We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #14 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having booked 90 days in advance we received a significant discount on our hotel room. I would have been disappointed if I had paid full price but with the discount if made it great.

The rooms are clean, though already in need of repair. Their free Wi-Fi was a little temperamental, though I guess we were in Thailand. Our room was close to the restaurant so were woken either by the early morning music or by the banging of the construction. That was a little disappointing.

The gym is great but bloody hot. They really need to tint the windows as it gets direct morning sun. Poor air-conditioner struggles. Don't be fooled by the "free laundry for gym clothes". They will return 3 days later which makes it pointless.

The breakfasts were getting tired as well. They 3 items that are menu items (which are tiny) and the rest is just scrambled eggs / omelette with bacon / side. They had one thai dish but was usually a haphazard last minute thought (that looked like it was last nights leftovers). The pastries were great and is normally all I ate.

Lunch and dinner were pretty good, expensive but that is to be expected at the hotel. Beers were luckily on special for 90 THB because trying to charge 150 THB for something that's 50 THB in the village would be a bit of a joke. Where you can try to eat at the village (Bo Phut) as it will be cheaper.

The pool is great (very warm) however when they are full you struggle to get a seat late morning. It will clear up again in the afternoon. Despite the signs, people will still reserve pool chairs. The pool bar and staff were great (especially "Bee" who was very friendly). The pool chairs are way too high (I know, small things) and the staff struggle a bit with noticing when you need another drink. (You could be waiting for a while trying to get their attention while they chat or do other things). Another not quite 5 star service thing.

The hotel is a fair way away from anywhere, so you do need to take advantage of the free shuttle bus. Even if you are fit, it is unlikely you will walk down to the main street more than once.... its a while in the heat.

I and the wife had a few massages there and they were very friendly, probably the best in terms of service at the whole hotel.

All in all, if you're paying over $200 per night its going to disappoint you, but if you get a discounted rate you will be happy with the experience

Room Tip: As recommended for my trip, ask for a room as high as possible, but be prepared for the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for your review!

I am really glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your wife were happy with the massages!

It was also very nice to read that you mentioned Khun Bee by name and that you were happy with him and found him very friendly.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding how we can make Mantra even better.

Of course we are happy to hear the praises but I am also grateful for having Guests like you - who like Mantra so much that help us with valuable feedback.

I will investigate the points you mentioned and make sure we make changes wherever we can.

I was a surprised to read you comment about our breakfast offering because in addition to our extensive selection of fresh fruits and cereals and nuts, we provide home smoked salmon, Italian cold cuts, freshly prepared noodle soups in our "Asian Corner", home made pastries with home made jam (all made in Mantra by our lovely kitchen colleagues, fresh juices, eggs to order and a lovely pancake. In addition if we know about it in advance we can prepare gluten free dishes as well and all our meat is halal certified.

Nevertheless I will talk to our Chefs to see how could we make breakfast even more exciting!
Once again, thank you for your review and you kind help! We are looking forward to have you back
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 933 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was spacious, clean & has a to die for outlook. Unfortunately to gain this beautiful setting it has been built on top of the hill with very steep inclines all around. Their problem seems to be in lack of care for guests safety as all inclines are steep & rooms have to be climbed to with up to 3 floors of steps with no handrails. I was one of the unfortunate ones who fell from the area to the restaurant which also has no handrails resulting in a broken arm. The local hospital who put me in a cast informed that they have many incidents from the hotel.
The staff were wonderful, service 5* - also though the bathroom had no storage for toiletries & the open shower gave a whole new meaning to a wet room!!
We would love to stay there again BUT the safety issues in this 5* hotel need to be addressed before somebody has a fatal accident

Room Tip: Should you want up close & personal go for the " love suites" ( as long as you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagcat308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 week in April 2012. After reading some reviews we decided to book this hotel despite the distance from the beach and local amenities.

This hotel was AMAZING! The breakfast was delicious and the staffs were all friendly and could not do enough for us to make our stay pleasurable. There is a golf cart to transport you to breakfast from the reception area as it’s up a hill.
Fanatic squash courts with AC and the gym provides a free laundry service to wash your gym clothes and have it delivered to your room (restricted to a few items). The pool was clean with views looking at the sea, very tranquil.
The room was spacious and had a Jacuzzi outside with fantastic views of the sea (which we could see from our bed). The room had a TV loaded with plenty of films to watch.
The location is a fairway from local amenities however, the hotel provide a mini bus service (one-way/ return) free of charge to the beach and shopping areas – this was brilliant and the driver was always on time.
We had a lovely stay at this fantastic, quirky hotel where the Manta is to be HAPPY!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheekyPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear CheekyPrincess,

Let me start by saying - I love this name. It might mean that you are THE perfect Guest for Mantra - seeing that our motto is Cheeky! with Love!

I would like to thank you for writing your review I am truly happy that you had an amazing stay with us!
It was great to read how much you appreciated our complimentary drop off service! We do it with love so its great to hear that it works well!
It also made me smile how you mentioned that you enjoyed the view from the bed - we consciously made sure that from all rooms the view is constantly visible:)

I am glad you had a happy stay and am looking forward to have you back for more happy days. With a name like that you are a true member of the Mantra Family!
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recently returned from a eight night stay with my husband,from the very first day we were made to feel uncomfortable by the waiter in the restaurant ( Bee ) he was rude and expected to be spoken to with respect but showed no respect at all to the patrons.THis happened not once but the whole time we were there to the point we wanted to leave the resort and book in somewhere else,it made it very uncomfortable for the remainder of our holiday.The manager on our last day sent her apologies in regards to the staff member but by that point we had made up our mind never to stay there or recommend it to travellers.As for it being a five star rating resort I would not give it more than a three star.REception staff were very helpful.Found the distance to travel to the beach annoying as we're under the impression the beach was not far away when in fact it is a ten to fifteen minute drive by shuttle bus,and found the taxis were charging us a fortune as it was out of town.Pool was not big enough for the amount of patrons the resort services with there being one small size pool for the whole resort,with little privacy as most rooms look straight out onto the pool with no privacy on the balconies.Dress codes need to be communicated better due to no signs in regard to dress code in the restaurant.Such a shame that one waiter can destroy such a lovely holiday and resort.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Flygirlgem,

Thank you for your review.
I was shocked to read the review as Khun Bee is mentioned numerous time here as a returning Guests favorite.

It is indeed a shame that one interaction with a waiter could ruin your experience and I am truly sorry for that!

Our motto is Cheeky with Love and our purpose is to be a fun five star hotel. We truly encourage open communication both between our colleagues and with our Guests.

Numerous friendships have developed in Mantra both among Guests and our colleagues. It is not uncommon that our colleagues show their favorite places on the island for our Guests - Our Chef for example is a fanatic fisherman and he frequently shows Guests where good fishing can be done.

This open atmosphere is built respect and the acceptance that people from different cultures can behave differently without wanting to upset others. We believe that this is what travelling to foreign countries is all about.

These values prevent us from creating dress codes as we believe that Guests should feel better than at home.


We never advertise to be near a beach because we believe our location is our biggest advantage. Most hotels on the beach - due to building regulations on Samui can not provide an amazing view that we can and we cherish this view.
We also provide 20 shuttles a day (drop off/pick up together) free of charge - a service that no other hotel, even in similar location. offers.

We created the entire hotels so this amazing view can be enjoyed from all rooms and also from our Restaurant, Spa, Gym ad Himalayan Salt Yoga room.

I am sorry that Mantra is different that what you expected and I thank you for your review.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Mantra late Jan 2013. The rooms were clean, well furnished and included water, books, extra towels, beach bag and umbrella if needed. The balcony also included seating which was well loved once we returned from our daily adventures. The hotel stay were always friendly and willing to help. Booking tours or bikes was fast and easy. The pool was lovely and gym very well equiped. The hill up to the rooms is steep!!! There is however, golf buggies at the ready to take you to your room. The price was good and the hotel delivered as per its website. It has lovely views and you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas but still be close enough to action when you feel like venturing down. Thanks Mantra

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTravelhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Manta Samui for 11 days with my boyfriend. We arrived in the middle of the night but still welcomed with a friendly smile, check in was so easy thankfully after such a long journey from London. Our room was amazing and huge! We stayed in one of the Love rooms with a jacuzzi which was worth every extra penny. The breakfast was great each morning, you can have any type of eggs accompanied with whatever you want and there really was a variety to choose from. We also ate dinner at the hotel one evening, which turned out to be the best meal of the holiday. The staff are also friendly and were really helpful when we were choosing which excursions to do and where to go. The shuttles run regularly to fishermans village and Chaweng but it's also really easy to get a cab into town. I loved every minute of staying here and would go back tomorrow, even when we had tropical storms it was beautiful and took 5 minutes to get into town and have a massage to fill the time until the sun came back out. Thanks for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharLottieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great 4 star boutique hotel stayed for 5 nights during our honeymoon. The hotel is high up on a hill with great views of the sea, you cannot reach Bo Phut by foot but they have a good shuttle service to Bo Bhut and Chawang. We were on the top floor and it's a steep climb to the room from reception but plenty of golf buggies to charter everyone around. The pool is lovely, amazing views of the sea, it's open 24 hours and has a pool bar.

When we checked in we did not get the room we booked (love jacuzzi room) in fact neither did the other couple who also checked in the same time as us, so it seems they over book those rooms! They offered us their top suite for the duration of our stay plus complimentary dinner for that evening which was a nice way to make up for it. The staff are very friendly and couldn't help enough. We like their WOW concept and it works, very chilled out and relaxed place to stay but also very efficient in service. As we booked directly we had a free transfer to and from the airport. I had to go to hospital for my ear and they provided transport to and from the hospital and again the next day for a check up. The restaurant is nice but need more items on their menu, breakfast is lovely but the portions are tiny, you can however order as much as you like! Great coffee also and we were told on check out that they are opening a new restaurant in May.
Other perks for staying here are free unlimited calls anywhere in the world, free wifi throughout, movies and extensive music collection in each room! We would stay again as its great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_W_Nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,599 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.6 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#33 of 185 in Bophut
1,635 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $122 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing