We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway and perfect relaxation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is not near the beach or the nightlife but it is a great spot to get away and relax. Great views all over the resort. Fantastic staff and services. Free Shuttle service to Bophut and Chaweng. Fast room service. Clean rooms. Be aware there are a lot of stairs and steep walkways. You can get the buggies to take you to and from parts of the resort. All up though an excellent resort and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Mantra Koh Samui deserves its Trip Advisor reputation. It's an exceptionally well run operation in all facets (I suspect Robert's European influence here), however it's the warmth from staff at ALL levels that separates it from the pack. The highlights:

1. First and foremost the staff. From a visible and engaging General Manager in Robert to excellent reception/concierge (Tan and friends) to brilliant restaurant staff (A, Man, On,Toi et al) to the ninja-like housekeeping staff that magically fix your room when you disappear for breakfast. Turns out they work in teams of three to turn over rooms - organisational genius.
2. Restaurant. Unlike most hotel restaurants, this one is well ahead of the game. Plenty of excellent service staff and the food coming out of the kitchen is of a very high quality. Nothing outside the hotel exceeded it.
3. Shuttle Service. You can set your watch to it.
4. Rooms. Big, clean and comfortable.
5. Internet. Wireless Internet is reliable and readily accessible at no charge.
6. Smart TV with loads of movies.
7. BBQ Buffet on Fridays. Normally an oversold and underwhelming revenue raiser of hotels, this was awesome. Incredible food and a Filipino bass/guitar duo for entertainment. Their harmonies were amazing and they sang Sia's 'Titanium' channelling the Beach Boys. Freakin' awesome.
8. Thai cooking class featuring Sous Chef Jump. A trip highlight. For a young man still coming to grips with the English language to address a crowd of 30 guests and be so engaging and authentic was a credit to himself and the Mantra. He made it so personal while showing such reverence to his Grandmother who taught him and his assistant who was also family.
9. Staff - again. Being ex-hospitality myself, you tend to notice things that others don't. With such large brigades of service staff you often see subtle interpersonal tensions. I couldn't pick up on any of this at all - this was a real team. It was also refreshing to see open staff meetings and the obvious relaxed camaraderie.

An almost faultless experience and should we come back to Koh Samui, we will be staying at the Mantra, it's a non-negotiable.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is amazing! We have stayed in over 10 hotel in Ko Samui and 20 in Thailand, this is right up there with the best, especially for the view in the morning from your bed or from the private jacuzzi on your balcony. The restaurant has an authentic pizza over and they do a lunch special for circa £10 and cocktails 2-4-1 in the afternoon for £3 which are excellent. The staff cannot do enough for you and even dropped us at our next hotel the day after which was way beyond their normal drop offs which they do to Bo Phut and Chaweng regularly throughout the day and early evening to take guests as you wish. All in all nightly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RyanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

At first we were disappointed that it was not on or near the beach but we soon started to like the place. The hotel is on a steep hill but this elevation gives panoramic ocean views from most rooms and the oversized pool. It is a perfect place if you want to be away from the crowd and just relax by the pool. Cozy rooms are nice with ocean view balconies. Food is good quality. Some people may find climbing stairs difficult but golf carts on demand are provided all the time. Shuttle bus to the two beaches frequency is adequate but should be increased. Overall a nice place with well trained and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Some of the LOVE ROOMS have limited or no views blocked by trees. If you have difficult climbing sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advisorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Totally relaxing holiday accommodation. Its self sufficient and provides great view and service up the hill. only downside is to get out of the place due to the location right up on the hill top, however its a great place to just laze around the whole day in with superb rooms , entertainment and duper good breakfast.and pool!

The breakfast even offers for free flow premium tea and quality coffee like lattes, they said..life's too short for bad coffee hahaha..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seira0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

In general, we found this hotel spectacular. The rooms are lovely, our wow room had a fantastic view and nice balcony. The pool is also great, and the facilities are as good as it gets - game room, great gym, complimentary yoga lessons, brilliant breakfast, films and iipod dock in rooms, even a squash court!

We were impressed with the shuttle service into both chaweng and bophut. Its a shame the shuttles home from bophut dont run a little later, especially on friday nights for the street market, but generally the shuttles worked well for us.


This hotel certainly lives up to its 5* rating.However, there are one or two things that I would like to mention for the hotels benefit, as I feel these aspects need improving


1. There is a system whereby if you dont want your bedsheets changed, you can place a toy dog on the bed, to save water. Whilst this is a great idea, my boyfriend had been slightly unwell so we chose to get new sheets. Not once in our four night stay did we put the dog on our bed and yet, I am sad to say, not once in our four nights were our sheets changed. I know this because I happen to have accidentally left a black mascara mark on my pillow on the first night, which was still there on the day we left. For the price being charged for the services of this hotel, this isn't acceptable.

2. Our wow room was equipped with a kitchenette, which was perfect considering the hotel bar and restaurant was quite expensive, so it enabled us to make our own snacks and lunches.
However, there were problems here. The kitchenette does not come equipped - if you want pots pans plates etc, you have to ring to ask for the 'lovely cooking set box'. When this arrived, we were very disappointed - just two plates,knives and forks, and a sauce pan and frying pan. Personally, I would have expected bowls, maybe some oil or seasoning and most importantly, there was nothing to clean our dishes with! No dishcloths, tea towels, washing liquid etc was provided - nor a kitchen bin - meaning we had to have smelly plates and food sat around in our room for the night. And then, they weren't moved at all by the cleaners the following day. I think this service could certainly be improved.

3. The website states very clearly that airport transfer is complimentary. We were surprised to learn, however, that transfer from the port is not complimentary - and costs 200baht each! This seems slightly confusing to me, considering the distance from port to hotel is less than airport to hotel (according to google maps).

However, whilst I've mentioned a few things that my partner and I were unhappy about, I would like to emphasise that I would still HIGHLY recommend this hotel, and would definitely return if the opportunity arises. The staff are friendly and you cannot beat the views or the facilities. Thank you mantra for a wonderful stay and I hope you find our feedback useful.




  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksuktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is amazing and was the highlight of our holiday, despite paying a lot more to stay on Koh Tao for the last 4 nights of our holiday.

We have a love room and it was amazing! Staff were awesome, views were great and the food was absolutely fabulous. Breakfast was an event in itself.

Gym was great and even dragged my partner to a yoga class which was fun. Great if you like to be able to keep a bit active on holiday.

Only two minus points were the charge for a transfer from the Nathan port (900 baht seemed a little steep) and people putting their towels on the beds was annoying to say the least...especially when there aren't many beds but that's more about guests that the hotel.

Would 110% recommend this hotel - we're already saving to go back!

Room Tip: Love room was amazing and had a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,560 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,317 reviews
4.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $97 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing