We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,947)
Filter reviews
1,947 results
Traveler rating
1,252
489
141
51
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
489
141
51
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love room steep hill infinity pool cozy room wow rooms shuttle service shuttle buses free shuttle golf buggies ocean view room our honeymoon fisherman's village the main road breakfast was amazing large balcony rent a scooter little touches
Filter
Updating list...
1,018 - 1,023 of 1,947 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed in February 2012, so over a year ago but just getting round to reviews.

This hotel is something quite different and can offer you a special holiday if you want somewhere secluded and peaceful. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast always was fresh and something for everyone. Not too keen on the melon juice though!!!

The shuttle down to the town really is essential , walking it is insane.

The rooms were very nice, lovely beds, jacuzzi on balcony and two sinks. The hot water sometimes ran a bit cold though.

The swimming pool was fantastic, infinity pool in the hills some amazing views.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

My criticisms would be that the drinks and food were priced very highly and put us off having dinner there sometimes. also the television is on the wall to the side of the bed making it impossible to watch from lying in bed.

Room Tip: Love room recommended!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a great time at Mantra.

In my opinion the location out of town is an advantage as no outsiders walking through and its a break from being in the mix on the beach. You can always get down onto the beaches and in to the town if you want to on the shuttles; we are not party types and by 10.00pm we were happy to head back to the Mantra but realize we could have taken taxis if we wanted more.

Our room was at the top of the hill, but we needed the exercize after the sumptuous breakfast and even better a la carte dinners. Cocktails and bar great. Massaman fantastic.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive but the huge gekko near our room gave the missus a scare; he was a monster.

Gardens beautiful and I enjoyed a walkup the track into the bush behind the resort.

Room Tip: We were up the back away from the pool but we had great views but I expect that all rooms much the same; maybe away from the main access paths better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 10 magical days on Koh Samui and we absolutely loved our stay at The Mantra. Within the first few hours it felt like home. We stayed in a Love room, with magnificent view over the Gulf of Thailand and all comforts that one could possible want. Everything at The Mantra is like you would expect it from any 5* resort, just funkier and more fun and relaxed.

Between the friendly, helpful and always available staff, the attention to detail and the quirky quotes everywhere smiling was easy

Breakfast was out of this world - apart from feeling like you are sitting on the edge of paradise sipping on Barrista-made coffee, the choices and quality of the food was exceptional. We are vegetarians and nowhere have we seen such a selection of hot and cold breakfast dishes to choose from. And I'm not even mentioning the pancakes...

We loved to live on top of the hill and the out of the way location. We hired a little car for our entire stay which gave us the freedom to explore the whole island at our leisure and it was wonderful coming home to our room at the end of each day. The resort itself is stunning and well-maintained, the infinitely pool is so amazing none of the pictures do it justice. Although we didn't take advantage of all the facilities it was wonderful having them at our available.

One constructive critisism: We would have loved a choice of yoga classes. We never managed to make the 1 class p/day at 5pm because we were at the beach or out around that time. An early morning class would have been wonderful.

Overall - we loved our stay at the mantra and can only recommend this wonderful hotel and we will definitely be back. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerlinde108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in the "Love" room which had a hot tub on the balcony and it was perfect! The staff where friendly and more than helpful.
The resort was located high up in the hills. The resort supplied numberous shuttle transfers to both town centres (Bophut and Chaweng) free of charge and was a brilliant service.

Couldn't recommend this place anymore!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dnelsonefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The service is amazing here, the staff is very attentive. Rooms are beautiful, with great views overlooking the ocean. The fitness center was 5 star. The restaurant was hit or miss, but mostly good. Room service food was not very good. There are a wide variety of free movies available, and you can request to watch any movie in their movie theater.They have a free shuttle into town often throughout the day, which is nice because the hotel's location is secluded.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors will offer a more expansive view of the ocean, but it's a far walk to the pool and restaurant area (you can request a golf cart to take you places though).
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews