We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Kanchanaburi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

All the positive reviews are so accurate!!
Staff- so friendly & helpful, nothing is too much trouble.
Location- amazing views, just a short complimentary minibus drive away-phone loverly reception staff to pre book your seat.
WOW room 412- 2 roomed mini apartment with long balcony- sun seats outside. AMAZING VIEWS!!
Large king sized bed, huge room with sliding balcony door to AMAZING VIEWS!!
Huge bathroom with a huge bath tub, however being a water conservationist in a tropical climate, we could not justify such extravagance of water---however--the tub wud fit 2 peeps!!!
Huge, walk in power shower with complimentary luxury toiletries. His & hers basins.
Lounge with sliding balcony doors to balcony.
Comfee sofa/plasma TV/complimentary movies/internet/tea/coffee/mini bar--cocktail shaker!!
Added bonus was the discretly drapped off double mattress on the raised area. Our daughter was able to add on to our tariff for 2 nights.
Breakfasts, so loverly, such a feast, from western to traditional Thai, from salads to fruits, daily variation,outstanding pancakes cooked to order!!
Gym- to work off the breakfast- such views!!
Pool- stunning!!
Sauna- staff will switch on for your pleasure 30 mins pre arrival.
Spa- expensive but so nice!!
Private cinema if you can't find a film in your room.
Restaurant- expensive but so nice!! Your on your holidays!!
Ko Samui- soooooo nice!! Hire a jeep & drive the island, you'll do it easilly in a day!! We hired from reception- easy as!! Make sure u ask for insurance!!
Fridays- Fisherman market evening. Outdoor cocktails every 50yrds for 50BHTS!!
Taxis- BARTER!! Agree the price before jumping in- no meters!!
Views- outstanding- located on a hill, but easy as!! Mini bus into reception area, request a golf buggy to your room!!
Book & enjoy!!

Room Tip: WOW 412..Sooooo nice in every way!! Faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfast2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
245
1,061
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are currently 4 days in to our 7 day stay here at Mantra. We are in Love room 152 which has fantastic views plus a spacious balcony with a double bean bag bed and jacuzzi. I don't think rooms here get much more perfect.

The facilities are all great, 24hr swimming pool and gym but to name a few. The staff are fantastic and can not do enough for you. The food in the restaurant is great but that and the drinks are expensive compared to bars in the village.

The shuttle service provided is seamless and really adds to the experience, it would be a nightmare without it.

Would i stay here again? Absolutely. The team here really have got their own little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: Room 152 is brill. I'd recommend a love room as they make for a great place to sunbathe on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I was quite worried about the location after reading reviews but it is so worth it. You have panoramic views and peaceful surroundings. Renting a motorbike 300baht per day proved great value to explore the island. Staff were extremely helpful and even one day one I lost a bag of DVDs out at dinner they tracked them down for me! Good breakfast and I loved the coffees made to order. Thanks for a fantastic stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_K785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during our first visit to Koh Samui. We were absolutely blown away with the level of professionalism, relaxation, and overall feel of the resort. When we arrived, we were immediately upgraded because our room was being renovated. The views were breathtaking from our suite. The whole resort was like a little village in itself because it had so many features including a pool, spa, gym, movie theatre, restaurant and pool bar. A little buggie is available on request to transport you around the resort. We hired scooters for about $9 AU a day and it was such a quick and easy process. The food at the restaurant was absolutely Devine. The staff are so polite and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and make the most out of your holiday. The room itself was immaculate, the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are amazing. The overall atmosphere at the mantra was incredible and I will definitely be returning on my next visit to Koh Samui. Every time I look at photos I am so pleased with my stay at the Mantra and will treasure all the memories we shared there. I highly recommend this resort to anyone wishing to stay in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: The "Cosy" is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely friendly staff, always welcoming and happy to help.
Close by Fishermans village which is good place to eat. On the hills but they provide a free lift to the bottom to the main road. It’s a long walk if you try otherwise. They also provide regular transfers to the main beaches.
They gave us a free transfer to the airport and when I left my glasses in the room and checked out, the manager kindly bought them to Bangkok for me!
Fantastic and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Our arrival at the mantra was very easy and quick. A major plus was that we arrived early (10 am) but the staff informed us that in 10 minutes our room would be ready which it was by the time that we finished checking in. Some other pluses were the infinity pool which was very nice and the view was spectacular. The view from our room which was in the "wow" section was definitely a wow for sure. The cooking class which occurred on Tuesday was a really great experience and they even gave us taste testers at the end if the cooking. The room itself was very nice and very clean. The shower area was a little strange as there was no separation from the rest of the bathroom and the whole bathroom became wet. The Internet was working great the first night and the free phone calls worldwide were a plus however it stopped working after this. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The view was amazing but to get that view it is a long way from the beach and not really walkable to the main road. If you do go to the beach I do not recommend going to Bophut beach (fishermans village) it was not very good. The markets there were pretty decent though. We were happy to stay here and slightly disappointed that we could not stay any longer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Blazer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I chose the Mantra Samui because of the infinity pool and the isolated location from all that hustle and bustle - and isolated is exactly what we got. My initial review started at 2 stars, then improved to 4 stars as our holiday went on - We got to the hotel early in the morning and were given a courtesy room until our room was ready, which I thought was a nice gesture, but actually almost sent us packing! The musty smell was almost unbearable and being on such a low floor, privacy was almost nonexistent. We finally checked into our room at 2pm, and the views we had were phenomenal. The room was nice, nothing too flash, no musty smell, great AC but it was the views that sold us and kept us staying. Breakfast was brilliant, one of the tastiest buffet breakfast I've had in all my years of travel - so options to choose and something different each day was great to look forward too! The infinity pool was amazing, just get in early if you want a deck chair, the gym was the best hotel gym/sauna/steam room I've ever seen in a hotel, and yes'm the views were there when working out. The spa was brilliant, just not sure if it is was worth the extra cost when Chaweng has so many options.
Getting to and from the hotel when the shuttle was not available was expensive, 200-300B for Bophut each way and 500-600B for Chaweng, depending on the taxi driver!
I would stay at the Mantra Samui again just for the views and the amazing staff, but for convenience, and a less dated hotel room... I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a room that has a jacuzzi on the balcony, I'd be very surprised if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,402 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,078 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing