the standard, compared to other hotels in the region is not comparable. You have to keep following up on things. for example, my laundry.....it took 2 and a half days to get my clothes back via the hotel.....this is absurd for samui standards. The hotel reception kept telling me excuses for the delay...I had to threaten them with a complaint before I had my laundry returned within 30 mins. Also, room service is terrible. Don't believe when they say 15 mins....Im still waiting for my hamburger...over 40 mins, and still not delivery. Also, the Wifi is below par. You will be forever trying to download. I also had problems with the ipod docking station....it never worked. They advertise a lot of things, but Im afraid the standard does not live up to the expectations. I am very disappointed. I think you will find better value with other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the love rooms...very tacky. For eg.....there are condoms and ky in the love room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in February 2013. This place was simply lovely.
We arrived quite late in the evening but check in was a breeze. Our room was at the very top so you definitely needed a golf cart to whisk you up there - but there always seemed plenty of these around so it never felt like an inconvenience.

Our room was large, had a great sea view and really comfortable. Bed was large and comfy and the room was equipped with all mod cons. The TV/PC system was fantastic. The library of films and shows was extensive. We also really appreciated the free Wifi.

Breakfasts were fabulous! So much choice on offer, I'm not surprised that I gained weight on this trip. Lots of fruit, cereals, breads, pastries as well as different cooked breakfast options. Definitely a highlight.

The pool area was beautiful. Although the sun loungers were really funky, some had seen better days and there just wasn't enough room for everyone. We were lucky to get beds every day but we are early risers so we didn't struggle. However late sleepers did struggle and we did see a couple of heated exchanges between people about bed hogging.

The bar was great. The cocktails were delicious - my favourite being the porn star martini which was just the best!

We only ate at the hotel a couple of times. Food was good but we preferred venturing out and trying new things. Shuttle buses to Fisherman's Village and Chaweng Beach were very convenient.

All in all this was one of the best value for money trips I have ever taken. The hotel had a cool, laid back boutique vibe which we really liked. What really made it special was the staff who were attentive to your needs and really made you feel welcomed. I would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top may not have jacuzzi baths but they have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Mantra for three nights. The rooms are big and the view from the rooms is one great. The service provided by the hotel staff was wonderful and made the stay more enjoyable. Although the property is located on a hillside and is rather steep walk to the room, the buggy service provided makes it enjoyable and you do not actually have to climb too many steps unless you want to. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to Bophut beach and Chaweng. Strongly recommend unless you are old or have knee problems.

Room Tip: The love rooms on the higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel not what you expect from looking at on the internet. Had a love room with a great view but on the balcony we had two sun beds which were ripped and not very comfy to lay on. Our bed was on a wooden platform which from the moment you walk in the room you straight away bang your shin into the platform, not sure why it is there but very painful and not practical although the bed itself very comfortable, bathroom quite good and storage is good also good storage for clothes. The service could be better with our mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities not being replaced everyday we had to ring to get replenished nearly everyday. The gardens are lovely and pool area is clean but not enough sun beds quite a few times we couldn't get a sun bed the area is quite small for how big the pool is and you do get a great view from the pool. The hotel in on a hill so walking to breakfast was quite hard you could ring for a buggy but we just did the hill climb and and suffered sore legs everyday, if you want a workout this is for you. The gym is very good, it also has a great view and the spa is lovely along with the staff, we had great massages from Soa and Mam. We also found the communication quite hard but usually there was someone around the help if this was a problem. Founbd the restaurant to be good for breakfast choices but with lunch and dinner I didn't think there were as many choices, so we ate out most nights. As this hotel is highly rated I would have expected it to be better.

Room Tip: Not sure where to advise to get a room as it looked as if there where quite steep hills no matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnL900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights could have stayed another week. Hired a scooter only way to travel around gives you so much freedom. View from our room second to none.very clean & friendly resort. Staff wonderful , communication a little hard sometimes but then again their English is much better than my Thai.
Poolside area & grounds kept very neat & tidy.
My only constructive complaint would be the food the only part of our stay that did not have that loving feeling,for a 5 star resort does not come within a mile of Shangri La group.
There are some great restaurants on the island.
Robert Manager congenial & has his heart in the resort & the well being of guest.
bazzaboy66.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzaboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for six nights in one of the 'love' rooms. The room had a comfortable bed, was simply and nicely decorated had a good bathroom with double sink and excellent shower, a TV with lots of movies, internet, WiFi and PC with Internet connection. The balcony was large and comprised a double sun bed and Jacuzzi and was ideal for relaxing and taking in the amazing views of the beach, sea and neighbouring islands.

Yes this hotel is on a steep hill and the hotel is not within walking distance to the fisherman s village, however as stated in the reviews below the staff are more than happy to run you around in the buggies and the shuttle service into the village and Chawang is good, but they do not have a late return and hence I would recommend you factor in the price of cabs (you can get a reasonable price if you are prepared to haggle ....)

What really made this a fantastic stay for my wife and I was the location of the hotel (it was good to be away from the hustle and bustle of the village and Chawang throughout the day and we were happy to shuttle in of an evening) with its relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff, excellent infinity pool with amazing views of the sea and islands and the comprehensive, tasty and relaxed breakfast we had each morning.

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank The-Popalongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#17 of 104 in Chaweng
1,325 reviews
4.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $100 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing