We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel with beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #23 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in February 2013. This place was simply lovely.
We arrived quite late in the evening but check in was a breeze. Our room was at the very top so you definitely needed a golf cart to whisk you up there - but there always seemed plenty of these around so it never felt like an inconvenience.

Our room was large, had a great sea view and really comfortable. Bed was large and comfy and the room was equipped with all mod cons. The TV/PC system was fantastic. The library of films and shows was extensive. We also really appreciated the free Wifi.

Breakfasts were fabulous! So much choice on offer, I'm not surprised that I gained weight on this trip. Lots of fruit, cereals, breads, pastries as well as different cooked breakfast options. Definitely a highlight.

The pool area was beautiful. Although the sun loungers were really funky, some had seen better days and there just wasn't enough room for everyone. We were lucky to get beds every day but we are early risers so we didn't struggle. However late sleepers did struggle and we did see a couple of heated exchanges between people about bed hogging.

The bar was great. The cocktails were delicious - my favourite being the porn star martini which was just the best!

We only ate at the hotel a couple of times. Food was good but we preferred venturing out and trying new things. Shuttle buses to Fisherman's Village and Chaweng Beach were very convenient.

All in all this was one of the best value for money trips I have ever taken. The hotel had a cool, laid back boutique vibe which we really liked. What really made it special was the staff who were attentive to your needs and really made you feel welcomed. I would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the top may not have jacuzzi baths but they have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    439
    123
    46
    14
See reviews for
232
1,029
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Mantra for three nights. The rooms are big and the view from the rooms is one great. The service provided by the hotel staff was wonderful and made the stay more enjoyable. Although the property is located on a hillside and is rather steep walk to the room, the buggy service provided makes it enjoyable and you do not actually have to climb too many steps unless you want to. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to Bophut beach and Chaweng. Strongly recommend unless you are old or have knee problems.

Room Tip: The love rooms on the higher floors have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel not what you expect from looking at on the internet. Had a love room with a great view but on the balcony we had two sun beds which were ripped and not very comfy to lay on. Our bed was on a wooden platform which from the moment you walk in the room you straight away bang your shin into the platform, not sure why it is there but very painful and not practical although the bed itself very comfortable, bathroom quite good and storage is good also good storage for clothes. The service could be better with our mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities not being replaced everyday we had to ring to get replenished nearly everyday. The gardens are lovely and pool area is clean but not enough sun beds quite a few times we couldn't get a sun bed the area is quite small for how big the pool is and you do get a great view from the pool. The hotel in on a hill so walking to breakfast was quite hard you could ring for a buggy but we just did the hill climb and and suffered sore legs everyday, if you want a workout this is for you. The gym is very good, it also has a great view and the spa is lovely along with the staff, we had great massages from Soa and Mam. We also found the communication quite hard but usually there was someone around the help if this was a problem. Founbd the restaurant to be good for breakfast choices but with lunch and dinner I didn't think there were as many choices, so we ate out most nights. As this hotel is highly rated I would have expected it to be better.

Room Tip: Not sure where to advise to get a room as it looked as if there where quite steep hills no matter wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnL900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights could have stayed another week. Hired a scooter only way to travel around gives you so much freedom. View from our room second to none.very clean & friendly resort. Staff wonderful , communication a little hard sometimes but then again their English is much better than my Thai.
Poolside area & grounds kept very neat & tidy.
My only constructive complaint would be the food the only part of our stay that did not have that loving feeling,for a 5 star resort does not come within a mile of Shangri La group.
There are some great restaurants on the island.
Robert Manager congenial & has his heart in the resort & the well being of guest.
bazzaboy66.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzaboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for six nights in one of the 'love' rooms. The room had a comfortable bed, was simply and nicely decorated had a good bathroom with double sink and excellent shower, a TV with lots of movies, internet, WiFi and PC with Internet connection. The balcony was large and comprised a double sun bed and Jacuzzi and was ideal for relaxing and taking in the amazing views of the beach, sea and neighbouring islands.

Yes this hotel is on a steep hill and the hotel is not within walking distance to the fisherman s village, however as stated in the reviews below the staff are more than happy to run you around in the buggies and the shuttle service into the village and Chawang is good, but they do not have a late return and hence I would recommend you factor in the price of cabs (you can get a reasonable price if you are prepared to haggle ....)

What really made this a fantastic stay for my wife and I was the location of the hotel (it was good to be away from the hustle and bustle of the village and Chawang throughout the day and we were happy to shuttle in of an evening) with its relaxed atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff, excellent infinity pool with amazing views of the sea and islands and the comprehensive, tasty and relaxed breakfast we had each morning.

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The-Popalongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed at Mantra for 2 and a half weeks in March/April 2013 for our honeymoon. It was very comfortable and they went out of their way to make us happy! Rose petals were scattered on our bed and jacuzzi bath on arrival (which they did again on request after my camera was stolen in town seeing that I wanted my special rose petal room pictures again). Boy was our go-to man and he was excellent and helped us with a big smile every time. Their breakfasts are amazing!! Best I've had! Try their coconut jam and nutella....yum. Their restaurant menu is also delicious. They have a resort evening once a week where they cook up a storm and its definitely worth going to - they will satisfy everyone's tastes. Their pool is lovely overlooking Thailand and very peaceful. Their rooms are very comfy and pretty, they have lots of movies and series to choose from. Your TV is your pc and you have 24/7 internet access on it. A big bonus is.....you can phone home at no charge!!! It was the weirdest and best thing ever. I'd absolutely go there again. The only downfall is is that it is far from town, they do have shuttles that run specific times (not always often enough). You can rent a scooter from the hotel, and it was def worth it! It was extremely (understatement) hot when we went and some days we did not want to leave our air conditioned room, so all the room perks were very useful.

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a front facing room in front of resort, as the people from the pool and restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinionJ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ok so this hotel is a boutique luxury hotel set in the hills overlooking Bhoput and the view is of the bay and Ko Pha-ngan. It's beautiful.

This is a lovely hotel but it is horses for course with this place and I'll explain:

Reception
It doesn't really have a reception as it's just a large desk in the middle of an open air lobby with the staff using laptops. The point being to create a friendly non-formal atmosphere. The hotel vans are right in front of the lobby along with scooters and the buggies which looks a little shabby. Hence, it doesn't have the look or feel of a luxury 5 star hotel when you arrive at reception. However, you need to be objective, it's a hotel in the hills so flat space is limited.

Room
We booked a 'Love Room' which is designed for couples but my wife and I absolutely hated the room. Very poor decor as no pictures on the walls or any real design. It was a square room with a bed in the middle and a small desk and sofa on either side of the room in front of the bed. The bathroom is behind the bed. Directly in front of the bed you have the patio with the Jacuzzi outside. It simply felt like a box with a bed in the middle. Again not the feel of a luxury 5 star hotel. However, some people may love it. The bed was rock hard and we didn't have a comfortable night's sleep. The bathroom is big but make sure you check under the bath wood floor as ours had not been cleaned and hence the drain was flooding during my first shower, although they cleaned it immediately when I called them. Jacuzzi was nice but as there are a lot of mosquitos it's not ideal to be outside.
We asked to have a different room and were downgraded to a 'Wow Room' which we thought was much better. It was at the top of the hotel with a much better view. Layout of the room was much more to our liking and the bed was softer.
There were tiny little bugs (really tiny) all over the room but I didn't think much of this as it is a hotel in the hills surrounded by trees and greenery.
One of my bugbears in any hotel is a poor shower. The pressure was ok but the temperature kept fluctuating from hot to cold which was frustrating as you had to keep fiddling with the thermostat.
The hotel provide you with real good entertainment facilities as you have plenty of channels to watch, free international calls in your room and there is a pc unit connected to the TV which gives you access to a huge list of instant movies you can watch. Additionally, you can access Mozilla Firefox and get online. There is free WiFi aswell (all over the hotel).

Restaurant
No complaints here at all. Absolutely wonderful food and with a great view over the bay. At night you could see shooting stars. Try the lamb biryani which as an Indian dish in Thailand was sublime. Their pizzas were also excellent. They had a barbecue one night which was very good with lovely fresh food (king prawns barbecued… awesome). All the food was excellent. Drinks selection is good but cocktails are expensive (cheapest being £6 - 300 baht) compared to cocktail prices in town (as cheap as £2 - 100 baht).

Service
This is where this hotel is 5 star. All the staff are friendly engaging and willing to help. The hotel owner (who is regularly there) walks around the restaurant in the evening engaging in conversations with guests. When we wished to change rooms, as we had downgraded, they gave us free transfers and a free dinner pass for both of us to one of the barbecue nights. You can not complain about the service. Probably one of the best hotels i've stayed at in terms of service.
The hotel is on a really steep gradient so it has a driveway around the whole hotel and they use buggies to get you around. Hence, if you can’t walk around that much or up steep paths, don’t let this put you off as the buggies will take you anywhere in the hotel. From your room you simply request one from reception and a driver will come straight away.


Location
This is my main issue with this hotel and why it's horses for courses. The hotel is in the hills and quite far from the main road. You can’t walk to the main road everyday even if you are a fitness fanatic. Additionally, the hotel is quite far from ‘Fisherman’s Village’, which is the main area in Bophut. The hotel does provide a shuttle service which is very good but the latest pick up from Bophut is 8.15pm and Chaweng is 10.30pm. If you’re outgoing you will definitely be out later than this and the biggest problem is cabs. Cabbies seriously rip you off and charge extra as the Mantra is in the hills so we spent a lot on cabs! No cab in Koh Samui will work off the meter. Chaweng is the main area for bars and restaurants and getting to the hotel from there is £10 (500 baht).

It is recommended that you hire a car or a scooter in Koh Samui due to the cost of cabs. However, if you’re not experienced on a scooter then the hotel themselves will not recommend you hire a scooter as it is a dangerous climb up the steep hills to the hotel. Hence, we spent a lot on cabs.


Overall it is a lovely hotel with excellent staff and facilities but I would not stay here again purely due to the hassle in getting to and from the hotel and the main areas. I’ve still given the hotel a 5 star for location because it is beautiful with breathtaking views but it just didn’t suit us.

If you expect to go out many evenings to the bars/restaurants/clubs then I wouldn’t choose this hotel. If you are the sort that wants to stay at the hotel and relax, go to the beach and not go out late then this could be the ideal place for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#11 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 2,062 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#13 of 101 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 184 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing